 |
_________________________
BOOKS
More than 150 fashion designers are featured from around the world Current fashion is a complex phenomenon. In a constant state of constant flux, contemporary fashion combines a mix of the different cultural aspects that inform the modern individual. Atlas of Fashion Designers is born out of this proposition, and features a compilation of the most important fashion designers and their work in the past five years, selected from a multi-disciplinary perspective that display the heterogeneous mix of today's fashion world. Featured designers all have one trait in common: they were singled out, not only for the quality of their work, but also because they illustrate different perspectives in their approach to fashion. This book includes designers with a wide array of visions, from classical haute couture to those who experiment with developing fields such as anthropology, new textiles, high technology, architecture, art, or recycling. From Ricardo Tiscci, Nicholas Ghesquiere to Sybilla, to artists who are primarily concerned with pure fashion such as Lucy Orta, or to those investigators who concern themselves with innovation in the fields of textile research and technology, such as Issey Miyake or Hussein Chalayan. Atlas of Fashion Designers is a very relevant and useful reference in a hybrid society, which is composed of ever increasing heterogeneous elements. By offering a synthetic, fluid and diverse approach to the subject, the "Atlas" draws a map of the complex world of fashion at present time, and looks forward to what it may be tomorrow.
Fashion Designers by ISBN: 0823016390Publication Date: 2001-02-01Artistry and social history merge in this study of the fabulous fashions of the second half of the 20th century and the influential designers who created them. Spotlighting 35 international fashion greats - among them Chanel, Dior, Armani, Rykiel - an industry insider traces the development of women's fashions in the modern era, from 1945 to 2000. The work outlines the social climate that fostered each trend and helped define who we are or want to be, as expressed by the clothes we wear. There are pictures, anecdotes, facts and insights, along with photographs and designers' drawings.
The Great Fashion Designers by ISBN: 1847882277Publication Date: 2009-10-01From Charles Frederick Worth to Nicolas Ghesqui¿re, designers have propelled fashion from an elite craft into a cornerstone of contemporary popular culture. This brilliantly written analysis of the achievements of the 50 greatest names in international fashion explores their lives, both personal and professional, drawing on the latest academic research and on the best of fashion journalism, including the authors' own interviews with designers spanning a 30-year period. The designers' working methods and career highlights are outlined in detailed and wittily written entries that capture the spirit of their times. From Poiret and Patou to Gernreich and Galliano, the sometimes provocative selection of 50 names poses stimulating questions about the definition of a fashion designer in the modern era. A ground-breaking book, this is a definitive introduction to fashion designers that is essential reading for both students and general readers alike.
The Great Fashion Designers by Roger Tredre; Brenda Polan
ISBN: 1847882277
Publication Date: 2009-10-01
From Charles Frederick Worth to Nicolas Ghesqui¿re, designers have propelled fashion from an elite craft into a cornerstone of contemporary popular culture. This brilliantly written analysis of the achievements of the 50 greatest names in international fashion explores their lives, both personal and professional, drawing on the latest academic research and on the best of fashion journalism, including the authors' own interviews with designers spanning a 30-year period. The designers' working methods and career highlights are outlined in detailed and wittily written entries that capture the spirit of their times. From Poiret and Patou to Gernreich and Galliano, the sometimes provocative selection of 50 names poses stimulating questions about the definition of a fashion designer in the modern era. A ground-breaking book, this is a definitive introduction to fashion designers that is essential reading for both students and general readers alike.
In an Influential Fashion by ISBN: 0313312206Publication Date: 2002-03-30In an Influential Fashion profiles 164 fashion designers and retailers from many countries who have had the most impact on American dress and culture from the late 19th century to the year 2000. Each entry introduces a fashion personality or retailer whose influence on the industry reflected societal, political, and/or economic change. The commercial side of fashion, neglected in most fashion encyclopedias, is explored here, with details of licensing agreements and marketing innovations not easily found elsewhere. Students and professionals in fashion design, retailing, costume research, and social history will all find this book a valuable addition to their libraries. Each entry includes the birth and death dates of designers, their education and training, career highlights and accomplishments, and awards they have won. The entry describes the designer or retailer's signature styles, with a keen emphasis on the designer's contributions to American fashion design and culture. As appropriate, the entry summarizes any licensing agreements and influential marketing innovations. Web sites, lists of museums and fashion design schools, and numerous appendices make In an Influential Fashion a complete resource on American fashion history for the late 19th and 20th centuries.
