Databases Available Through The New York Public Library
- Archives of Sexuality and Gender
Contains 51 digitized archival collections exploring LGBTQ history and culture since 1940. Includes three collections held by NYPL: The Mattachine Society of New York Records, 1951-1976; Gay Activists Alliance, 1970-1983; and ACT UP: The AIDS Coalition to Unleash Power. Other collections originate from institutions like the Lesbian Herstory Archives and the Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual, and Transgender Historical Society. **Patrons should read the Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy of this resource before searching.**
- LGBT Life with Full Text
LGBT Life provides complete indexing and abstracting of content related to gay, lesbian, bisexual and transgender studies in over 230 journals, magazines, and newspapers. LGBT Life also provides full text from a number of important sources including monographs and publications such as The Advocate, New York Blade, and Out. **Patrons should read the Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy of this resource before searching.**
- Independent Voices
Independent Voices is a growing digital collection of the magazines, journals, and newspapers of the alternative and small press archives of participating libraries. **Patrons should read the Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy of this resource before searching.**
- ACLU American Civil Liberties Union Papers 1912-1995
This archive includes more than 2 million pages of primary resource materials from the records of the American Civil Liberties Union (ACLU). The records focus on civil rights, race, gender, and issues relating to the U.S. Supreme Court. The collection includes: legal briefs, newspapers, internal memoranda, client correspondence, and committee reports. Topics covered include: the rise of the Ku Klux Clan, the Civil Rights movement, and ACLU's involvement in the Vietnam War. **Patrons should read the Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy of this resource before searching.**
- Alternative Press Index
The Alternative Press Index indexes more than 300 alternative, radical, and left publications that report and analyze the practices and theories of cultural, economic, political, and social change.**Patrons should read the Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy of this resource before searching.**
- Alternative Press Index Archive This link opens in a new window
An index to alternative press published in the United States and around the world. **Patrons should read the Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy of this resource before searching.**
Other Online Resources
NYC Trans Oral History Project
The New York Public Library has collaborated with the NYC Trans Oral History Project,"to collect, preserve, and share oral histories from our city's transgender and gender non-conforming communities." Listen to these powerful stories that discuss everything from race to dis/ability to housing migration. Listen to the story of Jay Toole, as she describes her experience of queer homelessness and choosing her own queer family.
Making Gay History Podcast
This podcast, produced by Eric Marcus, highlights important voices from all points of LGBTQ history, based on his decades-old recorded interviews housed by The New York Public Library. Through in-depth interviews you can hear the stories from LGBTQ champions, such as Dick Leitsch, Paulette Goodman, and Morris Foote. The New York Public Library is proud to hold many of the archival collections from a number of the podcast guests as well as Eric Marcus, who documented the LGBTQ movement through his writings, public talks, and TV productions.
Digital Transgender Archive
"The purpose of the Digital Transgender Archive (DTA) is to increase the accessibility of transgender history by providing an online hub for digitized historical materials, born-digital materials, and information on archival holdings throughout the world."
Village Voice Archives
An excellent source to read independent news coverage of the Stonewall uprisings as they occurred. Read, "Full Moon Over Stonewall" by Howard Smith.
Blogs and Social Media
Visit the LGBTQ at NYPL blog page to learn about collections, exhibitions and events.
Visit the lgbt_history Instagram page
