Career Services & Business Library Events
Career Services & Business Library Webinars
Whether you're just starting out or looking to transition in your career, we've got you covered. Our industry-leading presenters have workshops, seminars, and panels for resume writing and refinement, interviewing, mature job seekers, career exploration, building your professional network, and more.
Events
| Date/Time | Title/Description | Location | Audience |
|---|---|---|---|
| Today @ 12 PM |
MONEY MATTERS The Spirituality of Financial Planning *This event is online only* Do you consider yourself too "spiritual" to care about your finances? Do you think that money is the root of all evil? Think again! Hunter College Professor of Religion Constantina Rhodes introduces you to classic teachings on prosperity consciousness that can help you acquire a healthy, practical, courageous, and spiritually sound attitude toward your financial life. Based on Prof. Rhodes's original translations of ancient Sanskrit texts, this class offers basic con… |
ONLINE - Details will be emailed upon registration | Adults, 50+, Businesspeople |
| Today @ 12 PM |
CAREERS, JOBS, SMALL BUSINESS SEMINARS Virtual Consultations with Business Librarians Have a question for your business projects that requires research? Whether you are looking at starting a business or growing your existing one, doing research is a "mission-critical" part of being in business. The Business Center’s Librarians can help! Our Librarians are available for 30-min video consultations on weekdays between 12-5 PM. The Library’s world-class Thomas Yoseloff Business Center at the Stavros Niarchos Foundation Library (SNFL) features electronic resources, comprehensive… |
Online - Details will be emailed upon registration | Adults, Businesspeople |
| Wed, October 20 @ 10 AM |
CAREER SERVICES Career and Resilience Coaching Career and Resilience Coaching Need to get your career back on track? Book a phone or virtual appointment with a Career or Resilience coach. A wide range of appointment dates and times are available - Book Now! Skype Career Coaching: Get help with resumes & cover letters, LinkedIn profiles, Interview preparation and general career direction Career Coaching sessions held via Skype. Career Coaching via Phone: Get help with resumes & cover letters, LinkedIn profiles, Interview prep… |
ONLINE - Details will be emailed upon registration | Adults, Businesspeople, Job Seekers |
| Wed, October 20 @ 11:30 AM |
MONEY MATTERS Financial, Credit, and Medicare Counseling The Thomas Yoseloff Business Center provides a range of free one-on-one financial counseling services that aim to assist with financial situations including general money management, budgeting, saving, banking, retirement planning, and more. Budget and Credit Coaching Sign up for a remote session with the Financial Coaching Corps (FCC) of the Community Service Society. Learn how to improve your credit, manage your debt, find resources in a financial crisis, and make progress toward your financ… |
Online - Details will be emailed upon registration | Adults, 50+, Businesspeople |
| Wed, October 20 @ 12 PM |
CAREERS, JOBS, SMALL BUSINESS SEMINARS Virtual Consultations with Business Librarians Have a question for your business projects that requires research? Whether you are looking at starting a business or growing your existing one, doing research is a "mission-critical" part of being in business. The Business Center’s Librarians can help! Our Librarians are available for 30-min video consultations on weekdays between 12-5 PM. The Library’s world-class Thomas Yoseloff Business Center at the Stavros Niarchos Foundation Library (SNFL) features electronic resources, comprehensive… |
Online - Details will be emailed upon registration | Adults, Businesspeople |
| Wed, October 20 @ 12 PM |
MONEY MATTERS Retirement Plans: What are They and How Do They Work? *This event is online only* Sallie Mullins Thompson CPA/PFS, CFP® discusses various retirement plan options, the benefits, and which ones to use in different situations. Learn about retirement planning strategies Click here to Register About the Presenter: Sallie Mullins Thompson started her CPA practice in 1995, providing assistance to professionals, families, and small business owners in accounting; tax return preparation; budgeting/cash flow; payroll; income/asset protection; inv… |
ONLINE - Details will be emailed upon registration | Adults, 50+, Businesspeople |
| Thu, October 21 @ 10 AM |
