Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Digital Marketing Research and Planning For Your Business: What Is Digital Marketing?

This guide presents the concept and application of digital marketing and provides resources to help plan and execute effectively.

Digital marketing is the use of the Internet, mobile devices, social media, search engines, and other channels to reach consumers. 

-- Investopedia

Digital marketing is the component of marketing that utilizes internet and online based digital technologies such as desktop computersmobile phones and other digital media and platforms to promote products and services.

-- Wikipedia 

In a nutshell, digital marketing refers to any marketing methods conducted through electronic devices. This includes online marketing efforts conducted on the internet. In the process of conducting digital marketing, a business might leverage websites, search engines, blogs, social media, video, email and similar channels to reach customers.

-- American Marketing Association

Digital marketing is an all-encompassing term that consists of digital channels, such as content marketing, SEO, email marketing, social media marketing, mobile marketing and so on, to create elaborate strategies to reach and connect with prospects and customers.

-- Toolbox

HELPFUL RESOURCES

_________________________

BOOKS

Cover ArtSee You on the Internet by Avery Swartz 

ISBN: 1989603084

Publication Date: 2020-03-10

In See You on the Internet, Avery Swartz, one of North America's top tech leaders, delivers a fail-safe framework to plan and execute a brilliant digital marketing strategy with confidence. In five simple steps, you will learn to build your brand, increase your customers, and generate more revenue. 

 

Cover ArtOnline or Flatline by Nick Choat 

ISBN: 1945449012

Publication Date: 2017-02-21

In Online or Flatline, Nick Choat offers compelling reasons to get your business online and easy-to-use tools to make it possible: How to set up an attractive webpage How to prioritize your social media efforts How to use review feedback to interact with customers How to optimize your ability to be found on Google How to combine traditional and digital advertising and many more.

 

Cover ArtGet Scrappy by Nick Westergaard 

ISBN: 0814437311

Publication Date: 2016-05-12

Weaving hacks, tips, idea starters, and more, chief brand strategist Nick Westergaard has provided in Get Scrappy a plan of attack for businesses of any size to:* Demystify digital marketing in a way that makes sense for your business* Build a strong brand with something to say* Create relevant and engaging content for your social media platforms* Spark dialogue with your community of customers* Measure what matters* And more.

 

Cover ArtThe Invisible Brand: Marketing in the Age of Automation, Big Data, and Machine Learning by William Ammerman 

ISBN: 1260441253

Publication Date: 2019-06-13

The Invisible Brand provides an in-depth exploration of the risks and rewards of this epochal shift--while delivering the information and insight you need to stay ahead of the game. You'll learn how data and AI will forge a new level of persuasiveness and influence for reshaping consumers' buying decisions. You'll understand the technology behind these changes and see how it is already at work in digital assistants, recommendation engines and digital advertising.

 

_________________________

WEBSITES

HUBSPOT -- Provides expert and educational knowledge on the subject of digital marketing and how it works. Even contains a video tutorial for beginners as well as a downloadable free guide.

INVESTOPEDIA -- Provides easy-to-understand explanation on the definition of digital marketing.

TOOLBOX -- Provides some case studies on how digital marketing has worked for businesses.

 

_________________________

E-BOOKS

Title details for See You on the Internet by Avery Swartz - Wait list

See You on the Internet: Building Your Small Business with Digital Marketing

by Avery Swartz

 

 

 

 

Cover ArtDigital Marketing for Dummies by Ryan Deiss; Russ Henneberry 

ISBN: 1119235650

Publication Date: 2016-12-27

Does your digital marketing pack a punch? Written with the marketer's best interests in mind, this friendly, down-to-earth guide shows you how to use proven digital marketing strategies and tactics to expand the reach of your brand, increase audience engagement, and acquire and monetize customers.

 

Title details for The Digital Marketing Handbook by Robert W. Bly - AvailableThe Digital Marketing Handbook

A Step-By-Step Guide to Creating Websites That Sell

by Robert W. Bly

Written to help marketers—from the Fortune 1000 to small business owners and solopreneurs—turn their websites from cost centers to profit centers, The Digital Marketing Handbook by legendary copywriting pioneer and marketing expert Robert W. Bly teaches you the proven models and processes for generating a steady stream of traffic, conversions, leads, opt-ins, and sales.

 

cover image for: Get scrappy : smarter digital marketing for businesses big aGet scrappy : smarter digital marketing for businesses big and small

Westergaard, Nick

ISBN: 9780814437315

American Management Association, 2016

 


 

Does It Work?Title details for Does It Work? by Shane Atchison - Available

by Shane Atchison
Jason Burby

From POSSIBLE, one of the world's most successful digital marketing agencies, Does Your Marketing Work? reveals 10 easy-to-understand principles for building a higly creative organization that thrives on data. You'll learn how to how to set business goals, inspire great ideas, find the right people, measure what matters, and act on insight. 

 

_________________________________

TRAINING VIDEO/DATABASE

lynda.com Accessible at all NYPL locations and outside the Library with your NYPL card  -- Type "digital marketing" in the search box and you will find a great number of training of videos related to digital marketing. 

e-Marketer Accessible at all NYPL locations and outside the Library with your NYPL card -- Market research reports, data, charts, about anything "e":e-commerce, internet, social media, digital, technology use and adoption,online advertising, mobile, marketing, demographics and more. eMarketer aggregates and analyzes research from 1,700+ sources and produces analyst reports, statistics, and and charting features.**Patrons should read the Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy of this resource before searching.**