Research Guides: Slavic and East European Textual E-resources: Newspapers

East View Global Press Archive^® (GPA) is a program that embraces a variety of global news publications, presented in full-image and full-text format. GPA encompasses newspapers in more than 30 languages and will ultimately include titles from over 80 countries. It includes

Imperial Russian Newspapers (33 titles). From the first newspapers established by Peter the Great to the fall of the Romanovs, the Imperial Russian Newspapers collection chronicles 189 years of Russian history. The strength of the collection is in titles published in Saint Petersburg and Moscow.
The Soviet-Era Ukrainian Newspapers collection (5 titles) traces the history of Ukraine from 1899 to 1939 through the pages of titles published in three cities: Kyiv, Kharkiv, and L'viv.
The Local and Independent Ukrainian Newspapers collection (916 titles) traces the history of Ukraine during the early 20th century period of independence, and the events leading up to the Orange Revolution (2004–2005). This database includes local newspapers from over 340 cities and towns—including publications from each of Ukraine’s 27 regions.

Through a separate arrangement, the holders of the NYPL library card have access to four other newspapers that are accessible via East View Global Press Archive^® (GPA). They are listed below:

Literaturnaia Gazeta Digital Archive
Searchable full-text and page images of Literaturnaia gazeta (1929-) a landmark publication in Russia’s cultural heritage which focuses on literary and intellectual life. It is updated once a year. For recent issues see PressReader. **Patrons should read the Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy of this resource before searching.**
Novoe Russkoe Slovo Digital Archive
Searchable full-text and page images of the Russian emigre newspapers Russkoe Slovo (1910-1920) and Novoe Russkoe Slovo (1920-2010) published in New York City. Please note that some years have not yet been digitized. **Patrons should read the Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy of this resource before searching.**
Nowy Dziennik Digital Archive
Nowy Dziennik Digital Archive, part of the East View Global Press Archive, offers news from the U.S. and Poland, press reviews, books, chronicles, editorials, and discussed sports events. **Patrons should read the Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy of this resource before searching.**
Pravda Digital Archive
Searchable full-text and page images of the Russian newspaper Pravda, from its founding in 1912 to 2021. **Patrons should read the Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy of this resource before searching.**

See also: Guide to Open Access Historical News Sources from Slavic, East European, and Eurasian Countries. This online guide aims to provide a handy, country-by-country list of open-access historical news sources produced by the native and diaspora communities.

General News Sources / International

Factiva
Includes content from more than 20,000 news sources, including newspapers, TV transcripts, newswires, and business magazines.
**Patrons should read the Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy of this resource before searching.**
This database is only accessible at the following NYPL locations: Thomas Yoseloff Business Center
Global Newsstream
Search the most recent global news content–with archives that stretch back into the 1980s–from over 2,500 news sources including newspapers, newswires, news journals, television and radio transcripts, blogs, podcasts, and digital-only websites in full-text format. Global Newsstream provides one of the largest collections of news from the U.S., Canada, Europe, Africa, Asia, Latin America, and Australia. **Patrons should read the Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy of this resource before searching.**
PressReader
Provides access to current newspapers from around the world in full-color, full-page format. Includes nearly 7,000 U.S. and international titles. Registering as a user with the site is optional and allows for personalized, saved settings. Patrons should consult PressReader's Terms of Use and Privacy Policy before registering. **Patrons should read the Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy of this resource before searching.**
Please Note: In order to access newspapers and magazines through the PressReader app please follow the steps below: 1. Go to the NYPL Articles & Databases page and access PressReader through our website. Visit https://www.nypl.org/collections/articles-databases/pressreader 2. Sign in with your library card credentials. 3. Locate the green button on the bottom of your screen or device and click Open in app. 4. Download the app. 5. To ensure that you have access in the app, please activate HotSpots. To do this, tap on Settings in the menu > HotSpots > Enable HotSpots.
British Library Newspapers
Searchable full-text digital archive of over 160 historic national, regional, and home country news papers from the British Isles. Includes newspapers covering political or social movements such as Reform, Chartism, and Home Rule, as well as penny papers targeting working and clerical class readers. Dates of Coverage: 1800-1950 **Patrons should read the Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy of this resource before searching.**
The Topic Guide includes essays and biographical information about people, events, and the newspaper industry in Britain during the nineteenth century. For additional background on a specific publication, select "Browse Publications by Location," or click "About this Publication" from your results list after running a search.

General News Sources / USA

Chronicling America
Search and view a large selection of digitized American historical newspaper titles from 1860-1922, or locate microform and print copies of newspapers using the comprehensive "U.S. Newspapers Directory, 1690-the present."
This database is available at all Library locations and outside the Library.
Communist Historical Newspaper Collection (1919-2013)
The ProQuest Communist Historical Newspaper collection provides full-text access to major American communist newspapers. **Patrons should read the Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy of this resource before searching.**
The Daily Worker (1924-1958); The Ohio Socialist (1917-1919); People's Daily World (1986-1990); People's Weekly World (1990-2013); Sunday Worker (1936-1958); The Toiler (1919-1922); The Worker (1922-1924); The Worker (1958-1968)
Ethnic NewsWatch (1959-present)
Collection of ethnic, minority, and native newspapers, magazines, and journals published in America. **Patrons should read the Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy of this resource before searching.**
Newspapers.com
Newspapers.com is the largest online newspaper archive consisting of 300+ million pages of historical newspapers from 11,100+ newspapers from around the United States and beyond, with a special focus on full runs and portions of runs of well-known, regional and state titles in addition to small local newspapers. The collection includes a broad range of dates, mostly covering the 19th and 20th centuries. **Patrons should read the Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy of this resource before searching.**
ProQuest Historical Newspapers
Searchable full-text and page images of all ProQuest Historical Newspaper databases, which include titles related to New York, Chicago, Atlanta, Baltimore, Los Angeles, Washington, D.C., the American Jewish Newspaper Series, and the United Kingdom. **Patrons should read the Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy of this resource before searching.**
This database is only accessible at the following NYPL locations: Stephen A. Schwarzman Building; New York Public Library for the Performing Arts, Dorothy and Lewis B. Cullman Center; Schomburg Center for Research in Black Culture; Thomas Yoseloff Business Center; All Branch Libraries