Databases
- Ancestry Library Edition
Access billions of names in thousands of genealogical databases including Census and Vital Records, birth, marriage and death notices, the Social Security Death Index, Passenger lists and naturalizations, Military and Holocaust Records, City Directories, New York Emigrant Savings Bank records, and African American and Native American Records. Library version of Ancestry.com.**Patrons should read the Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy of this resource before searching.**
- HeritageQuestThis genealogical database allows researchers to search U.S. Federal Census records, digitized family and local history books, Revolutionary War Pension and Bounty Land Warrant Application Files and the Freedman's Bank Records (1865-1874), maps, and a wealth of other historical collections and research guides. **Patrons should read the Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy of this resource before searching.**
- Fold3Historical primary documents featuring U.S. city directories, naturalization records, and Revolutionary War Pensions. Collections include: History and Genealogy Archives, African American Archives, Native American Archives, Revolutionary War Archives, US Bureau of Investigation Case File Archives, and World War II Archives. Formerly known as Footnote.com.
**Patrons should read the Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy of this resource before searching.**
Books
The Genealogist's Census Pocket Reference by ISBN: 9781440321450
The New Race Question by ISBN: 0871546574
NYPL Blog Posts and Guides
- Everyone Counts: Using the Census in Genealogy Research by Carmen Nigro, Managing Research Librarian, Milstein Division of U.S. History, Local History & Genealogy
- Genealogy Tips: Searching the Census by Address by Philip Sutton, Milstein Division of U.S. History, Local History & Genealogy
- Guide to the United States Federal Census, New York City Police Census 1890 & New York State Census Records
Subject Headings
- United States -- Census -- Handbooks, manuals, etc.
- United States -- Census.