Kwame Nkrumah Resource Guide: Photographs and Prints Division

Portraits of Ghana president and author Kwame Nkrumah. Collection includes views of Nkrumah speaking at the U.N., celebrating in front of Parliament House as Ghana became independent, touring Harlem and receiving flowers, honoring Mahatma Ghandi's grave, broadcasting a speech, with Rose Morgan and meeting Obafemi Awolowo. Full and half length portraits are included.

The collection consists of individual portraits of Williams; candid shots of Williams with family and friends; candid shots and views with Williams at public events, ceremonies, tours and meetings; candid shots and views of Williams's wife Shirley attending public and official functions; studio portraits of government officials and public figures; group portraits and views of visiting dignitaries and guests, volunteer groups, military personnel and Ghanaian civilians during public events.

Of note are views of the 1957 NAACP Freedom Fund Dinner at the Hotel Roosevelt, New York City, that include Williams, baseball players Jackie Robinson and Hank Aaron, and NAACP Director Roy Wilkins; Williams, often depicted with Peace Corps Director Sargent Shriver, during missions to Italy, Burma and West Africa (1961-1963); Williams presenting his ambassadorial credentials to Ghanaian President Kwame Nkrumah in Accra (1966); the opening ceremonies of the Ghana International Trade Fair, in Accra (1967); Williams, in tribal chieftain attire, being carried aloft by Ghanaian villagers (1968); and Williams, with other travelers, during the Phelps-Stokes Fund's "Distinguished Visitors to Africa" tour of West Africa (1977).

Individual and group portraits of political activist and educator Alphaeus Hunton. The collection includes individual candid portraits of Hunton; Hunton, with his wife, Dorothy, leaving for Africa (1960); a view of Hunton speaking at the Paul Robeson concert in Peekskill, New York (1949); dancing with children at the Palace of Pioneers in Leningrad, the Soviet Union (1959); taking part in a picket outside the South African Consulate (1952); and addressing a gathering at the Abyssinian Baptist Church, in Harlem, with Paul Robeson, Rev. Shelton Hale Bishop of St. Philip's Episcopal Church and Abyssinia pastor Rev. Adam Clayton Powell, Sr. in attendance.

Also included are group portraits of Hunton with Professor D.A. Oĺderogge of Leningrad University (n.d.); meeting Dr. Nnamdi Azikiwe, the Premier of Eastern Nigeria (1959); with Dorothy Hunton, Paul Robeson and W.E.B. Du Bois (n.d); and at an unidentified gathering with Shirley Du Bois, Ghanaian President Kwame Nkrumah and Essie Robeson.

Collection depicts the activities of Pan-African, black liberation and cultural movements, local civil rights activities, and political and entertainment figures, from the late 1950s to the mid-1990s, with the majority of the images dating from the late 1970s to mid-1990s. Many events depicted are in the New York City area, though some areas outside of New York, including parts of Africa, are represented. The collection consists of portraits and views of heads of state, political activists and entertainers; views of fashion models; views of rallies and protest marches; visits by foreign dignitaries; meetings; presentation ceremonies; musical performances; and views of an inauguration ceremony.

The political and social movements series depicts some of the individuals and activities associated with Pan-African, black liberation, black consciousness and civil rights groups in the United States, as well as some political events occuring in Africa, from the 1960s to the mid-1990s. Of note are views of a meeting of the African Nationalist Pioneer Movement (New York City) attended by visiting SWAPO leader Sam Nujoma (1960); views of various anti-apartheid demonstrations and marches in New York City (late 1970s-mid-1980s); views of activities held by supporters of bias-attack victim Tawana Brawley (1987-1988); and views of a Pan-African congress meeting in Conakry, Guinea (1977). Also depicted are views of South African citizens, visiting dignitaries and President-elect Nelson Mandela at his inauguration ceremonies in Pretoria (1994). Among the individuals depicted in this series include black nationalist Queen Mother Moore; Captain Thomas Sankara, President of Burkina Faso, during his visit to the United States to address a session of the United Nations (1986); and activist Elombe Brath, Brathwaite's brother and chairman of the Patrice Lumumba Coalition.

Julian Hudson Mayfield (1928-1984) was an author, playwright, actor, educator and political activist. He wrote numerous articles for leftist and black nationalist publications; and he founded the African Review in the early 1960s. Mayfield served as a political aide to President Kwame Nkrumah of Ghana (1962-1966) and Prime Minister Forbes Burnham of Guyana (1971-1974). The collection includes a group of studio and candid portraits of various individuals such as actress Ruby Dee, Ghanaian president Kwame Nkrumah, Guinean president Sékou Touré, writer Eugenia Collier, revolutionary nationalist Robert F. Williams, and a series of contact sheets and wedding pictures of American-expatriate artist and writer Tom Feelings.