CAREER SERVICES Career and Resilience Coaching Career and Resilience Coaching Need to get your career back on track? Book a phone or virtual appointment with a Career or Resilience coach. A wide range of appointment dates and times are available - Book Now! Skype Career Coaching: Get help with resumes & cover letters, LinkedIn profiles, Interview preparation and general career direction Career Coaching sessions held via Skype. Career Coaching via Phone: Get help with resumes & cover letters, LinkedIn profiles, Interview prep… |
ONLINE - Details will be emailed upon registration | Adults, Businesspeople, Job Seekers |
| Thu, October 21 @ 12 PM |
CAREERS, JOBS, SMALL BUSINESS SEMINARS Virtual Consultations with Business Librarians Have a question for your business projects that requires research? Whether you are looking at starting a business or growing your existing one, doing research is a "mission-critical" part of being in business. The Business Center’s Librarians can help! Our Librarians are available for 30-min video consultations on weekdays between 12-5 PM. The Library’s world-class Thomas Yoseloff Business Center at the Stavros Niarchos Foundation Library (SNFL) features electronic resources, comprehensive… |
Online - Details will be emailed upon registration | Adults, Businesspeople |
| Thu, October 21 @ 1 PM |
CAREERS, JOBS, SMALL BUSINESS SEMINARS "Uncover the Latest Industry Trends and Data with Plunkett’s Online!" *This event is online only.* Jack Plunkett, CEO of Plunkett Research Ltd and industry expert, demonstrates Plunkett Research, a premium database you can access at the Thomas Yoseloff Business Center and currently, from home with a NYPL Library card. Plunkett's makes it easy to understand trends, technologies and companies for all industries, providing forecasts and analysis. Data includes industry market size and growth forecasts—perfect for business plans and marketing plans. If you… |
ONLINE - Details will be emailed upon registration | Adults, Businesspeople |
| Thu, October 21 @ 3 PM |
CAREERS, JOBS, SMALL BUSINESS SEMINARS Company Information at Your Fingertips Learn how to use the Business Insights: Essentials, Emerging Markets: Internet Securities (EMIS), Plunkett Research Online, and Reference Solutions databases to conduct company and industry research to grow your business or advance your career. All of these databases are accessible remotely with your NYPL card and PIN. Click here to register. Registration for this event is through Eventbrite. Click here to view Eventbrite's Privacy Policy. |
ONLINE - Details will be emailed upon registration | Adults, Businesspeople, Job Seekers |
| Thu, October 21 @ 5 PM |
MONEY MATTERS Financial, Credit, and Medicare Counseling The Thomas Yoseloff Business Center provides a range of free one-on-one financial counseling services that aim to assist with financial situations including general money management, budgeting, saving, banking, retirement planning, and more. Budget and Credit Coaching Sign up for a remote session with the Financial Coaching Corps (FCC) of the Community Service Society. Learn how to improve your credit, manage your debt, find resources in a financial crisis, and make progress toward your financ… |
Online - Details will be emailed upon registration | Adults, 50+, Businesspeople |
| Fri, October 22 @ 9 AM |
MONEY MATTERS Financial, Credit, and Medicare Counseling The Thomas Yoseloff Business Center provides a range of free one-on-one financial counseling services that aim to assist with financial situations including general money management, budgeting, saving, banking, retirement planning, and more. Budget and Credit Coaching Sign up for a remote session with the Financial Coaching Corps (FCC) of the Community Service Society. Learn how to improve your credit, manage your debt, find resources in a financial crisis, and make progress toward your financ… |
Online - Details will be emailed upon registration | Adults, 50+, Businesspeople |
| Fri, October 22 @ 10 AM |
CAREER SERVICES Career and Resilience Coaching Career and Resilience Coaching Need to get your career back on track? Book a phone or virtual appointment with a Career or Resilience coach. A wide range of appointment dates and times are available - Book Now! Skype Career Coaching: Get help with resumes & cover letters, LinkedIn profiles, Interview preparation and general career direction Career Coaching sessions held via Skype. Career Coaching via Phone: Get help with resumes & cover letters, LinkedIn profiles, Interview prep… |
