Using the Catalog and Archives Portal
You can find more poetry resources at The Schomburg Center for Research in Black Culture and NYPL by searching in the library’s legacy catalog, catalog or archives portal
Some key search words to use:
- African American poets
- American poetry -- African American author
- African American women poets
- African Americans -- Poetry
- Black arts movement
- Black poets
Other Resources
Below are some libraries, organizations, and archives that have zines in their collections. For more information, feel free to reach out to these places directly.
From The Schomburg
- African American Women Writers of the 19th Century: Poetry, Schomburg CenterAfrican American Women Writers of the 19th Century guide includes a digital collection of published works by 19th-century black women writers, biographies for each author, citations and much more
- Black Power Exhibition Resource Guide: Black Arts Movement, Schomburg CenterResources to complement the Schomburg Center for Research in Black Culture's "Black Power!' exhibition (2017).
Outside Resources
- BLACK RESOURCE GUIDE - Poetry, Pratt LibrariesResource guide celebrating Black history and the cultural, political, and creative contributions of Black Americans.
- Lift Every VoiceThis website is a part of Lift Every Voice, a year-long, nationwide celebration of the 250-year tradition of African American poetry. With signature events in New York City, Atlanta, Chicago, Los Angeles, and Kansas City; readings, performances, and moderated conversations at public libraries around the country; and a revelatory new anthology edited by Kevin Young, Lift Every Voice aims to highlight the richness and diversity of African American poetic imagination and its central place in American poetry.
- Lucille Clifton papers, Emory LibrariesThe collection contains the literary and personal papers of Lucille Clifton from circa 1930-2011. The materials document Clifton's work as a poet, children's book author, and teacher, her participation in literary organizations, and the development of her personal and professional relationships.
- Ntozake Shange Papers, Barnard Archives and Special CollectionsThe Ntozake Shange Papers include manuscripts and drafts of works; personal and professional correspondence; journals and agendas; clippings, programs, and ephemera; teaching documents; personal and professional photographs; awards, memorabilia, and personal effects; and texts, music, and other works by others collected by Shange.
- Papers of June Jordan, Schlesinger Library, Radcliffe Institute, Harvard LibrariesThe papers of June Jordan, poet, author, outspoken activist, champion of equal rights for African Americans and women, and professor.