Skip to main content

Stonewall 50: A Guide Honoring the 50th Anniversary of the Stonewall Riots and LGBTQ History: NYPL Digital Collections

Exhibition-related guide created to accompany "Love & Resistance: Stonewall 50" at The New York Public Library, Stephen A. Schwarzman Building, Rayner Special Collections Wing and Print Gallery, February 14 - July 13, 2019.

The New York Public Library Digital Collections

Hundreds of photographs, artwork, and other materials from our LGBTQ collections in our Manuscripts and Archives Division have been digitized and can be viewed by the public in The New York Public Library Digital Collections. Example of accessible digital collections are, International Gay Information Center Collection, ACT UP New York records, Diana Davies photograph, Barbara Gittings and Kay Tobin Lahusen gay history papers and photographs, Mattachine Society, Inc. of New York records, and Gay Activists Alliance records, 1970-1983.

Selected Images from the Diana Davies Collection

Gay rights demonstration

Diana Davies Collection

Manuscripts and Archives Division, The New York Public Library. (1971). Davies, Diana, Gay rights demonstration, Albany, New York, 1971 [18]. Retrieved from The New York Public Library Digital Collections

Gay Rights Demonstration

Diana Davies Collection

Manuscripts and Archives Division, The New York Public Library. (1971). Davies, Diana, Gay rights demonstration, Albany, New York, 1971 [18]. Retrieved from The New York Public Library Digital Collections

Gay Rights Demonstration

Diana Davies Collection

Manuscripts and Archives Division, The New York Public Library. (1971). Davies, Diana, Gay rights demonstration, Albany, New York, 1971 [18]. Retrieved from The New York Public Library Digital Collections

Gay Rights Demonstration

Diana Davies Collection

Manuscripts and Archives Division, The New York Public Library. (1971). Davies, Diana, Gay rights demonstration, Albany, New York, 1971 [18]. Retrieved from The New York Public Library Digital Collections

Gay Rights Demonstraton

Diana Davies Collection

Manuscripts and Archives Division, The New York Public Library. (1971). Davies, Diana, Gay rights demonstration, Albany, New York, 1971 [18]. Retrieved from The New York Public Library Digital Collections

Gay Rights Demonstration

Diana Davies

Manuscripts and Archives Division, The New York Public Library. (1971). Davies, Diana, Gay rights demonstration, Albany, New York, 1971 [18]. Retrieved from The New York Public Library Digital Collections

Weinstein Hall demonstration

Diana Davies Collection

Manuscripts and Archives Division, The New York Public Library. (1970). Diana Davies. Weinstein Hall demonstration. The New York Digital Collections.

Men holding Christopher Street Liberation Day banner, 1970

Diana Davies Collection

Manuscripts and Archives Division, The New York Public Library. (1970). Diana Davies. Men holding Christopher Street Liberation Day banner, 1970 The New York Public Library Digital Collection.

Mark Giles (at right), Sandy, and Wendy at Christopher Street Liberation Day march, 1970

Diana Davies Collection

Manuscripts and Archives Division, The New York Public Library. (1970). Diana Davies. Mark Giles (at right), Sandy, and Wendy at Christopher Street Liberation Day march, 1970 The New York Public Library Digital Collections.

Christopher Street Liberation Day, June 20, 1971 [21].

Diana Davies Collection

Manuscripts and Archives Division, The New York Public Library. (1971). Diana Davies. Christopher Street Liberation Day, June 20, 1971 [21]. Retrieved from The New York Public Library Digital Collections

Dance at Gay Activists Alliance Firehouse, 1971

Diana Davies Collection

Manuscripts and Archives Division, The New York Public Library. Diana Davies. Dance at Gay Activists Alliance Firehouse, 1971 [4]. Retrieved from The New York Public Library Digital Collections.

TYPE OF RESOURCE still image GENRE Photographs DATE CREATED 1969 DIVISION Manuscripts and Archives Division PHOTOGRAPHER Davies, Diana, 1938- More Details  Cite This Item

Diana Davies Collection

Manuscripts and Archives Division, The New York Public Library. (1969). Diana Davies. Stonewall Inn Retrieved from The New York Public Library Digital Collections.

Stonewall Inn

Diana Davies Collections

Manuscripts and Archives Division, The New York Public Library. (1969). Diana Davies. Stonewall Inn Retrieved from The New York Public Library Digital Collections.