Historical Publications
LGBTQ+ activism is an essential part of our history, and an inspiration for today and tomorrow. This section features historical materials--such as newsletters, books, and archives--specifically documenting the history and activities of LGBTQ+ Jewish communities.
Looking for historical information on individuals? Visit the Life Stories section of this guide.
Looking for more historical publications? Search the databases below.
Image: Barbara Gittings on a panel with psychiatrist Albert Biele at the Golden Slipper Club, a Jewish philanthropic group in Philadelphia. January 1972. Photo by Kay Tobin Lahusen, Image 1606100, NYPL Digital Collections.
- Archives of Sexuality and GenderContains 51 digitized archival collections exploring LGBTQ history and culture since 1940. Includes three collections held by NYPL: The Mattachine Society of New York Records, 1951-1976; Gay Activists Alliance, 1970-1983; and ACT UP: The AIDS Coalition to Unleash Power. Other collections originate from institutions like the Lesbian Herstory Archives and the Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual, and Transgender Historical Society. **Patrons should read the Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy of this resource before searching.**
- LGBT Life with Full TextLGBT Life provides complete indexing and abstracting of content related to gay, lesbian, bisexual and transgender studies in over 230 journals, magazines, and newspapers. LGBT Life also provides full text from a number of important sources including monographs and publications such as The Advocate, New York Blade, and Out. **Patrons should read the Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy of this resource before searching.**
- LGBT Magazine ArchiveLGBT Magazine Archive offers digital access to the backfiles of many of the most influential, long-running periodicals devoted to LGBT interests, including The Advocate, Gay News, and The Pink Paper. This collection offers primary source insights into myriad aspects of LGBT history and culture, from the 1950s to recent times.
Synagogue and Community Life
Changing Lives, Making History: Congregation Beit Simchat Torah : the first forty years by ISBN: 9780979400919Publication Date: 2014
LGBTQ+ Jewish Archives
LGBTQ+ Archives
Image: Marsha P. Johnson hands out flyers for support of gay students at N.Y.U., 1970. Photo by Diana Davies. Image 1582220, NYPL Manuscripts and Archives Division.
LGBTQ+ Jewish Periodicals
- Am tikva: Voice of Boston's community of Lesbian and gay Jews byPublication Date: 1982
- CBC newsletter byPublication Date: 1985-1989
- CBST : Congregation Beth Simchat Torah : [newsletter].Publication Date: 2000-
- ChutzpahPublication Date: Australia, 1975
- Congregation Beth Simchat TorahPublication Date: 1975-
- Digest/World Digest: World Congress of Georgia & Lesbian Jewish OrganizationsPublication Date: 1983-
- G'vanim byPublication Date: 1986-2008
- Gay & lesbian synagogue news byPublication Date: 1987-2002
- Gay synagogue news. byPublication Date: 1980-1986
- Ha'Yonah/the dove : the newsletter of Congregation Ahavat Shalom.Publication Date: 1986
- Havurat Achayot : Chicago's Jewish lesbian congregation.Publication Date: 1983
- Israel update / Society for the Protection of Personal Rights.Publication Date: Tel Aviv : Society for the Protection of Personal Rights, 1990-
- The Jewish gaily forward / Congregation Shaʻar Zahav.Publication Date: 1986-2017
- LiberatorPublication Date: Tel-Aviv, Israel : Society for the Protection of Personal Rights, 1977-
- Maga'im byPublication Date: Tel Aviv
- Nativ Nosaf = Another/Alternative pathPublication Date: Tel Aviv : ha-Agudah li-shemirat zekhuyot ha-peraṭ, 1991-3
- Sjalhomo byPublication Date: 1984-1985