Primary Law
United States Foreclosure Law - This link provides foreclosure law information by state.
New York Statutes
Free Resources
Foreclosure Resources/ NY Court Help - US Department of Housing and Urban Development
Foreclosure Prevention & Homeowner Rights - Legal Services - LSNYC assists New York City homeowners facing foreclosure. With community-based foreclosure prevention projects in our Bronx, Brooklyn, Queens, and Staten Island offices, our dedicated team of attorneys and advocates provides critical legal services against the rising tide of foreclosure cases filed in our City’s courts. LSNYC attorneys represent homeowners in foreclosure as well as in state and federal court litigation challenging predatory lending, abusive mortgage servicing, and fair housing and lending violations. We represent NYC homeowners in court-mandated settlement conferences, provide legal advice and pro se assistance through court-based clinics, help clients negotiate loan modifications, and do policy advocacy on fair lending and real estate finance issues.
Databases
- WestlawNext Patron AccessWestlawNext Patron Access is an online legal research service designed especially for patron use in government law and public libraries. **Patrons should read the Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy of this resource before searching.**
- PropertyShark
A comprehensive database of real estate information, commercial as well as residential, for all NYC boroughs. This database is accessible only through a virtual consultation with a business librarian **Patrons should read the Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy of this resource before searching.**
Books
The Foreclosure Survival Guide by
Facing foreclosure? Put together a plan. Take action. When you're in foreclosure, there's no time to waste. You need to know your options so you can do what's right for you and your family now. But things have changed since the Great Recession. The Foreclosure Survival Guide has up-to-date developments about: the foreclosure process the 120-day foreclosure waiting period (your most important tool), and new tax consequences associated with short sales and deeds in lieu of foreclosure. After reading the practical advice in The Foreclosure Survival Guide, you'll have the confidence that comes with knowing that you're taking the right steps. You'll learn how to: determine whether you should keep your house find loan workout programs that will help you keep your home apply for a loan workout with your lender bring your loan current in Chapter 13 bankruptcy, and avoid unnecessary costs by filing for Chapter 7 bankruptcy (if you can't stay in your home). Finally, The Foreclosure Survival Guide provides you with the support you'll need throughout the process by posting significant developments on the online legal update page.
Call Number: 346.7304 LISBN: 9781413324389Publication Date: 2017-09-27
The All-New Real Estate Foreclosure, Short-Selling, Underwater, Property Auction, Positive Cash Flow Book by
Praise for How to Sell Your Home Without a Broker "On a scale of 1 to 10, this book is a 10." --Robert Bruss Jump into the real estate game--and win big! Home values are crashing and foreclosures are way up. You might think this is a terrible time to get into the real estate market--but you'd be wrong! A crashing real estate market offers plenty of opportunity to profit, if you know how to change your strategy and adjust to the new market reality. In The All-New Real Estate Foreclosure, Short-Selling, Underwater, Property Auction, Positive Cash Flow Book, top real estate investors and authors Chantal and Bill Carey show you how to get in safely and get out profitably. They present four new strategies for taking advantage of today's high foreclosure rate and explain how to invest for the long-term as the market resets to more realistic levels. Novice investors will find plenty of strategies for profiting without risking all they have, and old hands will find new, unconventional techniques that will help them continue to profit even if the market continues to struggle. Inside, you'll learn how to: Combine short-term and long-term investing strategies for cash flow today and tomorrow Buy mortgages in foreclosure at rock-bottom short-sale prices Avoid dealing with lenders by using the seller as your banker Utilize the right type of real estate auction for your investment needs Maximize your cash flow for big profits now and in the future Prepare yourself to profit from rising prices and near-term inflation Whether you're a first-timer or an experienced real estate pro, this is the ultimate guide to getting into the real estate market safely and cheaply--and getting out rich!
ISBN: 9780470529232Publication Date: 2009-07-15
American Foreclosure: Everything U Need to Know about Preventing and Buying by
The Definitive Foreclosure Guide for Every Homeowner and Investor Whether you're trying to protect your home from foreclosure or invest in foreclosed properties, you still need reliable information and expert advice to protect your investment. Drawn from years of experience helping thousands of borrowers, American Foreclosure covers all the ins and outs of foreclosures, for both homeowners and real estate investors nationwide. Everything U Need to Know..about Foreclosures Preventing foreclosure and avoiding scams Discovering your financial options and risks Understanding the foreclosure process state-by-state Communicating and negotiating with lenders Finding and buying foreclosed properties BONUS CD-ROM FEATURES: Ready-to-print real estate forms, foreclosure prevention resources, plus foreclosure investing tools - including free property listings - and much more!
ISBN: 9780071590594Publication Date: 2008-01-01
Make Money in Short-Sale Foreclosures by
MAKE MONEY IN SHORT-SALE FORECLOSURES Foreclosures are the most profitable way to invest in real estate. But most real estate books on foreclosures don't tell you how to invest in short-sale foreclosures--properties with even more profit potential than regular foreclosures. A short-sale foreclosure is a lender accepting a loan payoff for less than the amount owed. This comprehensive new guide from renowned real estate authors Chantal and Bill Carey covers all the ins and outs of short-sale foreclosure investing, from finding properties to negotiating with lenders, to closing the deal and making a bundle. Inside you'll find all the information you need to succeed: * Finding great short-sale foreclosure deals * Dealing with owners in financial distress * When to buy short-sale foreclosures * Creating equity in foreclosure properties * Writing successful short-sale offers * FHA, VA, and private mortgage insurance short-sales * Purchasing short-sale properties at auction * Understanding escrow, closing, and title insurance * Flipping short-sale properties
ISBN: 9780471760849Publication Date: 2006-04-07
