Kwame Nkrumah Resource Guide: Further Archival Resources

The Public Records and Archives Administration Department (PRAAD) building at Cape Coast holds a large body of documentary material including printed material, manuscripts, maps, drawings, and photographic collections. The PRAAD can best be described as the memory of the nation – collecting and preserving Ghana Government records that reflect the nation’s history, culture and identity. The collection traces events and decisions that have shaped the nation and the lives of Ghanaians from pre-colonial times to modern day Ghana

The Endangered Archives Program (EAP) captures forgotten and still not written histories, often suppressed or marginalized. It gives voice to the voiceless: it opens a dialogue with global humanity’s multiple pasts. It is a library of history still waiting to be written. The program facilitates the digitization of archives around the world that are in danger of destruction, neglect or physical deterioration. Since 2004, the Program has helped digitize more than thirteen million images and 35,000 sound tracks. Archive types digitized so far include rare printed sources, manuscripts, visual materials, and audio recordings. This continually expanding online collection is available freely through local archival partners, this website and it is discoverable via the British Library catalogue, for research, inspiration and enjoyment.

The American Historical Association (AHA) was founded in 1884 and chartered by Congress in 1889 to serve the interests of the entire discipline of history. Aligning with the AHA's mission, the AHR has been the journal of record for the historical profession in the United States since 1895—the only journal that brings together scholarship from every major field of historical study. The journal also publishes approximately one thousand book reviews per year, surveying and reporting the most important contemporary historical scholarship in the discipline.

This archive reflects on the lost legacy of Ghana's first president, Kwame Nkrumah. Half of the archive was first kept in Howard University in the US and the other half in London and Norwich, pending the availability of appropriate facilities in Ghana to house it. The collections finally came home to the African continent to be temporarily hosted by the Thabo Mbeki Foundation in South Africa on behalf of Ghana, Nkrumah’s motherland until Ghana is ready. The archive will finally go home to Accra.

A project - helmed by historians Benjamin Talton and Jean Allman - to archive post-independence African revolutions, including Kwame Nkrumah's personal and professional papers.

The June Givanni Pan-African Cinema Archive (JGPACA) holds a unique collection of artifacts and archival material, which has at its core the interest of Pan-African cinema and its relationship with Black British cinema and culture. The events and projects reveal ideas in African and African diasporic film.

The African Activist Archive is preserving and making available online the records of activism in the United States to support the struggles of African peoples against colonialism, apartheid, and social injustice from the 1950s through the 1990s.

The collection consists of posters acquired by Immanuel Wallerstein which document liberation movements in numerous African countries.

The project hosts a comprehensive archive on the broader African liberation movement. Currently these archives are fragmented and hosted by various entities at several sites, locally and abroad. This project aims to, in the first instance, develop a single portal to access all the sites, with an overarching search engine across all sites. The ‘Liberation Archives’ will be promoted as a primary source of information of the liberation movement. It could be accessed by the general public for research purposes, including scholars and students who regularly need such information for projects. Similarly, it will be geared to be used as a source of information for public promotion and civic information purposes.

Columbia University Libraries is a globally-recognized academic research library, serving one of the world's most important centers of research and learning. The Libraries build, sustain, and make discoverable collections that transcend traditional boundaries of format and domain, keeping pace with a dynamic and rapidly evolving information environment and creating unique opportunities for users to encounter global thought. The collections include over 15 million volumes, with access to over 7 million online electronic resource titles, nearly 300,000 linear feet of manuscripts and archives, over 150,000 maps, and over 1.2 million graphic and audio-visual materials.