ONLINE - Details will be emailed upon registration | Adults, Businesspeople, Job Seekers |
| Fri, October 22 @ 10 AM |
POSTPONED
CAREER SERVICES Disability Career & Resource Fair (POSTPONED) * * THIS EVENT IS POSTPONED UNTIL FURTHER NOTICE * * DisABILITY Career & Resources Fair October 22, 2021 10 AM-2 PM A strong workforce is an inclusive workforce! Join us in celebrating disability awareness month for our job & resource fair and meet with employers for current positions in Retail, Stock, Administration, Records Clerical, Health Care, Security, Law Enforcement, Government Positions, Seasonal Positions, and many more. Connecting job seekers with employers… |
Thomas Yoseloff Business Center at SNFL | Adults, Book Lovers, Businesspeople, Job Seekers |
| Fri, October 22 @ 12 PM |
CAREERS, JOBS, SMALL BUSINESS SEMINARS *This event is online only.* Get the basic facts about trademarks. Jason Lott explores the different types of trademarks, including names, designs, logos, and trade dress. Learn strategies to perform a trademark search, strengthen descriptive marks, and lay out the steps to file a trademark application and all fees associated with trademarks. Click here to register About the Presenter: Jason Lott is the Attorney Advisor for Trademarks Customer Outreach at the United States Paten… |
ONLINE - Details will be emailed upon registration | Adults, Businesspeople |
| Fri, October 22 @ 12 PM |
CAREERS, JOBS, SMALL BUSINESS SEMINARS Virtual Consultations with Business Librarians Have a question for your business projects that requires research? Whether you are looking at starting a business or growing your existing one, doing research is a "mission-critical" part of being in business. The Business Center’s Librarians can help! Our Librarians are available for 30-min video consultations on weekdays between 12-5 PM. The Library’s world-class Thomas Yoseloff Business Center at the Stavros Niarchos Foundation Library (SNFL) features electronic resources, comprehensive… |
Online - Details will be emailed upon registration | Adults, Businesspeople |
| Fri, October 22 @ 1 PM |
CAREERS, JOBS, SMALL BUSINESS SEMINARS Using Simply Analytics for Business Learn how the data visualization database SimplyAnalytics can be used to prospect for a location for a new business, compare different locations ,and get detailed demographics about a selected location. Click here to register. Registration for this event is through Eventbrite. Click here to view Eventbrite's Privacy Policy. |
ONLINE - Details will be emailed upon registration | Adults, Businesspeople, Job Seekers |
| Sat, October 23 @ 9 AM |
MONEY MATTERS Financial, Credit, and Medicare Counseling The Thomas Yoseloff Business Center provides a range of free one-on-one financial counseling services that aim to assist with financial situations including general money management, budgeting, saving, banking, retirement planning, and more. Budget and Credit Coaching Sign up for a remote session with the Financial Coaching Corps (FCC) of the Community Service Society. Learn how to improve your credit, manage your debt, find resources in a financial crisis, and make progress toward your financ… |
Online - Details will be emailed upon registration | Adults, 50+, Businesspeople |
| Sat, October 23 @ 10:30 AM |
CAREERS, JOBS, SMALL BUSINESS SEMINARS New York StartUP! 2022 Business Plan Competition Orientation **This event will be online only** Have you dreamed of starting your own business? The 12th Annual New York StartUP! Business Plan Competition launches this fall! Entrants can win $15,000 to start their business, as well as gain practical insights about starting and growing a business - all while using the comprehensive small business resources at NYPL’s Thomas Yoseloff Business Center. Are you eligible? • You must live in Manhattan, The Bronx, or Staten Island * • Your business must be in M… |
ONLINE - Details will be emailed upon registration | Adults, Businesspeople |
| Mon, October 25 @ 10 AM |
CAREER SERVICES Career and Resilience Coaching Career and Resilience Coaching Need to get your career back on track? Book a phone or virtual appointment with a Career or Resilience coach. A wide range of appointment dates and times are available - Book Now! Skype Career Coaching: Get help with resumes & cover letters, LinkedIn profiles, Interview preparation and general career direction Career Coaching sessions held via Skype. Career Coaching via Phone: Get help with resumes & cover letters, LinkedIn profiles, Interview prep… |
