Edward Alfred Allworth (1920-2016) was a professor of Turco-Soviet Studies in the Middle Eastern and Asian Languages and Cultures Department at Columbia University and a specialist on ethnic minority populations in former Soviet Central Asia.
The papers of Stella Marek Cushing (d. 1938), an American folklorist, consist of journals and letters. She kept the journals as she traveled in Europe in 1928, 1930, and 1934, collecting folk songs, dances, costumes, and other material for lecture-concert programs in the United States. In these travels, she visited Czechoslovakia, Albania, the Soviet Union, Poland, Yugoslavia, Germany, Austria, Hungary, Romania, and elsewhere.
Raymond Cwieka's research materials on the Mazurka and Polonaise 1990s-2008. The research materials are photocopied pages of Russian, Polish, and German dance manuals, with Cwieka's translations and working notes.
Geza Garrison Gaspar (1887- ) was a Hungarian journalist who emigrated to the U.S. in 1920 and worked as a writer and editor. The bulk of the collection is made up of Gaspar's unpublished manuscripts and notebooks (mostly in Hungarian) containing his metaphysical and theoretical writings.
János Eckmann (1905-1971) was a Hungarian scholar of Turkology with a focus on historical linguistics. [The collection was described by Allworth, Edward. "The Papers of Professor János Eckmann (1905-1971), Eminent Central Asianist and Turkologist, in The New York Public Library." Central Asiatic Journal 39, no. 1 (1995): 1-8.]
Amelia Kemper von Ende (1856-1932) was a Polish-born lecturer, writer, translator, and editor who wrote articles for periodicals and presented lecture courses on various topics. Between 1905 and 1922 she lectured in the United States for various women's societies and at academic institutions and published works she had written, edited, or translated.
The George Kennan Collection, given to the Library in 1920, deals with Russia, especially with the revolutionary movement. The manuscript materials consist of transcripts of official documents, lists of political prisoners in Siberia (including now digitized photographs), and a mass of manuscript letters from Russians connected with the emancipatory movement in Russia and from political prisoners in Siberia, not only to Mr. Kennan but to the prisoners' relatives and friends. [See: Yarmolinsky, Avraham. "The Kennan Collection ", The Bulletin of The New York Public Library 25:2 (Feb. 1921): 71-80 -- attached below. See also: Maria Garth, "George Kennan’s Photography Collection of Political Exiles in Labor Camps of Late Imperial Siberia," Journal of Russian and American Studies 6, no. 2 (2022): 120-145]].
Waldemar Jochelson (1855-1937) was a Russian ethnographer known for his studies of the Aleut, Koryak, Yukaghir, and Yakut peoples whose papers consist of ethnological and linguistic materials on the Aleut and Kamchadal peoples which he collected on the ground in the early 20th century. [The collection was described by Avraham Yarmolinsky ("Kamchadal and Asiatic Eskimo Manuscript Collections, A Recent Accession," The Bulletin of The New York Public Library 51, no. 11 (November 1947): 659-669)]
Theodore Koppanyi (1901- ) was a Hungarian emigre and professor of pharmacology, who spent the majority of his career at Georgetown University. He was a pioneer in modern pharmacology, physiology, and cellular biology, and the author of numerous papers on the structure and operation of the eye, in particular, eye transplantation in animals.
Jan Wacław Machajski (1867-1926), [pseudonym A. Volskii] was a Polish sociologist and economist. Manuscript of Machajski's critique of socialism, translated from Polish to Russian by his wife.
Nicholas N. Martinovich (1883-1954) was a Russian-born authority on Ottoman and Turkish art. He taught Oriental languages at the University of Petrograd and after immigrating in 1922 to the U.S. he lectured and taught courses at Columbia University.
Elizabeth Sourtiz was a Russian writer specializing in 19th and early 20th-century dance history in Moscow.
The Vladimir Teteriatnikov Scrapbook Collection 1849-1997 consists of clippings on the professional interests of Vladimir Teteriatnikov as a world expert on Russian icons. It includes his articles, correspondence, photographs, and slides of icons from different collections, and articles from the Russian émigré press in the 1920s-1930s. [See: Edward Kasinec, "Kollektsiia V. M. Teteriatnikova v Nʹiu-Iorskoi publichnoĭ biblioteke", Bibliografiia 5(340) (Sept/Oct. 2005): 153-159.]
Ármin Vámbéry (1832-1913) was a Hungarian Turkologist and traveler. His papers consist of letters to him relating to European and English political events; comments on his "Story of My Struggles"; references to Asian affairs and the "yellow peril"; personals; notes, etc.
Edward Alfred Allworth (1920-2016) was a professor of Turco-Soviet Studies in the Middle Eastern and Asian Languages and Cultures Department at Columbia University and a specialist on ethnic minority populations in former Soviet Central Asia.