 |
_________________________
BOOKS
Tim Gunn's Fashion Bible by ISBN: 1451643853Publication Date: 2012-09-11From a bestselling fashion guru--a fascinating, meticulously researched history of Western fashion covering every topic from the history of the high heel to the origin of blue jeans. In the beginning there was the fig leaf... and the toga. Crinolines and ruffs. Chain mailand corsets. What do these antiquated items have to do with the oh-so-twenty-first-century skinny jeans, graphic tee, and sexy pumps you slipped into this morning? Everything! Fashion begets fashion, and life--from economics to politics, weather to warfare, practicality to the utterly impractical--is reflected in the styles of any given era, evolving into the threads you buy and wear today. With the candidness, intelligence, and charm that made him a household name on Project Runway, Tim Gunn reveals the fascinating story behind each article of clothing dating back to ancient times, in a book that reads like a walking tour from museum to closet with Tim at your side. From Cleopatra's crown to Helen of Troy's sandals, from Queen Victoria's corset to Madonna's cone bra, Dynasty's power suits to Hillary Clinton's pantsuits, Tim Gunn's Fashion Bible takes you on a runway-ready journey through the highs and lows of fashion history. Drawing from his exhaustive knowledge and intensive research to offer cutting-edge insights into modern style, Tim explains how the 1960s ruined American underwear, how Beau Brummell created the look men have worn for more than a century, why cargo capri pants are a plague on our nation, and much more. He will make you see your wardrobe in a whole new way. Prepare to be inspired as you change your thinking about the past, present, and future of fashion!
The World of Fashion by ISBN: 9781609015275Publication Date: 2013-01-30The World of Fashion is the essential resource for students seeking to understand the fashion industry. Starting with an introduction to fashion's history and its evolving role within the global marketplace, this book provides in-depth coverage of the design, manufacturing and merchandising segments of the fashion industry.
The Fashion Dictionary by ISBN: 8860737222Publication Date: 2010-11-01Featuring drawings and pencil sketches from world-renowned brands and designers, this encyclopedic account offers a complete overview of the origins of fashion, reaching back to the history of various styles and examining the artistic currents that influenced them. Updated to include entries on the latest significant industry trends, as well as expanded entries on timeless classics, this edition explains 4,500 terms in concise journalistic language to appeal to both casual fans and serious fashion enthusiasts. With more than 100 contributors--including bestselling author Beppe Severgnini, Giulio Alberoni, tennis player and author Gianni Clerici, and fashion journalists Irene Bignardi and Isabella Bossi Fedrigotti--this comprehensive resource spotlights courtiers, trademarks of pr#65533;t-#65533;-porter, fashion schools, shoe designers, models, and cover girls, icons of elegance, and much more.
The Fairchild Books Dictionary of Textiles by ISBN: 9781609015350Publication Date: 2013-09-17The eighth edition of this industry standard for textile terminology is fully revised and expanded featuring approximately 100 new entries and over 14,000 definitions of fibers, fabrics, laws and regulations affecting textile materials and processing, inventors of textile technology, and business and trade terms relevant to textiles. Trademark information has been thoroughly updated to reflect the U.S. Patent and Trademark Office's Trademark Electronic Search System (TESS), and current definitions from the industry associations American Association of Textile Chemists and Colorists and American Society for Testing and Materials are included. Fully illustrated with over 500 photographs and line drawings, entries include pronunciation, derivation, definition, and uses. An extensive appendix provides a list of national and internationalindustry associations and organizations. From Abaca to Zyex, The Fairchild Books Dictionary of Textiles contains essential reference information for professionals and scholars involved in the textile industry.
The Fashion Designer's Textile Directory by ISBN: 9780764146282Publication Date: 2011-04-01This valuable materials directory for professional dressmakers and fashion designers is also a good reference source for students of fashion design, as well as for those who make their own garments. The author points out the best fabrics for creating specific garments, explaining how each fabric's qualities make it suitable for various items of apparel. Knowing which fabrics can support a structured silhouette is fundamental to fashion design, and this book explains the use of stiff or crisply textured fabrics for tailored garments, as well as soft textured fabrics for rounded forms. Ornamentation is also discussed, and includes advice on how to work with different fabrics to create what author Gail Baugh classifies as opulent, simple, and in-between decorative effects. The book's additional features include: Fiber characteristics charts Weave charts and knit charts with fabric names and photos A glossary of terms and definitions Lists of textile suppliers, online stores, and study resources This directory of textiles and their uses is profusely illustrated with more than 500 color photos.
Garment and Textile Dictionary by George L. Conway
ISBN: 0827379862
Publication Date: 1996-09-01
This dictionary features over 3,500 definitions of key textile and garment terms. A special section on fabric defects broken out of each alphabetical listing provides quick reference to these important terms. Phonetic pronunciations and extensive cross-referencing, plus useful material on textile and garment associations, vendors, and internet reference sites are also included. Essential for any student in the textile and garment industry.
_________________________
DATABASES
Comprehensive coverage of world fashion from reference titles, journal articles, ebooks, and images. Select "Resource Area" to access lesson plans, thematic reading lists, and biographies. Please note that Fairchild Books and Fashion Photography Archive content is not included in the Library's subscription.**Patrons should read the Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy of this resource before searching.**
Applied 
Science & Business Periodicals Retrospective: 1913-1983
The Applied Science & Business Periodicals Retrospective database contains indexing and abstracts for major scientific and technical publications from 1913 to 1983. The index includes citations for more than 4.5 million articles and 1,700 periodicals. Full text articles are available selectively within the index. Topics include engineering, space science, textile industry & fabrics, transportation, waste management and more. **Patrons should read the Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy of this resource before searching.**
_________________________
WEBSITES
ISBN: 0500294143
This Complete Textile Glossary is intended to be a convenient reference for textile terminology.
Although it covers all types of textile terms broadly, its special emphasis is on manufactured
fibers - what they are, how they are made, and how they are used.
"This is the fabric and textile directory that dressmakers and fashion designers have been waiting for. This book is like having your own personal shopper - able to recommend fabrics to suit the effects you want to achieve, show you how the fabric will perform, and recommend ways of using it. Each fabric in the directory is accompanied by photographs presented in a way that makes the properties of the fabric come alive for the viewer, allowing you to really understand how a fabric might behave. The Fashion Designer's Textile Directory is sure to become essential reading for every designer wanting to communicate their final vision through the appropriate use of fabric."
TEXTILE RESOURCE FOR FABRICS, APPAREL, HOME FURNISHINGS AND FABRIC CARE