ONLINE - Details will be emailed upon registration | Adults, Businesspeople, Job Seekers |
| Mon, October 25 @ 12 PM |
CAREERS, JOBS, SMALL BUSINESS SEMINARS Virtual Consultations with Business Librarians Have a question for your business projects that requires research? Whether you are looking at starting a business or growing your existing one, doing research is a "mission-critical" part of being in business. The Business Center’s Librarians can help! Our Librarians are available for 30-min video consultations on weekdays between 12-5 PM. The Library’s world-class Thomas Yoseloff Business Center at the Stavros Niarchos Foundation Library (SNFL) features electronic resources, comprehensive… |
Online - Details will be emailed upon registration | Adults, Businesspeople |
| Mon, October 25 @ 2 PM |
SMALL BUSINESS HOW-TO SEMINARS Insights into Launching Careers in International Trade *This event is online only* Join us to hear stories from members of the Organization of Women in International Trade (OWIT) NY Chapter community about entering the field, non-traditional roles, and their career paths in international trade. Bring your questions! CLICK HERE TO REGISTER About the Presenters: Valeria Bossio graduated from Temple University, the Fox School of Business, with a bachelor's degree in business administration. She earned a major in international business with a… |
ONLINE - Details will be emailed upon registration | Adults, 50+, Businesspeople |
| Mon, October 25 @ 5 PM |
MONEY MATTERS Financial, Credit, and Medicare Counseling The Thomas Yoseloff Business Center provides a range of free one-on-one financial counseling services that aim to assist with financial situations including general money management, budgeting, saving, banking, retirement planning, and more. Budget and Credit Coaching Sign up for a remote session with the Financial Coaching Corps (FCC) of the Community Service Society. Learn how to improve your credit, manage your debt, find resources in a financial crisis, and make progress toward your financ… |
Online - Details will be emailed upon registration | Adults, 50+, Businesspeople |
| Mon, October 25 @ 5 PM |
MONEY MATTERS Financial, Credit, and Medicare Counseling The Thomas Yoseloff Business Center provides a range of free one-on-one financial counseling services that aim to assist with financial situations including general money management, budgeting, saving, banking, retirement planning, and more. Budget and Credit Coaching Sign up for a remote session with the Financial Coaching Corps (FCC) of the Community Service Society. Learn how to improve your credit, manage your debt, find resources in a financial crisis, and make progress toward your financ… |
Online - Details will be emailed upon registration | Adults, 50+, Businesspeople |
| Tue, October 26 @ 9 AM |
MONEY MATTERS Financial, Credit, and Medicare Counseling The Thomas Yoseloff Business Center provides a range of free one-on-one financial counseling services that aim to assist with financial situations including general money management, budgeting, saving, banking, retirement planning, and more. Budget and Credit Coaching Sign up for a remote session with the Financial Coaching Corps (FCC) of the Community Service Society. Learn how to improve your credit, manage your debt, find resources in a financial crisis, and make progress toward your financ… |
Online - Details will be emailed upon registration | Adults, 50+, Businesspeople |
| Tue, October 26 @ 10 AM |
CAREER SERVICES Career and Resilience Coaching Career and Resilience Coaching Need to get your career back on track? Book a phone or virtual appointment with a Career or Resilience coach. A wide range of appointment dates and times are available - Book Now! Skype Career Coaching: Get help with resumes & cover letters, LinkedIn profiles, Interview preparation and general career direction Career Coaching sessions held via Skype. Career Coaching via Phone: Get help with resumes & cover letters, LinkedIn profiles, Interview prep… |
ONLINE - Details will be emailed upon registration | Adults, Businesspeople, Job Seekers |
| Tue, October 26 @ 12 PM |
MONEY MATTERS *This event is online only.* Are you new to Medicare? Just turning age 65 or soon to be retiring? Or recently lost your employer coverage after age 65? Join us for an overview of the Medicare program and your coverage options, including Medigap/Medicare Supplement insurance, Medicare Advantage/Medicare Health Plans and Medicare Part D prescription drug coverage. Learn about programs that may help with your Medicare costs. Bring your questions and get the latest information. Presented by HIICAP… |
