Fashion, Apparel, and Textile: An Industry Guide: APPAREL

Apparel Production Terms and Processes defines materials and terms relating to the mass production of raw materials, design and product development, garment details and component parts, fit, patternmaking, pre-production operations, assembly, production and manufacturing, labeling regulations, testing and quality control, inspection, finishing and packaging. In this revised edition, chapters are presented in a progression that relates to the flow of the production process or the route of the garment from its origin through development to completion. Each chapter opens with a brief introduction followed by terms that are listed alphabetically and are grouped according to subject by use or application. The chapters have been reorganized to better follow the flow of the production process and chapters' introductions have been expanded to clarify the relationships between each step in the production process. New to this Edition - New chapter on Sizing and Fit covers sizing standards, fit types, and evaluation of fit - Added coverage of international labeling regulations and expanded section on safety compliance - Integrates coverage of quality control and inspection featuring common fabric and garment defects into the Quality Assurance and Product Testing chapter - Expanded sourcing information in the Production chapter - Coverage of new technologies such as 3D printing, seamless garments, stitchless seams, and equipment Apparel Production Terms and Processes STUDIO - Study smarter with self-quizzes featuring scored results and personalized study tips - Review concepts with flashcards of terms and definitions - Enhance your knowledge with visual analysis exercises and activities - Access downloadable files for specification sheets Teaching Resources - New Instructor's Guide provides sample syllabi, teaching strategies for a range of courses, and learning outcomes for each chapter - Test Bank includes sample test questions for each chapter - Image bank offers a selection of photos for instructors to integrate into their lecture materials PLEASE NOTE- Purchasing or renting this ISBN does not include access to the STUDIO resources that accompany this text. To receive free access to the STUDIO content with new copies of this book, please refer to the book + STUDIO access card bundle ISBN 9781501315640.

This informative, full-color text takes students step-by-step through the decision-making involved in the pre-production processes of apparel product development---planning, forecasting, fabricating, line development, technical design, pricing, sourcing, and distribution. It demonstrates how these processes must be coordinated to get the right product to market, when consumers want it, and at a price they are willing to pay. The 4th Edition has been edited around a new metastructure to maximize student learning. It continues to build on the themes of sustainability, business ethics, and the impact of fast fashion and social media while seeking to address opportunities for both large and small companies, and entrepreneurs. The text advances its discussion of how new technologies continue to shorten the product development calendar. Chapters have been updated to include current examples, updated charts and graphs, and more case studies. There are updated references to contemporary developments with examples relevant to today's student. New to this Edition ¿ Includes international examples and case studies that address the effects of globalization ¿ Advances the discussion of the pros and cons of fast fashion vs. slow fashion ¿ Revised, easier-to-read charts and graphs and 30% new color photographs ¿ Thoroughly revised Chapters 12 (Sourcing) and 13 (Costing and Pricing) updated with most recent info on trade laws, changes in sourcing criteria and wages in international sourcing countries Beyond Design STUDIO ¿ Study smarter with self-quizzes featuring scored results and personalized study tips ¿ Review concepts with flashcards of essential vocabulary ¿ Watch videos that bring chapter concepts to life PLEASE NOTE: Purchasing or renting this ISBN does not include access to the STUDIO resources that accompany this text. To receive free access to the STUDIO content with new copies of this book, please refer to the book + STUDIO access card bundle ISBN 9781501315480. STUDIO Instant Access can also be purchased or rented separately on BloomsburyFashionCentral.com.

As an initial attempt to understand innovation in fashion, this volume focuses on product innovations, realizing that this industry is truly an innovative sector in which diverse technologies, science, art, and tradition have been merged, synthesized, and utilized to solve the needs and concerns of the end-users. In doing so, this book categorizes product innovation into three levels--materials, style and product development--and aims to present the broader scope of innovation in the global fashion industry with the hope that other sectors can learn from these developments and be inspired. 

This student lab manual reinforces the chapter content and lecture material from Apparel Quality, but may also be used as a standalone product in conjunction with another apparel quality textbook. With more than 30 hands-on lab activities and projects to enhance learning, the lab manual offers a greater understanding of quality issues that arise with apparel production and end use. Designed for courses that emphasize textile testing or offer a laboratory component, Apparel Quality Lab Manual includes supply lists; extensive reference tables; assignments for analyzing products, testing and evaluating materials and garments; project sheets for product comparison testing; worksheets to record data; directions for mounting specimens after testing; and templates for cutting specimens. Students will be actively engaged in their learning and participate in determining the quality level of apparel products, allowing them to simulate how apparel products are analyzed in the industry.

This practical text takes students step-by-step through the pre-production processes of apparel product development- planning, forecasting, fabricating, line development, technical design, pricing, and sourcing. It demonstrates how these processes must be coordinated to get the right product to market, when consumers want it, and at a price they are willing to pay. Now in full color, this 3rd Edition includes a greater focus on sustainability and business ethics, fast fashion calendars and their impact on product development, and the effect of social media on design and distribution. The text also includes a discussion of how technologies-such as color matching, body scanning, and the use of avatars for fitting and patternmaking-have advanced in their accuracy and commercial applications. Chapters have been updated to incorporate current practices in sourcing, pricing, and costing with a more focused point of view on how increasingly sophisticated distribution channels impact the product development process.

In today's global apparel industry, garments that are designed domestically are often manufactured overseas. The production package, a series of forms that define a garment's specifications, is critical to ensuring that a particular style is executed correctly and efficiently. This book is the first text of its kind to present the basics of production management with clear instructions for creating each component of a production package. Students are taken through the complete management process, from the costing, and planning that takes place domestically, to the off-shore production processes that include sourcing, assembly and finishing, and packaging and distribution. In the last section a workbook format with blank templates for production package sheets gives students a chance to put their learning into action by creating a production package of their own. Includes- An overview of domestic and off-shore apparel production processes; Diagrams of a production department's division of labor, stages of costing, and scheduling; The role of technology in production management, including a comparison of PDM and PLM software; Examples of completed production package sheets; Blank production package sheets; Appendices containing basic body croquis, industrial sewing stitches, a button selector gauge, plus care label and packaging regulations; Instructor's Guide to planning the course and using the text in the classroom.