The World's Most Influential Fashion Designers: Hidden Connections and Lasting Legacies of Fashion's Iconic CreatorsISBN: 1408127601This handsomely illustrated volume examines fifty of the most influential fashion designers of the past 100 years. Each designer's most significant creations are illustrated and discussed in light of how they survived the test of time, and then went on to influence fashion to the present day.
WWD 100 Years, 100 Designers by ISBN: 9781609012526Publication Date: 2010-10-12Coinciding with the hundredth anniversary of Women's Wear Daily, WWD- 100 Years, 100 Designers tells the story of fashion over the last century through the lens of one of the most respected publications in the industry. Rich with the work of acclaimed photographers and artists, WWD- 100 Years, 100 Designers visually chronicles 100 designers who influenced fashion during the first 100 years of Women' s Wear Daily and also serves as a testament to the bible of the fashion industry.
Accessory Design by ISBN: 9781563679261Publication Date: 2011-09-20The first textbook to cover the complete process for designing accessories, from inspiration to design sketching through manufacturing, Accessory Design is intended to give students a focused resource for developing their own accessory line. An introduction to the history of accessories throughout the centuries provides students with both context and inspiration for their designs. A consistent chapter format covers the key stages of the design process for the major segments of the accessories market-handbags, footwear, and small accessories (belts, scarves, hats, etc.). Examples of student illustrations from all stages of the design process including sketches, mood boards, flats, and final presentations support chapter projects, and help students gain practical experience in developing a line of accessories for their design portfolio.
CAD for Fashion Design and Merchandising by ISBN: 1609010639Publication Date: 2013-02-20It takes more than raw talent and passion to make it in today's global apparel and accessories markets-excellent computer graphics presentation skills are a prerequisite. CAD for Fashion Design and Merchandising allows students to immediately begin creating digital fashion presentations using Adobe Illustrator and Adobe Photoshop. The book takes an integrated approach, allowing students to master the 3-dimensional benefits of combining the two software programs. Colorful illustrations accompany easy, at-a-glance tutorials that are geared toward students at the beginner and intermediate levels. Because the book uses fashion photography rather than hand-drawn illustrations as a basis for demonstrating the proportion of fashion croquis, instructors will be able to evaluate students' mastery of digital illustration regardless of their hand-drawing skills, and students will benefit from a seamless transition from creative thought to digital rendering.
Design Basics for Apparel by ISBN: 0132375281Publication Date: 2012-03-09Design Basics for Apparel is a handbook for students and professionals in the fashion industry who need a good understanding of visual design. The book provides valuable information for fashion design and merchandising students, encouraging readers to consider the elements and principles of design as a whole with emphasis on the emotional and physical effect of clothing.
The Design Process by ISBN: 1609018389Publication Date: 2014-12-18Karl Aspelund takes readers on a guided tour of seven stages of design, from Inspiration, Identification, Conceptualization, Exploration/Refinement, Definition/Modeling, Communication and Production. New cumulative storyboards of three different types of designs (graphics, clothing, and web design) progress through each stage to show how each setp is implemented in practical application. Perspectives features highlight individual designers and artists, and end-of-chapter exercises help transform design projects to reality. New to This Edition- New cumulative storyboards in each chapter provide a variety of examples to show how designs progress through each stage in the design process to arrive at a final product Added coverage of globalization, sustainability, and collaborative teamwork New Perspectives features with additional design fields and real-life artists and designers Thoroughly updated illustrations
Fashion by Design by ISBN: 1563678489Publication Date: 2010-11-15Fashion by Design covers the elements and principles of design as they relate to fashion. Students will develop the eye of the fashion designer, able to identify and understand how to manipulate the elements and principles of design.
