Research Guides: Real Estate: Professional Associations and Organizations

New York City

NYCHA (New York City Housing Authority) - Public Housing, Section 8 Housing, & Low-income Housing.
NYCHDC (New York City Housing Development Corporation) - Multi-family affordable housing financing, municipal bonds, low-cost mortgages.
NYC HPD (New York City Department of Housing Preservation and Development) - Promoting quality & affordability for the city's housing; maintaining the NYC Housing Connect portal for affordable housing.
Rent Guidelines Board (NYC) - Information on rent control, rent stabilization, legal issues, and news.
StreetEasy - New York City real estate information.
Trulia - Site with info about homes for sale, apartments for rent, neighborhood insights, and real estate markets and trends.
Zillow Real Estate Research - National housing data, reports, presentations.

National

Amerian Housing Survey - The most comprehensive national housing survey in the United States, sponsored by the Department of Housing and Urban Development (HUD) and conducted by the U.S. Census Bureau.
The American Real Estate Society is a research and educational trade organization whose members are from academia as well as the real estate industry. The objectives of the ARES include research and education. They have six real estate journals, an extensive newsletter, a special topic monograph series, and an annual meeting.
American Senior Housing Association - ASHA represents the interests of more than 500 companies involved in the finance, development, and operation of housing for seniors including independent living, assisted living, memory care, and continuing care communities. ASHA provides legislative and regulatory advocacy, research, educational programs, and networking opportunities.
Federal Housing Finance Agency - FHFA provides regulation and oversight of federal housing finance organizations. This website includes research and analysis including the house price index, housing market indicators, market data, public-use data, and research papers.
Mortgage Bankers Association - The MBA is a trade association representing all aspects of the real estate finance industry, with a membership base that includes underwriters, originators, services, and mortgage companies. The MBA publishes the National Delinquency Survey (NDS), and it is the most recognized source for residential mortgage delinquency and foreclosure rates. The Association offers education, training, and information resources to mortgage professionals.
National Association of Affordable Housing Lenders - NAAHL brings together banks, nonprofits, and other private lenders and investors in affordable housing and neighborhood revitalization to share best practices and advocate for supportive public policies.
National Association of Realtors - The National Association of REALTORS® provides members who are residential and commercial real estate brokers, salespersons, appraisers, and others engaged in the real estate industry with educational opportunities and resources to enhance their professional skills. This site provides housing statistics and research reports on market data, commercial, international, home buying, and selling. Publications include reports on international activity in U.S. real estate. This site provides links by the state to local realtors associations. The NAR provides certifications and governs the Multiple Listing Services (MLS).
Nation Low Income Housing Coalition - This national advocacy organization seeks to educate lawmakers and the public about the need for affordable housing, with a goal of preserving existing federally assisted homes and housing resources, expanding the supply of low-income housing, and establishing housing stability as the primary purpose of federal low-income housing. The NLIHC focuses its research and policy analysis on the needs of extremely low-income people.
NFHA (National Fair Housing Alliance) - National organization dedicated to ending discrimination in housing, working to eliminate housing discrimination, and to ensure equal housing opportunity for all people.
NCSHA (National Council of State Housing Agencies) - Nonprofit, nonpartisan organization created by the nation’s state Housing Finance Agencies (HFAs) to coordinate and leverage their federal advocacy efforts for affordable housing.