Further Research
This section has resources for further research, including databases, research guides, and links.
Search the databases below for articles on LGBTQ+ Jewish topics. See also the Historical Publications section of this guide for historical LGBTQ+ Jewish periodicals and archives.
Explore the research guides to find more resources and search strategies.
Visit the links to connect with LGBTQ+ and Jewish communities and resources.
Need research help? Contact us at dorotjewish@nypl.org
Image: Author Martin Duberman, namesake of the Martin Duberman Visiting Fellowship at NYPL, for scholars in LGBTQ+ Studies.
Databases
Image: Sylvia Rivera in front of fountain, 1970. Photograph by Kay Tobin. Image 1605890, NYPL Manuscripts and Archives Division.
- Alternative Press Index
The Alternative Press Index indexes more than 300 alternative, radical, and left publications that report and analyze the practices and theories of cultural, economic, political, and social change.**Patrons should read the Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy of this resource before searching.**
- Alternative Press Index Archive This link opens in a new window
An index to alternative press published in the United States and around the world. **Patrons should read the Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy of this resource before searching.**
- Archives of Sexuality and Gender
Contains 51 digitized archival collections exploring LGBTQ history and culture since 1940. Includes three collections held by NYPL: The Mattachine Society of New York Records, 1951-1976; Gay Activists Alliance, 1970-1983; and ACT UP: The AIDS Coalition to Unleash Power. Other collections originate from institutions like the Lesbian Herstory Archives and the Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual, and Transgender Historical Society. **Patrons should read the Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy of this resource before searching.**
- ATLA Religion Database with ATLA Serials
ATLA Religion Database with ATLA Serials provides the full-text access to major religion and theology journals. ATLA Religion Database with ATLA Serials contains full-text journals in English and other major European languages, and covers all aspects of religion. **Patrons should read the Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy of this resource before searching.**
- Ethnic NewsWatch (1959-present)
Collection of ethnic, minority, and native newspapers, magazines, and journals published in America. **Patrons should read the Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy of this resource before searching.**
- Index to Jewish Periodicals
Index to Jewish Periodicals is the definitive index on Jewish history, activity and thought. This database provides a comprehensive guide to English-language articles, book reviews, and feature stories in more than 160 journals devoted to Jewish affairs. **Patrons should read the Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy of this resource before searching.**
- LGBT Life with Full Text
LGBT Life provides complete indexing and abstracting of content related to gay, lesbian, bisexual and transgender studies in over 230 journals, magazines, and newspapers. LGBT Life also provides full text from a number of important sources including monographs and publications such as The Advocate, New York Blade, and Out. **Patrons should read the Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy of this resource before searching.**
- LGBT Magazine ArchiveLGBT Magazine Archive offers digital access to the backfiles of many of the most influential, long-running periodicals devoted to LGBT interests, including The Advocate, Gay News, and The Pink Paper. This collection offers primary source insights into myriad aspects of LGBT history and culture, from the 1950s to recent times.
- RAMBI - Index of Articles on Jewish StudiesA selective bibliography of academic articles covering all of the fields of Jewish studies as well as the study of Eretz Israel and the State of Israel.
LGBTQ+ Research Guides
Photograph of Stonewall Inn by Diana Davies. Image 1582254, Manuscripts and Archives, NYPL
General Links
"Do you know what causes the rainbow?" Image 1519595, George Arents Collection, NYPL