Fashion Flats and Technical Drawing by ISBN: 9781501308314Publication Date: 2017-01-26Fashion Flats and Technical Drawing is a step-by-step workbook for learning technical drawing and flat sketching skills. With more than 500 hand-drawn and CAD-rendered flats and 100 photos of finished samples showing how a sketch translates to a 3D garment, the book covers a range of garments and construction details used to communicate fashion designs for portfolios and production. Abling and DaCosta progress from basic design construction details such as darts, gathers, and trims to essential garment styles including skirts, tops, dresses, pants, jackets and coats. The book includes unique coverage of presentation of flats in a portfolio and critical step of preparing flats for a technical package and productions. Downloadable figure templates and flats library are available online. This book is an essential resource for fashion designers to learn technical drawing skills that effectively communicate fashion design concepts. Features ¿ Shows front-view and back-view flats, select side-view and 3/4-view flats, plus variations for menswear and childrenswear ¿ Covers basic CAD techniques, how to use the pen tool, and methods for translating hand-drawn flats to digital drawings ¿ Guest Artist features showcase professional designer styles for flats to inspire creativity ¿ Practical format includes lay-flat spiral binding and drawing practice pages with grids and figure templates Fashion Flats and Technical Drawing STUDIO ¿ Download figure templates and basic garment flats that can be used in different CAD programs or printed out for reference or practice ¿ Access extra drawing exercises and project using women's, men's, and children's flat figure templates ¿ Review concepts with flashcards of essential fashion vocabulary Teaching Resources ¿ The Instructor's Resources include sample course syllabi, test questions, visual quizzes and grading guidelines. PLEASE NOTE: Purchasing or renting this ISBN does not include access to the STUDIO resources that accompany this text. To receive free access to the STUDIO content with new copies of this book, please order the book + STUDIO access card bundle ISBN 9781501313035 or eBook + Studio Instant Access bundle ISBN 978150131302.
Functional Clothing Design by ISBN: 9780857854674Publication Date: 2015-01-29Functional Clothing Design is a book about how and why clothing works. This interdisciplinary text introduces new ways to look at the human body, the environment and clothing and to explore the relationships between them by looking at the ways clothing achieves goals such as protecting the body, increasing health and safety, improving a worker's efficiency on the job or increasing body function. Watkins and Dunne present technical material using clear, simple language that can be readily understood by beginning design students with no science or engineering background. Building on the groundbreaking text by Watkins, Clothing- The Portable Environment, this text covers a full range of factors involved in designing functional clothing- protection from thermal, impact and other environmental hazards; enhancing movement and visibility and increasing body function with smart clothing; designing clothing for people with handicaps and designing protective clothing for groups such as the military, who face multiple hazards. Functional Clothing Design focuses on the full range of activities needed to develop functional clothing-from analysis of user needs to choosing appropriate materials to design and design evaluation. The text includes case studies throughout as well as new content on smart textiles and all the latest developments in wearable technology. Designers and others seeking clothing solutions to problems in many fields will find a common language linking a number of disciplines through which they can explore both problems and solutions.
Fashion Design by ISBN: 1786275767Publication Date: 2020-01-28This introduction to fashion is aimed at students of fashion design across the world. By following the design process, from historical and commercial industry context to final collection presentation, the book provides a clear guide for students as they discover what designing for fashion entails. Along the way they will explore a wide variety of hands-on, creative methodologies of design ideation, development and presentation. Supported by inspirational visual content - fashion photography, fashion illustration, sketchbook artwork, technical drawings and infographics - and case studies, the book offers a unique overview of the fashion industry.
The Fashion Book by ISBN: 1838661107Publication Date: 2020-05-08The iconic bestseller - showcasing more than 500 of fashion's greatest names from A- Z - now updated in a stunning new edition Revised and updated, this new edition of Phaidon's iconic global bestseller The Fashion Booktakes a fresh look at the fashion world and the people who created and inspired it. Spanning two centuries, the entire industry is represented: from designers to photographers, editors, creative directors and influencers. Marking significant changes on the fashion landscape, this edition features the new people who have fundamentally shaped the way we see fashion in recent years, including Virgil Abloh, Gosha Rubchinskiy, and Alessandro Michele, influential photographer Petra Collins, designer and contemporary icon Rihanna, and Leandra Medine, alongside fashion pioneers of the previous edition such as Coco Chanel, Issey Miyake, Kate Moss, Erdem, and Richard Avedon. The bestselling - and now updated - classic volume remains a comprehensive and definitive view of the fashion industry today.
