 |
_________________________
BOOKS
Garment and Textile Dictionary by ISBN: 0827379862Publication Date: 1996-09-01This dictionary features over 3,500 definitions of key textile and garment terms. A special section on fabric defects broken out of each alphabetical listing provides quick reference to these important terms. Phonetic pronunciations and extensive cross-referencing, plus useful material on textile and garment associations, vendors, and internet reference sites are also included. Essential for any student in the textile and garment industry.
ISBN: 0500294143"This is the fabric and textile directory that dressmakers and fashion designers have been waiting for. This book is like having your own personal shopper - able to recommend fabrics to suit the effects you want to achieve, show you how the fabric will perform, and recommend ways of using it. Each fabric in the directory is accompanied by photographs presented in a way that makes the properties of the fabric come alive for the viewer, allowing you to really understand how a fabric might behave. The Fashion Designer's Textile Directory is sure to become essential reading for every designer wanting to communicate their final vision through the appropriate use of fabric."
All New Fabric Savvy by ISBN: 1631868411Publication Date: 2017-08-08Named a Best Reference Book of 2017 by Library Journal The best-selling fabric guide for sewers just got better. Fully updated to reflect new fabrics and notions as well as changes in sewing tools and techniques, All New Fabric Savvy is chock-full of essential information that all garment and home dec sewers need to work with 107 different types of fabric. Organized alphabetically, the 107 fabrics include: old favorites like cotton, wool, and knits new synthetic options like faux fur and leather, oilcloth, and ripstop. more than 475 photographs and 110 illustrations Includes a comprehensive set of appendices covering everything you need to know about working with fabric. All New Fabric Savvy guarantees success for sewers of all stripes by removing the confusion inherent in working with the many types of fabric available today.
Diligence and Elegance by ISBN: 0980908868Publication Date: 2017-07-01spacer.gifDiligence and Elegance: The Nature of Japanese Textiles presents over 50 textiles and garments from the Textile Museum of Canada¿s collection of 19th and 20th century artifacts made in Japan for both everyday and occasional use. Luxurious silk and gold fabrics produced in Kyoto¿s professional weaving workshops are juxtaposed with domestic indigo-dyed cotton, plant-fibre cloth, and silk kimonos crafted in an astonishing spectrum of time-honoured techniques - weaving, dyeing, hand painting, gold foil application and embroidery - that exemplify venerable social and cultural values. The authors discuss the highly refined skills and materials by which textiles have been constructed and decorated over centuries, and on how diligence and ingenuity have shaped their timeless beauty. The persistence of traditions seen in such rigorously executed textiles has come to embody the heart of Japanese aesthetics. Every material, colour and technique has a story to tell. The publication also features the contemporary work of Hiroko Karuno and Keiko Shintani, two Japanese-Canadians whose consummate craftsmanship and philosophies are profoundly connected to the evolution of Japanese textile traditions of spinning, dyeing and weaving. Their internationally renowned artistic achievements are testimony to the ethics of labour associated with a lifelong investment of time, practice and precision; they position living traditions as opportunities for personal reflection and the acknowledgement of the significance of collective human accomplishments.
A Field Guide to Fabric Design by ISBN: 1607053551Publication Date: 2011-11-16Discover how to add that really personal touch to all your
projects by using fabrics you designed yourself! A Field Guide to Fabric Design is a comprehensive and refreshingly straightforward guide that teaches you everything
you need to know to get started from design and colour
basics to creating repeat patterns, screen-printing tips, even
selling your designs! This volume also includes expert advice on using both traditional and new digital design and production techniques.
Plunkett's Apparel and Textiles Industry Almanac by ISBN: 9781593920067Publication Date: 2004-07-01An exciting, global industry, apparel and textiles are covered in-depth in this book, from clothing, shoes and accessories to designers, retail stores and manufacturers. Statistics, trends and market analysis included, as well as profiles of the 350 leading firms in all facets of the industry.
eBooks, Audio Books, and Videos from the New York Public Library
Type your keyword in the search box to see a good number of books on the topics, that you can check out online.
_________________________
BOOKS
Encyclopedia of Textile Finishing by ISBN: 3540650318Publication Date: 2002-12-11The textile processing industry is complexly structured - just as complex, even impenetrable is the know-how that an expert in the textile field should have. The new Encyclopedia of Textile Finishing is designed to bring some order into the confusion of technical terms in this sector. The encyclopedia was devised with the specialists in mind and is a store of knowledge for the textile expert. It consists of three volumes containing in alphabetical order the latest research findings (approx. 16000 keywords) from all technical disciplines of textile finishing and their practice-related application. Clear, coloured illustrations and numerous cross references serve for faster comprehension and conveyence of information. By virtue of its interdisciplinary character, this reference book is an irreplaceable aid for users from all fields of textile industry. Thus, no textile engineer and no library should be without it.
