Text Studies
What does it mean to read, create and (re)interpret traditional texts from a queer perspective? The publications featured here explore being LGBTQ+ in Judaism and in conversation with other faiths and scholarly disciplines.
Want to find more? Try these subject headings in the catalog and databases below.
Homosexuality -- Religious Aspects
Gender nonconformity -- Religious aspects
Sexual orientation -- Religious aspects
Image: Olives are a symbol of peace, light and healing in many faiths. Image by François André Michaux, Image 1263419, NYPL Digital Collections.
- ATLA Religion Database with ATLA Serials
ATLA Religion Database with ATLA Serials provides the full-text access to major religion and theology journals. ATLA Religion Database with ATLA Serials contains full-text journals in English and other major European languages, and covers all aspects of religion. **Patrons should read the Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy of this resource before searching.**
- Index to Jewish Periodicals
Index to Jewish Periodicals is the definitive index on Jewish history, activity and thought. This database provides a comprehensive guide to English-language articles, book reviews, and feature stories in more than 160 journals devoted to Jewish affairs. **Patrons should read the Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy of this resource before searching.**
- RAMBI - Index of Articles on Jewish StudiesA selective bibliography of academic articles covering all of the fields of Jewish studies as well as the study of Eretz Israel and the State of Israel.
Text Studies
Balancing on the mechitza : transgender in Jewish community by ISBN: 1583949712Publication Date: 2010
The coming of Lilith : essays on feminism, Judaism, and sexual ethics, 1972-2003 by ISBN: 9780807096734Publication Date: 2005
Jacob's Wound: homoerotic narrative in the literature of ancient Israel by ISBN: 0826417124Publication Date: 2005
Keep Your Wives Away from Them: Orthodox Women, Unorthodox Desires by ISBN: 9781556438790Publication Date: 2010
Like Bread on the Seder Plate: Jewish Lesbians and the Transformation of Tradition by ISBN: 0231096607Publication Date: 1997
The passionate Torah: sex and Judaism by Publication Date: 2009- Queering the text : biblical, medieval, and modern Jewish stories by Publication Date: 2010
A Rainbow Thread: an anthology of queer Jewish texts from the first century to 1969 by ISBN: 9780990515562Publication Date: 2019
The Soul of the Stranger: reading God and Torah from a transgender perspective by ISBN: 9781512600667Publication Date: 2018
Torah Queeries: weekly commentaries on the Hebrew Bible by ISBN: 9780814720127Publication Date: 2009
Trans Talmud: androgynes and eunuchs in rabbinic literature by ISBN: 9780520382053Publication Date: 2022
Intersections
Living and loving in diversity : an anthology of Australian multicultural queer adventures by ISBN: 9781743055953Publication Date: 2018- A Place to Start: toward an unapologetic gay liberation theology by ISBN: 093038315XPublication Date: 1989
The Shape of Sex: nonbinary gender from genesis to the renaissance by ISBN: 9780231195508Publication Date: 2021- Wrestling with the Angel: faith and religion in the lives of gay men by ISBN: 1573220035Publication Date: 1995
Community Liturgy
- Am tikva : Shabbat servicePublication Date: 1979
- Birkat ha-mazon = Thanksgiving after meals. byPublication Date: 198-?
- Gay peoples hagadahPublication Date: 1975
- A Jewish Lesbian Chanukah : prayers for lighting Chanukah candles byPublication Date: 1979
- Mishkan ga'avah : where pride dwells byPublication Date: 2020
- A new Haggadah : a Jewish lesbian seder byPublication Date: 1987
- On lesbian invisibility : a midrash for Shavuos byPublication Date: 1986, c1980
- Pesach byPublication Date: 1984
- Shabbat evening service : with z'mirot and havdalah. byPublication Date: 1978
- Siddur Davar Hadash (Inclusive Siddur Project) byPublication Date: 2022
- Ushpizin/ata, Sukkot 5782 byPublication Date: 2021