The Great Fashion Designers by ISBN: 9781350091603Publication Date: 2020-01-09Over the last 180 years designers have propelled fashion from an elite craft into a cornerstone of popular culture. This brilliantly written guide to the lives and collections of 55 iconic fashion designers draws on the latest academic research and the best of fashion journalism, including the authors' own interviews with designers. Beginning with 19th century couturier Charles Frederick Worth and concluding with the star names of the 2010s, Polan and Tredre detail each designer's working methods and career highlights to capture the spirit of their times. This beautifully illustrated revised edition features five new designer profiles- Hedi Slimane, Raf Simons, Phoebe Philo, Alessandro Michele and Demna Gvasalia. It's also been updated throughout to reflect a fashion world in constant ferment, with designers swapping jobs and fashion houses at unprecedented speed. The industry has expanded into a global phenomenon - and designers have emerged as true celebrities; The Great Fashion Designers explores their passion and flair to show us fashion at its most inspirational.
eBooks, Audio
Books, and Videos from the New York Public Library
Type your keyword in the search box to see a good number of books on the topics, that you can check out online.
_________________________
BOOKS
Fashion Marketing by ISBN: 1138323098Publication Date: 2019-11-20Some of the usual obstacles to modern teachings of marketing are ethnocentricity, the limitation of creative thought by conformity to existing theories, lack of questioning of ethics, and a disconnection from historic events or sociological discourse. This book, in contrast, draws together interdisciplinary approaches from marketing, branding, promotion and critical media studies as tools for understanding the way in which fashion works today, and re-evaluates what makes certain fashion marketing tactics fashionable. Offering a combination of theory and practice, Fashion Marketing and Communication is full of international case studies, practice-based examples and interviews with scholars and practitioners in the fashion and communications industry. Covering subjects including the history of consumerism, fashion marketing, the creative direction of the fashion brand and the use of bloggers and celebrities as marketing tools, this book delineates the opportunities and challenges facing the future of fashion media in the twenty-first century. Examining the last 100 years of marketing and communications, current theory and practice, as well as questions on the ethics of the fashion industry, this broad-ranging and critical text is perfect for undergraduate and postgraduate students of fashion marketing, branding and communication.
Fashion and Materiality by ISBN: 1350057819Publication Date: 2019-10-17Fashion is intimately tied to the material world. With a focus on diverse cultural practices, this book offers new insights into the dynamic relationships between fashion, bodies, and material culture. In a series of original case studies, both historical and contemporary, the collection explores how fashion and clothing affect articulations of body and self, experiences of time and place, and the shaping of social and local/global relationships. With chapters from leading international scholars, Fashion and Materiality takes the reader from the study of clothing and biography, and an early modern "foreign dress" collection, to Chinoiserie clothing in 18th-century Europe and fast fashion production in today's China. The book also examines fashion's role in nation building, and entanglements between fashion and migration across clothing donations for Syrian refugees in Germany and the circulation of "refugee chic" on international fashion runways. Scrutinizing the dense connections between fashion, clothing, materiality, and humanity, the book shows how the material interacts forcefully with the personal and political.
