Skip to Main Content

Getting Started Using The New York Public Library's Research Collections from Home: One City - 3 Systems

This guide is intended for remote users of the research units of The New York Public Library, particularly the Stephen A. Schwarzman Building

There are three separate public library systems in New York City.  Our system, the New York Public Library, serves  the boroughs of The Bronx, Manhattan and Staten Island.  Brooklyn has its own system, as does Queens. 

Each system issues its own library cards, and physical material borrowed from one system must be returned to the same system.  

Images of the logos of the three New York City Public library systems