LGBTQ Collections: Organizations
The Manuscripts and Archives Division of the New York Public Library holds over 100 collections pertaining to the history and culture of the LGBTQ community. Explore the collections through our archives portal and view the pdf guide and blog post.
Christopher Street Liberation Day, June 20, 1971, photograph by Diana Davies.
List of Organizational Collections
- Afrekete records, 1993–1998
- Butterworth Farm collection, 1958–2009
- Christopher Street Liberation Day Committee records, 1973–1986
- Christopher Street That New Magazine, Inc. records, 1979–1982
- Fierce Pussy collection, 1991–1994
- Gay Activists Alliance records, 1970–1983
- Gay Alliance of Brooklyn records, 1971–1973
- Gay Male S/M Activists records, 1981–1986
- The Gay Report typescripts and questionnaires, circa 1979
- Gay Switchboard of New York records, 1972–1983
- Gaysweek records, 1978–1979
- International Gay Information Center collection, 1951–1994
- International Gay Information Center records, 1974–1989
- Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual and Transgender Periodical collection, 1952–1999
- Mattachine Society of New York records, 1951–1976
- New York Native records, 1981–1988
- Old Catholic Church records, 1960–1981
- Thirteenth Moon records, 1973–1984
- Women's Action Coalition (WAC) records, 1989–2003
Search the Collections
Discover research items using the Library's online catalog. To get started, use some of these key phrases:
- Gay liberation movement
- Gay rights
- Gender nonconformity
- Lesbians
- Sexual minorities
- Transgender People