Fashion and Modernism by ISBN: 9781350044494Publication Date: 2018-11-01Art and fashion have long gone hand in hand, but it was during the modernist period that fashion first gained equal value to - and took on the same aesthetic ideals as - painting, film, photography, dance, and literature. Combining high and low art forms, modernism turned fashion designers into artists and vice versa. Bringing together internationally renowned scholars across a range of disciplines, this vibrant volume explores the history and significance of the relationship between modernism and fashion and examines how the intimate connection between these fields remains evident today, with contemporary designers relating their work to art and artists problematizing fashion in their works. With chapters on a variety topics ranging from Russian constructionism and clothing to tango and fashion in the early 20th century, Fashion and Modernism is essential reading for students and scholars of fashion, dress history, and art history alike. Contributors: Patrizia Calefato, Caroline Evans, Ulrich Lehmann, Astrid Söderbergh Widding, Alessandra Vaccari, Olga Vainshtein, Sven-Olov Wallenstein
Artificial Intelligence for Fashion by ISBN: 9781484239308Publication Date: 2018-12-08Learn how Artificial Intelligence (AI) is being applied in the fashion industry. With an application focused approach, this book provides real-world examples, breaks down technical jargon for non-technical readers, and provides an educational resource for fashion professionals. The book investigates the ways in which AI is impacting every part of the fashion value chain starting with product discovery and working backwards to manufacturing. Artificial Intelligence for Fashion walks you through concepts, such as connected retail, data mining, and artificially intelligent robotics. Each chapter contains an example of how AI is being applied in the fashion industry illustrated by one major technological theme. There are no equations, algorithms, or code. The technological explanations are cumulative so you'll discover more information about the inner workings of artificial intelligence in practical stages as the book progresses. What You'll Learn Gain a basic understanding of AI and how it is used in fashion Understand key terminology and concepts in AI Review the new competitive landscape of the fashion industry Conceptualize and develop new ways to apply AI within the workplace Who This Book Is For Fashion industry professionals from designers, managers, department heads, and executives can use this book to learn about how AI is impacting roles in every department and profession.
Fashion Entrepreneurship by ISBN: 1501331612Publication Date: 2019-02-07"This is a useful step-by-step guide for starting your own apparel boutique or online business." Marissa Zorola, University of North Texas, US Written by entrepreneurs, for entrepreneurs, the book explains management, market segmentation, financial statements, cash flow, accessing capital, e-commerce, and omni-channel retailing. A hypothetical business plan that builds with each chapter and examples of business models from Warby Parker, Birchbox, and Etsy, give you a framework for building a successful fashion company. Profiles of entrepreneurs and exercises in a book illustrated with 130 images show you how to apply the process to your own ideas. STUDIO Resources - Study smarter with self-quizzes featuring scored results and personalized study tips - Review concepts with flashcards of terms and definitions - Download sample forms and templates for business plan development - Practice your skills with assignments tailored for each chapter PLEASE NOTE: Purchasing or renting this ISBN does not include access to the STUDIO resources that accompany this text. To receive free access to the STUDIO content with new copies of this book, please refer to the book + STUDIO access card bundle ISBN 9781501334245.
_________________________
BOOKS
Color Forecasting for Fashion by ISBN: 1856698203Publication Date: 2012-01-25Color is a powerful selling tool. It is the first thing to catch the consumer's eye in the shop window. Get the color choice wrong and an entire range can stay on the racks. So, how do colors arrive on the runway or the sales floor and why do different companies all seem to choose similar colors each season? The answer lies in work of the huge color forecasting industry. In this book, Kate Scully and Debra Johnston Cobb look at how the industry has developed and how it works before moving on to look at the skills a colour forecaster employs to draw a color palette together, often 18 to 24 months in advance of the selling season. With case studies that show the industry at work, this book breaks down the forecasting process from how to put together a color palette to color theory, and the way that colors behave and helps you to build the combination of research and intuitive skills that a successful designer or forecaster needs.
