Industry Reports
NYPL offers free access to many financial databases with industry surveys, analysts reports, industry data, and historical information.
- Business Insights: Essentials
Business Insights provides in depth coverage of businesses, including company profiles, industry profiles, products and brands, financial reports, company rankings, histories and full text periodical articles. Formerly known as Business & Company Resource Center. To access investment reports, instead of choosing "Investment Reports" from the "Companies" dropdown options, you must go to a specific company profile and access the investment reports from the side bar. **Patrons should read the Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy of this resource before searching.**
- Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
The Business Source Complete database includes full text business journals and magazines, covering all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, accounting, banking, finance and more. **Patrons should read the Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy of this resource before searching.**
- First Research
Industry profiles include industry overview, recent developments, business challenges, trends and opportunities, executive insight, call preparation questions, financial and industry ratios, industry forecast, web links, and acronyms. Note: PDFs of First Research industry profiles can be found in Mergent Archives to view, save or print. In Mergent Archives, click the First Research tab. Use copy and paste into Notepad or Word. Save and print functions are not provided in the database.
**Patrons should read the Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy of this resource before searching.** - BMI Country Risk & Industry Research
Provides country risk reports, plus in-depth coverage of 200 markets and 22 industries.
**Patrons should read the Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy of this resource before searching.** - Hoover's
NOTE: No Downloading or emailing of records is enabled for this database. Printing only or PDF profile of an individual company. Directory for company & industry information for 43,000 private & public companies, & 600 industries. **Patrons should read the Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy of this resource before searching.**
- IBISWorld
IBISWorld is the largest collection of industry and market research including specialized industries for small business research. This database is accessible on library computers only at SIBL, not through Wi-Fi. Please note: The terms of access have now changed. There is NO downloading of Ibisworld reports at the library. Printing of individual sections of reports is currently enabled.
- S&P Capital IQ (Standard and Poor's Capital IQ)
Provides in-depth financial information on companies, equities, fixed income, industry reports, SEC filings, interest rates, commodities, screening for stocks and mutual funds and more. Includes publications: S&P Analysts Handbook, S&P Bond Guide, S&P Corporation Records, S&P Stock Reports, Stovall Sectors. Provides sophisticated retrieval tools to create reports (Formerly database title listed was "Standard & Poor's Net Advantage.). **Patrons should read the Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy of this resource before searching.**
Print Resources at NYPL (Reference)
You can also use print resources to research historical information on companies and industries. The following titles are available on request in the Stephen A. Schwarzman research library.
Mergent's Industry Review | JBM 99-889 (1999 - Current)
Standard & Poor's Industry Surveys | JLM 73-748 (1972 - 2011)
Wall Street Transcript | JBM 98-584 (1998 - current) | *ZAN-T6066 (1964 - 1997) | Weekly publication of stockbroker reports on companies and industries.