ONLINE - Details will be emailed upon registration | Adults, 50+, Businesspeople |
| Tue, October 26 @ 12 PM |
CAREERS, JOBS, SMALL BUSINESS SEMINARS Virtual Consultations with Business Librarians Have a question for your business projects that requires research? Whether you are looking at starting a business or growing your existing one, doing research is a "mission-critical" part of being in business. The Business Center’s Librarians can help! Our Librarians are available for 30-min video consultations on weekdays between 12-5 PM. The Library’s world-class Thomas Yoseloff Business Center at the Stavros Niarchos Foundation Library (SNFL) features electronic resources, comprehensive… |
Online - Details will be emailed upon registration | Adults, Businesspeople |
| Tue, October 26 @ 5 PM |
HERITAGE CELEBRATION PROGRAMMING Author Talk: Next Job, Best Job: A Headhunter’s 11 Strategies To Get Hired Now*** Mind Leader Series * * * THIS IS AN ONLINE EVENT * * * The job market is in a state of constant change and many of us are rethinking our next job. Join us for a free zoom event to give you new tools to find the job you really want and put your career on the right track. Headhunter Rob Barnett is the author of the bestselling new book, Next Job, Best Job: A Headhunter’s 11 Strategies To Get Hired Now. Rob has discovered, hired, and led hundreds of talented creators and executives in senior management roles at M… |
Thomas Yoseloff Business Center at SNFL ONLINE - Details will be emailed upon registration |
Adults, Book Lovers, Businesspeople, Job Seekers |
| Wed, October 27 @ 10 AM |
CAREER SERVICES Career and Resilience Coaching Career and Resilience Coaching Need to get your career back on track? Book a phone or virtual appointment with a Career or Resilience coach. A wide range of appointment dates and times are available - Book Now! Skype Career Coaching: Get help with resumes & cover letters, LinkedIn profiles, Interview preparation and general career direction Career Coaching sessions held via Skype. Career Coaching via Phone: Get help with resumes & cover letters, LinkedIn profiles, Interview prep… |
ONLINE - Details will be emailed upon registration | Adults, Businesspeople, Job Seekers |
| Wed, October 27 @ 11:30 AM |
MONEY MATTERS Financial, Credit, and Medicare Counseling The Thomas Yoseloff Business Center provides a range of free one-on-one financial counseling services that aim to assist with financial situations including general money management, budgeting, saving, banking, retirement planning, and more. Budget and Credit Coaching Sign up for a remote session with the Financial Coaching Corps (FCC) of the Community Service Society. Learn how to improve your credit, manage your debt, find resources in a financial crisis, and make progress toward your financ… |
Online - Details will be emailed upon registration | Adults, 50+, Businesspeople |
| Wed, October 27 @ 12 PM |
CAREERS, JOBS, SMALL BUSINESS SEMINARS Virtual Consultations with Business Librarians Have a question for your business projects that requires research? Whether you are looking at starting a business or growing your existing one, doing research is a "mission-critical" part of being in business. The Business Center’s Librarians can help! Our Librarians are available for 30-min video consultations on weekdays between 12-5 PM. The Library’s world-class Thomas Yoseloff Business Center at the Stavros Niarchos Foundation Library (SNFL) features electronic resources, comprehensive… |
Online - Details will be emailed upon registration | Adults, Businesspeople |
| Thu, October 28 @ 10 AM |
CAREER SERVICES Career and Resilience Coaching Career and Resilience Coaching Need to get your career back on track? Book a phone or virtual appointment with a Career or Resilience coach. A wide range of appointment dates and times are available - Book Now! Skype Career Coaching: Get help with resumes & cover letters, LinkedIn profiles, Interview preparation and general career direction Career Coaching sessions held via Skype. Career Coaching via Phone: Get help with resumes & cover letters, LinkedIn profiles, Interview prep… |
ONLINE - Details will be emailed upon registration | Adults, Businesspeople, Job Seekers |
| Thu, October 28 @ 12 PM |