Fashion Forecasting by ISBN: 1628925469Publication Date: 2015-09-24How do retailers decide which colors and styles are featured in their stores? What factors influence the patterns, textiles and silhouettes designers show in their collections? These choices are all made with the help of fashion forecasting-a dynamic industry that identifies the trends that influence what people will be wearing in the future. This text provides students with a comprehensive understanding of the forecasting process, from studying fashion innovation and cultural influences to conducting consumer research, exploring how to identify the who, what, where, when and why driving fashion change in our lives. New co-author Divita has revised the structure of each chapter to streamline content and improve the flow of information while discussing timely examples and industry applications. Ultimately, students will learn how to prepare and present their own fashion forecast. Features - Includes 150 color photographs showing current examples - Industry Pro les illustrates the types of job opportunities that exist for students and ground theoretical concepts in real-world application - End-of-chapter summaries, activities, and discussion questions engage students in creative application of concepts New to this Edition - New Chapter 5, Popular Culture and Forecasting, connects the influence of television, music, movies and social media to the rise of trends - Thoroughly updated Chapter 4, now entitled Modern Forecasting Methods, features current forecasters such as Trend Tablet, Perclers Paris, and Nelly Rodi Lab - New You Be The Forecaster feature allows students to apply the skills in each chapter in scenarios that simulate real-world career situations Fashion Forecasting STUDIO - Study smarter with self-quizzes featuring scored results and personalized study tips - Review concepts with flashcards of essential vocabulary - Watch videos that bring chapter concepts to life Teaching Resources - Instructor's Guide with Test Bank provides suggestions for planning the course and using the text in the classroom, supplemental assignments, lecture notes, and sample test questions. - PowerPoint. presentations include images from the book and provide a framework for lecture and discussion PLEASE NOTE- Purchasing or renting this ISBN does not include access to the STUDIO resources that accompany this text. To receive free access to the STUDIO content with new copies of this book, please refer to the book + STUDIO access card bundle ISBN 9781501313172. STUDIO Instant Access can also be purchased or rented separately on BloomsburyFashionCentral.com.
Fashion Forward by ISBN: 9781563679247Publication Date: 2012-04-07Fashion Forward- A Guide to Fashion Forecasting takes a practical approach to fashion forecasting with easy-to-read content and contemporary examples from today's fashion industry. Balancing theory and practice with a trendy, magazine-like layout, the book will provide an overview of fashion forecasting concepts, including trend observation, data collection, and information analysis. The text then takes students through the steps of creating an actual forecast and includes chapters on determining themes, colours, textiles, and silhouettes. A range of student examples and an emphasis on computer presentation techniques guide the student to ultimately assemble and present their own fashion forecast.
Fashion Trends by ISBN: 9781847882936Publication Date: 2011-11-22Exploring the roles of both consumers and industry personnel as product developers, gatekeepers, and promoters of fashion trends, the book demonstrates how and why forecasting is vital to successful product and brand development. Fashion Trends- Analysis and Forecasting covers a wide range of key topics, such as the impact of fashion consumption on the environment, economic development, and socio-cultural change, as well as the impact of social responsibility and the digital consumer on current fashion trends. Designed to aid teaching and learning, each chapter includes key words, summaries, engaging case studies, discussion questions, and suggested class activities. Using this book as a guide, students will develop an understanding of the process, methods, and influence of trend analysis and forecasting for the fashion business, and will be encouraged to think through the core issues creatively. An essential text for students of fashion and design.
The Fashion Forecasters by ISBN: 1350017167Publication Date: 2018-03-08The fashion business has been collecting and analyzing information about colors, fabrics, silhouettes, and styles since the 18th century - activities that have long been shrouded in mystery. The Fashion Forecasters is the first book to reveal the hidden history of color and trend forecasting and to explore its relevance to the fashion business of the past two centuries. It sheds light on trend forecasting in the industrial era, the profession's maturation during the modernist moment of the 20th century, and its continued importance in today's digital fast-fashion culture. Based on in-depth archival research and oral history interviews, The Fashion Forecasters examines the entrepreneurs, service companies, and consultants that have worked behind the scenes to connect designers and retailers to emerging fashion trends in Europe, North America, and Asia. Here you will read about the trend studios, color experts, and international trade fairs that formalized the prediction process in the modern era, and hear the voices of leading contemporary practitioners at international forecasting companies such as the Doneger Group in New York and WGSN in London. Probing the inner workings of the global fashion system, The Fashion Forecasters blends history, biography, and ethnography into a highly readable cultural narrative.
_________________________
WEBSITES
FASHION WINDOWS -- Gives look into the world of fashion.
OFFICE OF TEXTILES AND APPAREL (International Trade Administration) -- The Office of Textiles and Apparel (OTEXA) is dedicated to increasing the international competitiveness of the U.S. fiber, textile, apparel, footwear, and travel goods industries. We do this by undertaking industry analysis, contributing to U.S. trade policy development, participating in trade negotiations and trade promotion, and addressing trade barriers. OTEXA works with other Department of Commerce units and U.S. agencies in developing a public policy environment that advances U.S. competitiveness at home and abroad. A key to the successful efforts of OTEXA and other industry offices is our strong working relationship with trade associations and individual companies within our sectors.
