Jean Blackwell Hutson Research and Reference Division
The Schomburg Center and the New York Public Library offers a wide variety of resources that document people of African descent across the research libraries including research guides, databases, books, zines, and more. The Jean Blackwell Hutson Research and Reference division holds a mix of primary and secondary resources relating to the Black diasporic experience. In this division you can find books, pamphlets, periodicals, collections on microfilm, access to databases, as well as other formats. Below represent some of the holdings in the Jean Blackwell Hutson Research and Reference division that poetry books, poetry studies, books about poets, and microfilm collections. 
To find additional resources, check the NYPL catalog, or the NYPL Archives Portal.
Poetry on Microfilm
- Claude McKay letters and manuscriptsCall Number: Sc Micro R-1233
- The Harlem Renaissance and Negritude poetry the development of Black written literatureCall Number: Sc Micro R-5144
- Langston Hughes collectionCall Number: Sc Micro R-977
- Richard Wright collectionCall Number: Sc Micro R-1234
- Schomburg Center Scrapbooks : Writers.Call Number: Sc Micro R-707 r. 18: v. 7, Theatre- Writers
20th Century Poetry
21st Century Poetry
Poetry Studies
Poetry Reference and Anthologies
Databases and E-resources
- Gale Literature
A full-text database that cross-searches Gale's literature collections: Contemporary Authors Online, Dictionary of Literary Biography, Literature Criticism Online, Literature Resource Center, Something About the Author Online, and Twayne's Authors Series. **Patrons should read the Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy of this resource before searching.**
- History Makers This link opens in a new window
The History Makers database is a video collection of oral histories documenting African American life, history and culture. **Patrons should read the Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy of this resource before searching.**
- Literature Resource Center
Features information on literary figures from all time periods in such genres as fiction, nonfiction, poetry, drama, history, and journalism. **Patrons should read the Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy of this resource before searching.**
- Twentieth Century African American Poetry
A collection of modern and contemporary African American poetry, featuring almost 9,000 poems by 62 of the most important African American poets of the last century, including Langston Hughes, Jean Toomer, Imamu Amiri Baraka, Audre Lorde and Rita Dove. Many contemporary African-American writers of the 1980s and 1990s, who have gained recognition through national poetry awards or inclusion within leading print anthologies, are also represented. **Patrons should read the Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy of this resource before searching.**
Journals and Periodicals
- The Drumming between us : Black love & erotic poetry. byCall Number: Sc Ser.-M .D7877Publication Date: spring 1997-winter 1998
- Obsidian IIICall Number: Sc Ser.-L .O2752
- The pyramid poetry periodical. byCall Number: Sc Ser.-L .P9 v. 2, no. 1-2 (Apr./June-Oct/Dec. 1987)Publication Date: Vol. 2, no. 1 (Apr.-June 1987). Vol. 2, no. 2 (Oct.-Dec. 1987).