Research Guides: Local Demographics: Library Databases

Databases

Infoshare Online
Provides a wide range of data on the neighborhoods of New York City -- population, immigration, land use, public assistance, birth, death, hospitalization and much else. **Patrons should read the Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy of this resource before searching.**
This database is only accessible at the following NYPL locations: Stephen A. Schwarzman Building; New York Public Library for the Performing Arts, Dorothy and Lewis B. Cullman Center; Schomburg Center for Research in Black Culture; Thomas Yoseloff Business Center; Stavros Niarchos Foundation Library (SNFL)
LinkedIn Learning (formerly lynda.com)
LinkedIn Learning, formerly known as Lynda.com, is an online educational site that features thousands of courses and video tutorials where you can discover, complete, and track courses related to your field and interests. Users will need to create accounts in order to track course progress, create playlists of potential coursework, and keep course notes. Patrons should refer to LinkedIn's Privacy Policy and Website Use Policy before starting.

To log in, please click on "Get Started" and enter your NYPL library card number or username and your PIN.
Please note that you can only access course content through the NYPL's LinkedIn Learning login page, and not by directly visiting the LinkedIn Learning homepage. Also note that NYPL's LinkedIn Learning accounts are now accessible through mobile devices and applications. For Mobile users: 1. Download the LinkedIn Learning app from Google Play / App Store. 2. Open the app. 3. Select - "Sign In." 4. Select "Sign in with your library card." 5. You'll be prompted to "Enter your Library ID." Tap on the box and enter "nypl" (all lowercase, no quote marks). 6. Use your NYPL library card number or username and PIN and click on "Continue." First time users will be prompted to select topics of interest.
Mergent Intellect
Mergent Intellect is an expansive directory database that includes more than 100 million private US, Canadian and global businesses, more than 6000 US public companies and over 200 million residents and local businesses, with previous addresses and allowing for reverse telephone lookups. It has job search and executive search capabilities and a multifaceted advanced search functionality. It also includes census data by zip code. **Patrons should read the Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy of this resource before searching.**
Neighborhood Change Database (NCDB) This link opens in a new window
NCDB allows users to compile census tract data from the Long Form results of the US Censuses for 1970, 1980, 1990, 2000 and 2010. That data includes population, household, and housing characteristics, income, poverty status, education level, employment, housing costs, immigration, and other variables. The database's distinctive feature is the normalization of data to the latest tract boundaries. Original boundaries can be accessed one census at a time. It is most useful if users already know their tract numbers.
Please note: you must speak with a staff member to access this database, as it requires a staff member to log in. **Patrons should read the Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy of this resource before searching.**
This database is only accessible at the following NYPL locations: Thomas Yoseloff Business Center
Reference Solutions
New Name: REFERENCE SOLUTIONS. Provides addresses, sales information, executives, for over 11 million U.S. and access to Marketing/Demographics modules. **Patrons should read the Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy of this resource before searching.**Temporary Offsite Access is available to NYPL Card Accounts. See link under DATABASES-ENHANCED OFFSITE ACCESS on this page.
SimplyAnalytics
SimplyAnalytics includes thousands of demographic, business, and marketing data variables. **Patrons should read the Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy of this resource before searching.**
Temporary Offsite Access is available to NYPL Card Accounts. See link under DATABASES-ENHANCED OFFSITE ACCESS on this page.
Statista This link opens in a new window
-subscription database which provides statistical data for 170+ industries including market and consumer data and reports.
Special Note: You can sign up for a virtual consultation with a business librarian if you have additional questions.

Databases-Enhanced Offsite Access

The databases listed below are provided by the New York Public Library for licensed for offsite use by New York Public Library card holders by agreement with the database providers.

Mergent Intellect [https://www.nypl.org/research/collections/articles-databases/mergent-intellect] - is an expansive directory database that includes more than 100 million private US, Canadian and global businesses, more than 6000 US public companies and over 200 million residents and local businesses, with previous addresses and allowing for reverse telephone lookups. In the DEMOGRAPHICS module, U.S. census data by zip code and CLARITAS DEMOGRAPHIC REPORTS are also available. Searches for consumer psychographics can be performed in the CONSUMER DATA module. Current New York Public Library Card account is required for offsite access.
Plunkett Research Online [https://www.nypl.org/collections/articles-databases/plunkett-research-online]-Industry trends,market research and trends organized in 32 industry research centers. Find statistics, industry data, company contacts, organizations, market trends and more. Also, see the new research center for job seekers. Current New York Public Library Card account is required for offsite access.
To Connect to the database, click on the SUBSCRIBER LOG IN button the right side of the screen access the database.
** Please remember to click on the LOG OUT button when finished using this database before proceeding to another library database as a courtesy to other library users.**.
SimplyAnalytics [https://www.nypl.org/collections/articles-databases/simplymap]-database which allows the user to create interactive maps, charts, and reports using data variables for consumer population or business categories.
Current NYPL Card account is required for offsite access. Create a user account within the database to save your work.
**Patrons should read the Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy of this resource before searching.**
Reference Solutions (formerly ReferenceUSA) [https://www.nypl.org/collections/articles-databases/reference-usa]-In the U.S. Consumers/Lifestyles and Homeowners/New Movers modules of this database search for population segments by geography, home ownership, lifestyle consumer behavior categories. Current New York Public Library Card account is required for offsite access.