Skip to Main Content

Slavic and East European Archival Collections: Business

Business

  • Alexander Adiassewich papers ca. 1917-1922 include economic and historical studies on Turkey and Russia, including manuscripts on Turkestan, Caucasian Georgia and Daghestan, the Crimean peninsula, the Cossacks, and cotton growing, the textile industry, and the petroleum industry in Russia.
  • The American Near East and Black Sea Line, Inc., a New York City shipping company doing business as the American Black Sea Line, operated under the direction of Stephen D. Stephanidis from 1921 until its bankruptcy in 1923. The company offered passage and freight services to Romania, Bulgaria, Turkey, and Greece. The collection comprises correspondence and accounts, including lists of tickets sold to passengers, 1922, of A. Apostolidis, manager of the American Black Sea Line office in Bucharest, Romania
  • The Sergei Denham Papers 1918-1936 consist of correspondence, legal, financial, and personal papers that document his life predominantly in the banking world.
  • The Eda Glaser collection consists of professional papers and realia that belonged to her as an owner of Four Continents Book Corporation and includes correspondence, legal and financial documents, photographs, medals, diplomas, and books.
  • Typescript annotated draft of The Story of the Aerostation and Aviation in Russia by Nikolaĭ Sergeevich Karinsky.
  • Mortimer and Anna Neinken collection of antique legal seals 1650-1840. Approximately 13,000 antique legal seals include those of many Polish and some Russian noble families. Of relevance for the economic history of Central Europe in this collection are the papers of the Marburg family from the town of Gorizia on the Italian‐Slovene border, 1728–1855, including a doctor's account book, contracts, receipts, edicts, and customs passes, and items relating to Fiume (Rijeka), 1810–1818. 
  • The Helene Obolensky Papers document her career in fashion, marketing, public relations, and publishing including Helene Obolensky Enterprises, Inc. during the 1970s and 1980s.
  • Edmond Pauker (ca. 1880-1962) was a Hungarian-born literary agent and play broker in New York who represented European, especially Hungarian, playwrights, as well as some American authors. Edmond Pauker's collections (1923-1959, 1910-1957, and additions 1906-1962) consist of Pauker's personal and business papers.
  • Nikola Tesla letters 1895-1915. The collection consists of brief letters, three to Stanford White (1901); three to Benjamin F. Miessner (1915), and two thank-you letters.
  • The Russian Lawyers' Association in the U.S.A. was an organization of émigré Russian lawyers formed to establish contact and cooperation with organizations of American lawyers. The collection consists of letters and other papers, chiefly in Russian, of the association, 1922-1947.
  • Michael Pavlovich Riabouchinsky (1880-1960) was a banker and industrialist from one of Moscow's most powerful families whose papers (1917-1960) consist of correspondence, memoirs, diaries, and memorabilia from Riabouchinsky's years of exile. See Edward Kasinec and Yelena Kogan. “The Unpublished Diaries of Michael P. Riabouchinsky.” Slavic & East European Information Resources 7:2/3 (2006): 81–119.