Manufacturing Processes for Textile and Fashion Design by ISBN: 9780500517413Publication Date: 2014-12-09An encyclopedic guide featuring over seventy established, emerging, and innovative production techniques and over sixty materials used in textile and fashion design To be truly prized and employable, textile and fashion designers have to be aware of, and knowledgeable about, a wide range of processes to enable their designs to be manufactured effectively, often thousands of miles from their design studio. This much-needed new reference is the only encyclopedic guide to manufacturing processes and materials that is truly relevant for textile and fashion designers. It is organized into five main parts: fiber and yarn technology; textile technology; construction technology; life cycle strategies; and materials appendix. Manufacturing Processes for Textile and Fashion Design Professionals is a complete overview of the life cycle of textile and fashion manufacturing, from the spinning of yarn to recycling. All the processes feature detailed step-by-step case studies showing the process in manufacture at a leading international supplier. The appendix features essential knowledge on over sixty natural and synthetic materials. With around 1,400 specially commissioned photographs and technical illustrations, this is the indispensable, reliable, convenient, and highly accessible practical reference for all textile and fashion designers.
_________________________
BOOKS
Apparel Industry Sourcebook
The comprehensive directory for apparel manufacturers, designers, merchandisers, trim buyers, fabric buyers and production departments in the men's, women's, children's and accessory markets. A complete and up-to-date guide listing nationwide suppliers of all types of fabrics, trims, notions, forecast services, swatch design studios, CAD services and more for the apparel industry.
Davison's textile "blue book"
ISBN: 00702951
Publication Date: 2019 ed.153
Davison's Textile Blue Book is an annual directory of mills, dyers, finishers, converters and jobbers in the U.S., Canada, Mexico and Central America. It also includes various suppliers to the textile industry including machinery, chemicals, supplies and services.
_________________________
WEBSITES
______________________________________
DATABASES/TRAINING VIDEO
- Project Muse This link opens in a new windowType the search terms "textile" or "textile tailoring" or "textile tailoring and sewing" and you will find a number of articles that provide current and historical perspectives on the topic.
- Emerging Markets - Internet SecuritiesProvides information on the textile business and industry worldwide.
- EBSCOHostProvides simultaneous access to multiple databases such as Business Source Premier, Academic Search Premier, and more that gives current and historical information on the textile industry through reports and articles in trade journals, magazines, newspapers, and other expert sources.
- Emerging Markets - Internet Securities
Full-text articles, news, company, industry and market information for emerging market countries around the world. Attention remote NYPL cardholders: Once you type in your library card and pin number, please click on CLIENT LOG IN on the top right portion of the screen, then select New York Public Library to fully access EMIS Intelligence. **Patrons should read the Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy of this resource before searching.**
- IBISWorld
IBISWorld is the largest collection of industry and market research including specialized industries for small business research. This database is accessible on computers at the Business Center, not through Wi-Fi. Please note: there is no downloading of IBISWorld reports at the library. Printing of individual sections of reports is currently enabled. **Patrons should read the Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy of this resource before searching.**
- First Research
Industry profiles include industry overview, recent developments, business challenges, trends and opportunities, executive insight, call preparation questions, financial and industry ratios, industry forecast, web links, and acronyms. Note: PDFs of First Research industry profiles can be found in Mergent Archives to view, save or print. In Mergent Archives, click the First Research tab. Use copy and paste into Notepad or Word. Save and print functions are not provided in the database.
**Patrons should read the Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy of this resource before searching.** - Panjiva
A database of global suppliers, manufacturers, and trade professionals. This database is accessible through a virtual consultation with a business librarian. **Patrons should read the Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy of this resource before searching.**
- Reference Solutions
Reference Solutions, formerly known as Reference USA, provides addresses, sales information, executives, for over 16 million verified businesses, and now includes job listings. **Patrons should read the Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy of this resource before searching.**
- Mergent Intellect
Mergent Intellect is an expansive directory database that includes more than 100 million private US, Canadian and global businesses, more than 6000 US public companies and over 200 million residents and local businesses, with previous addresses and allowing for reverse telephone lookups. It has job search and executive search capabilities and a multifaceted advanced search functionality. It also includes census data by zip code. **Patrons should read the Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy of this resource before searching.**
- Reference Solutions
Reference Solutions, formerly known as Reference USA, provides addresses, sales information, executives, for over 16 million verified businesses, and now includes job listings. **Patrons should read the Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy of this resource before searching.**
- LinkedIn Learning (formerly lynda.com)Provides training videos on topics such as textile design, buying and evaluating textiles, and more.
