Searching the Catalog
Look for books, microfilm, periodicals, archive collections, and more at the NYPL Research Catalog using a subject or keyword search. The following subject searches may be a good place to start:
- Dominican Republic-- Genealogy
- Dominican Republic -- History
- Dominican Republic -- Maps
- Dominican Republic -- Periodicals
Or, try keyword searches like Dominican Genealogy and Dominican Republic.
Many materials from the catalog can be requested via our expanded Scan and Deliver services. Eligible items will have a Request button in the Library's Shared Collection Catalog.
Books in the Catalog
Read more about Dominican American history and genealogy in these books available in the NYPL Research Catalog.
Or, find these titles in a library near you using WorldCat.
The Dominican Americans by ISBN: 9780313298394Publication Date: 1998-05-26This profile of Dominican Americans closes a critical gap in information about the accomplishments of one of the largest immigrant groups in the United States. Beginning with a look at the historical background and the roots of native Dominicans, this book then carries the reader through the age-old romance of U.S. and Dominican relations. With great detail and clarity, the authors explain why the Dominicans left their land and came to the United States.
Tracing Your Caribbean Ancestors by Call Number: *R-USLHG CS202 .G73 2012ISBN: 9781408175699Publication Date: 2012-11-15This book is ideal for anyone who researching their Caribbean family history at The National Archives and beyond. Tracing Your Caribbean Ancestors also shows readers how to use family history sources and genealogy websites and indexes beyond The National Archives. Fully updated and revised, this new edition covers recent developments in Caribbean archives, including details of newly released information and archives that are now available online.
Juan Rodriguez and the Beginnings of New York City by ISBN: 9781519653680Publication Date: 2013-04-01A comprehensive reassessment of the story of Juan Rodriguez, the free mulatto or black man from Santo Domingo-La Española that arrived in the Hudson's Harbor onboard a Dutch ship in 1613 and stayed among the local peoples at least until 1614 as the only non-Native American in the place, thus becoming the first settler, first Black, first free Black, and first Latino on record to have ever resided in what is today New York City before it began to be called New Amsterdam. The monograph highlights the connections between Rodriguez's known actions in the Hudson and the socio-cultural context where he is known to have come from: colonial Santo Domingo-La Española. It includes the most comprehensive gathering of Dutch and Dominican archival manuscripts, transcriptions, and translations related to Rodriguez published until now.- Pasajeros a la Española, 1492-1530 by Call Number: APYB (Dominican Republic) 02-3870Publication Date: 2000A passenger list index specific to Hispaniola. Includes bibliographical references (p. [659]-671) and index.
Newspapers and Periodicals
Digital Library of the Caribbean (dLOC) is a cooperative, multilingual and multi-institutional digitization project of partners within the Caribbean and circum-Caribbean that provides users with open access to Caribbean cultural, historical and research materials held in archives, libraries, and private collections including the Caribbean Newspaper Digital Library, the Caribbean Map Collection, Panama and Canal Zone materials and The Vodou Archive.
- Caribbean Newspapers (1718-1876)
Includes the first series of Caribbean titles digitized from the American Antiquarian Society's collections. More than 140 newspaper titles, from 22 countries are covered in this database, providing primary source content on colonial history, slave trade, and commerce. Access to this resource has been temporarily expanded to NYPL cardholders working from home, courtesy of Readex/Newsbank. **Patrons should read the Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy of this resource before searching.**
- Newsletter of the Saint-Domingue Special Interest Group. byCall Number: NYGB WEST INDIES G 1Publication Date: c1989-
- Caribbean historical & genealogical journal byCall Number: AVH (Caribbean) 96-997Publication Date: c1993-
- Clio : órgano de la Academia Dominicana de la Historia. byCall Number: HPM (Clio)All issues of Clio are also available online through Academia Dominica de la Historia.
Family Histories in the Catalog
- Galería de dominicanos ilustres : Juan Pablo Duarte y sus descendientes by Call Number: F1938.4.D8 P32 1992Publication Date: 1992Gallery of illustrious Dominicans: Juan Pablo Duarte and his descendants
- El General Timoteo Ogando y la familia más heroica de las guerras independentistas dominicanas by Call Number: F1938.4.O43 A37 2005gPublication Date: 2005General Timoteo Ogando and the most heroic family of the Dominican independence wars.
- El Grupo Vicini : el verdadero poder by Call Number: ReCAP 13-43031ISBN: 9789945164916Publication Date: 2012History of the powerful Vicini family in the Dominican Republic from 1860-2000. The Vicini have controlled much of the economic sector of the country for over a century, particularly the sugar industry, and have received privileged concessions, contracts and tax breaks from the Dominican government throughout the 20th century and which continue today.
Recommended Databases
- Ancestry Library Edition
Access billions of names in thousands of genealogical databases including Census and Vital Records, birth, marriage and death notices, the Social Security Death Index, Passenger lists and naturalizations, Military and Holocaust Records, City Directories, New York Emigrant Savings Bank records, and African American and Native American Records. Library version of Ancestry.com.**Patrons should read the Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy of this resource before searching.**
- Family Search This link opens in a new window
Operated by the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints (LDS), this free website offers a variety of genealogical databases, access to unindexed images of genealogical records, the Social Security Death Index, wiki entries describing various types of genealogical research, and access to the Family History Library's catalog. Free access to the 1940 United States Federal Census.
- Fold3
Historical primary documents featuring U.S. city directories, naturalization records, and Revolutionary War Pensions. Collections include: History and Genealogy Archives, African American Archives, Native American Archives, Revolutionary War Archives, US Bureau of Investigation Case File Archives, and World War II Archives. Formerly known as Footnote.com.
**Patrons should read the Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy of this resource before searching.**
Accessibility for Print Disabilities
For researchers with print disabilities, the Library has resources and services available upon request. The following services are available:
Digitization of Select Research Materials
Researchers who are homebound or have a print disability or visual impairment can explore many of our research collections online and request digitization of specific items of interest. To request the digitization service, email accessibility@nypl.org. Please note that you must be a patron of the Andrew Heiskell Library. This digitization service only includes material belonging to the research collections and does not apply to branch/circulating collections.
Screen Readers and Enlargers
Every public PC at all New York Public Library locations is equipped with JAWS screen reading software and MAGic software for enlarging the screen, changing colors and contrast, and screenreading.
Andrew Heiskell Braille and Talking Book Library
The Andrew Heiskell Library offers popular reading materials in accessible audio and braille formats, as well as free membership to the Bookshare database of over one million accessible texts. It also offers individual coaching and a large variety of group workshops on topics related to accessible technology. Check the listings on our website, call 212-206-5400, or email talkingbooks@nypl.org
Digital Collections
A bread seller of Santo Domingo 1920. NYPL Digital Collections
The New York Public Library Digital Collections is a living database with new materials added every day, featuring prints, photographs, maps, manuscripts, streaming video, and more.
Below are a sampling of Dominican related digital collection items.
Suggested Research Links:
Interlibrary Loans
For NYPL Cardholders Interlibrary Services provides access to materials held at libraries outside the NYPL system.
Click Here to learn more.
Shared Collection Catalog
The Shared Collection is a joint initiative that combines the extensive research collections of The New York Public Library, Columbia University, Princeton University, and Harvard University—members of the Research Collections and Preservation Consortium (ReCAP)—in one catalog and allows patrons from all four institutions to search and request materials from these combined holdings for delivery to their home institution.
Through the catalog, users can discover nearly 11 million volumes from NYPL's research collections, plus an additional 8 million volumes from Columbia and Princeton. With the addition of Harvard's collections, users now have access to more than 22 million volumes.