CAREERS, JOBS, SMALL BUSINESS SEMINARS Virtual Consultations with Business Librarians Have a question for your business projects that requires research? Whether you are looking at starting a business or growing your existing one, doing research is a "mission-critical" part of being in business. The Business Center’s Librarians can help! Our Librarians are available for 30-min video consultations on weekdays between 12-5 PM. The Library’s world-class Thomas Yoseloff Business Center at the Stavros Niarchos Foundation Library (SNFL) features electronic resources, comprehensive… |
Online - Details will be emailed upon registration | Adults, Businesspeople |
| Thu, October 28 @ 5 PM |
MONEY MATTERS Financial, Credit, and Medicare Counseling The Thomas Yoseloff Business Center provides a range of free one-on-one financial counseling services that aim to assist with financial situations including general money management, budgeting, saving, banking, retirement planning, and more. Budget and Credit Coaching Sign up for a remote session with the Financial Coaching Corps (FCC) of the Community Service Society. Learn how to improve your credit, manage your debt, find resources in a financial crisis, and make progress toward your financ… |
Online - Details will be emailed upon registration | Adults, 50+, Businesspeople |
| Fri, October 29 @ 9 AM |
MONEY MATTERS Financial, Credit, and Medicare Counseling The Thomas Yoseloff Business Center provides a range of free one-on-one financial counseling services that aim to assist with financial situations including general money management, budgeting, saving, banking, retirement planning, and more. Budget and Credit Coaching Sign up for a remote session with the Financial Coaching Corps (FCC) of the Community Service Society. Learn how to improve your credit, manage your debt, find resources in a financial crisis, and make progress toward your financ… |
Online - Details will be emailed upon registration | Adults, 50+, Businesspeople |
| Fri, October 29 @ 9 AM |
MONEY MATTERS Financial, Credit, and Medicare Counseling The Thomas Yoseloff Business Center provides a range of free one-on-one financial counseling services that aim to assist with financial situations including general money management, budgeting, saving, banking, retirement planning, and more. Budget and Credit Coaching Sign up for a remote session with the Financial Coaching Corps (FCC) of the Community Service Society. Learn how to improve your credit, manage your debt, find resources in a financial crisis, and make progress toward your financ… |
Online - Details will be emailed upon registration | Adults, 50+, Businesspeople |
| Fri, October 29 @ 10 AM |
CAREER SERVICES Career and Resilience Coaching Career and Resilience Coaching Need to get your career back on track? Book a phone or virtual appointment with a Career or Resilience coach. A wide range of appointment dates and times are available - Book Now! Skype Career Coaching: Get help with resumes & cover letters, LinkedIn profiles, Interview preparation and general career direction Career Coaching sessions held via Skype. Career Coaching via Phone: Get help with resumes & cover letters, LinkedIn profiles, Interview prep… |
ONLINE - Details will be emailed upon registration | Adults, Businesspeople, Job Seekers |
| Fri, October 29 @ 12 PM |
CAREERS, JOBS, SMALL BUSINESS SEMINARS Virtual Consultations with Business Librarians Have a question for your business projects that requires research? Whether you are looking at starting a business or growing your existing one, doing research is a "mission-critical" part of being in business. The Business Center’s Librarians can help! Our Librarians are available for 30-min video consultations on weekdays between 12-5 PM. The Library’s world-class Thomas Yoseloff Business Center at the Stavros Niarchos Foundation Library (SNFL) features electronic resources, comprehensive… |
Online - Details will be emailed upon registration | Adults, Businesspeople |
| Fri, October 29 @ 12:30 PM |
CAREER SERVICES * * * THIS IS AN ONLINE EVENT * * * As a job seeker, are you wondering why you are not getting any response to your online submissions? Uncover why human eyes may never see the resumes you submit online and discover what you need to do to optimize your resume to beat the dreaded ATS. Have your current resume available to mark up during the workshop. The content of this presentation was published in chapter 8 of the book published by the ATD (Association of Talent Development) called Find Y… |
Thomas Yoseloff Business Center at SNFL | Adults, Book Lovers, Businesspeople, Job Seekers |