BISONNETTE ON FASHION: A VISUAL DICTIONARY -- The “Fashion Timeline” showcases the Kent State University Museum’s world-class collection of historic fashions. Encompassing over two centuries of fashion history, this exhibition is designed to show the evolution of styles and silhouettes while contextualizing the pieces with relevant political, technological and cultural developments. While the display is a permanent feature at the museum, the individual pieces are rotated frequently so there is always something new to see!
______________________________________
DATABASES/TRAINING VIDEO
- Berg Fashion Library
Comprehensive coverage of world fashion from reference titles, journal articles, ebooks, and images. Access to this resources is provided through Bloomsbury Fashion Central. Please note that Fairchild Books and Fashion Photography Archive content is not included in the Library's subscription. **Patrons should read the Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy of this resource before searching.**
- Business Insights: Essentials
Business Insights provides in depth coverage of businesses, including company profiles, industry profiles, products and brands, financial reports, company rankings, histories and full text periodical articles. Formerly known as Business & Company Resource Center. To access investment reports, instead of choosing "Investment Reports" from the "Companies" dropdown options, you must go to a specific company profile and access the investment reports from the side bar. **Patrons should read the Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy of this resource before searching.**
- First Research
Industry profiles include industry overview, recent developments, business challenges, trends and opportunities, executive insight, call preparation questions, financial and industry ratios, industry forecast, web links, and acronyms. Note: PDFs of First Research industry profiles can be found in Mergent Archives to view, save or print. In Mergent Archives, click the First Research tab. Use copy and paste into Notepad or Word. Save and print functions are not provided in the database.
**Patrons should read the Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy of this resource before searching.** - IBISWorld
IBISWorld is the largest collection of industry and market research including specialized industries for small business research. This database is accessible on computers at the Business Center, not through Wi-Fi. Please note: there is no downloading of IBISWorld reports at the library. Printing of individual sections of reports is currently enabled. **Patrons should read the Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy of this resource before searching.**
- Mintel
Mintel Oxygen Academic is a collection of market research reports on hundreds of segments of the US market. Mintel emphasizes market sizes, shares and trends in innovation with special attention to the underlying data. Users will be asked to create a profile prior to proceeding to the reports. NYPL's subscription is for view only. No printing, no downloading, no copying, no reproduction by any digital device of Mintel content is permitted. **Patrons should read the Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy of this resource before searching.**
- OECD iLibrary
Previously known as SourceOECD, OECD iLibrary is the online library of the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development. This library comprises 20 book collections by theme, containing all of the OECD monographs and reports, 24 periodicals, a reference title, and the OECD statistical databases. **Patrons should read the Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy of this resource before searching.**
- Plunkett Research Online
Industry trends, market research. Attention NYPL cardholders accessing remotely: After connecting to the database next click on the tab "Subscriber Log in" on right of screen to get into the database. **Please remember to click to LOG OUT when done, don't just switch to another database. The library has a limited number of licenses for this database and if you do not log out other library users will not be able to access. **Patrons should read the Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy of this resource before searching.**
- S&P Capital IQ (Standard and Poor's Capital IQ)
Provides in-depth financial information on companies, equities, fixed income, industry reports, SEC filings, interest rates, commodities, screening for stocks and mutual funds and more. Includes publications: S&P Analysts Handbook, S&P Bond Guide, S&P Corporation Records, S&P Stock Reports, Stovall Sectors. Provides sophisticated retrieval tools to create reports. **Patrons should read the Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy of this resource before searching.**
- Vogue Archive
The entire run of Vogue Magazine, in full text and full color, from 1892-present. **Patrons should read the Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy of this resource before searching.**
- Women's Wear Daily Archive (WWD)
Full color, fully searchable, full text version of Women's Wear Daily, from 1910-2015. **Patrons should read the Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy of this resource before searching.**
- LinkedIn Learning (formerly lynda.com)Provides training and information videos on various topics related to fashion design.
