Live Job Feed Information
Search by city, top-paying, best jobs. Employees Choice Awards sponsored by Glassdoor.
25 Best Paying Jobs for Women in 2020
Forbes list.
U.S. News and World Report Best Jobs 2020
Includes career fields; links to interview and resume tips, a variety of career advice links.
Career Videos
Career and skills and abilities information videos.
Career Q&A: Professional Advice and Insight
Short videos on contemporary careers, including nursing, exhibit designer, financial advisor, attorney, account manager, and more.
Career videos and news from the Wall Street Journal online.
Career Blogs
Discover blogs that match your interests.
For college women. Career lists, how-tos, blogs, and more.
Career management, job search tips, networking, dream jobs.
Career section of the online magazine. News, resources, yearly career recommendations.
Features include: research companies, explore professions, find internships, prepare for interviews and resumes.
Latest career and employment news online from The Wall Street Journal.
Career Exploration
Questions from students. Answers from professionals.
Cyberseek Interactive Career Pathway
Cybersecurity career pathways and interactive map of employment supply and demand.
For students and grads in finance, technology, and sales and marketing. Career tips, internships and entry level positions, and industry news.
Take a year off to explore before (or after) college; gap year programs and ideas for planning travel, study, and work experiences.
Contemporary career resources. Career paths, company close-ups, and search by location.
Browse careers, explore interests, and research education options.
Becoming a teacher, state and district information, video library, education and career resources.
Books not found at NYPL
Career Preparation
Career information and occupational profiles. Employment projections. Nationally recognized source of career information.
Articles and data on careers and economic trends. Bureau of Labor Statistics.
Rate yourself from beginner to expert. Use this online tool to Identify positions that match your skills.
O*NetTM Career Exploration Tools
The main source of occupational information. Explore your job skills; search occupational categories. Use Career Exploration Tools.
NYPL Databases for Career Exploration
Access these databases with the use of your library card. Don't have a library card? New York residents can get a library card through the SimplyE app.
NEW! Resource via Coursera free certificates in various skills: Coursera.org signed up a partnership with The New York State Department of Labor in order to provide unemployed and underemployed New Yorkers with free access to 4,000 courses, programs, and professional certificates in business and technology.
Brainfuse JobNow provides support for job-seekers through live resume building, career coaching, interview preparation, and much more. Get more with Live coaches who are only a click away to provide expert analysis from 2:00 PM - 11:00 PM EST.
Career Cruising offers resume samples, career guides, access to college and scholarship information, and ways to assess your transferable skills and learning styles.
Career Insider (Vault) offers career guides, industry guides, company and employer profiles, articles, resume guides and more. Find industry overviews, career paths, salary ranges, industry outlooks, and more. Temporary remote access with a library card. Premier career and job resource. Note: Library users must create an account with their name and email address.
The Chronicle of Higher Education is a top destination for news, advice, and jobs for people in academia.
Gale Virtual Reference Library is an online library of reference titles for multidisciplinary research, including texts relating to American and world history, biography, health, the arts, business, travel, religion, and multicultural studies.
Learning Express provides online tutorials, practice tests, and e-books to help patrons of all ages in job search and workplace skills improvement; building skills in reading, writing, math, and basic science; career certification; licensure exam prep; college and grad school entrance test prep; G.E. D® test prep; and more.
Lynda.com provides video training tutorials in various skills, including Microsoft, Adobe, HTML, resumes, salary negotiation, interviewing skills, business writing, and many more.
Occupational Outlook Handbook offers information on hundreds of different types of jobs, and the training or education required to do them.
Data Axle - (Previously Reference USA) provides addresses, sales information, executives, for over 11 million U.S. Now includes job listings. **Patrons should read the Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy of this resource before searching.
Vocations and Careers OneFile (Gale) aids users in researching a vocation, finding an appropriate institution of learning, searching for jobs, and maintaining a career.
You can also visit the Career Services Facebook page to view previously recorded career/job search seminars offered by industry experts. You don't have to join Facebook to view the recordings
Diversity Resources
- AARP
For job seekers 50 and over.
- CatholicJobs.com
Job search engine for a variety of jobs in Catholic education and other organizations. Search locally and nationally.
- CareerOneStop
Resources and information for workers with disabilities. U.S. Dept. of Labor.
- Encore.org
Career resources for the 'second half of life.' Education, advice, top job fields, employment listings, and networking.
- iHispano.com
Networking site and job board for Latino/a professionals.
- IMDiversity
Diversity news, diversity villages for minorities, global, and women. Job search and employer profiles.
- Vets.gov
Transitioning from military to civilian career, support programs, and resources. U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs and Department of Labor.