|
Further Reading Beyond magazines, the General Research Division has many books about magazines and their histories. Subject areas include:
|
Books About Magazines
All About Mags by
Magazines are an important visual communication media in the world today. All About Mags aims to introduce excellent magazines around the world. This book features four parts, namely, life, art & design, fashion and photography. Each magazine introduced in the book stands out for its eye-catching, design, layout, font system as well as its distinctive publishing philosophy. This book is a window into a kaleidoscope of the magazine world, offering a glimpse into the format and ideas of each magazine featured.
Call Number: JFF 15-1353Publication Date: 2014
Magazines That Make History by
"Magazines that Make History is candy for the eye, food for the brain, and a well of knowledge for anyone with hunger and thirst for the magazine world--a must have, must read."--Samir Husni, Hederman Lecturer and professor of journalism, University of Mississippi "This is important magazine history, but more than that, it is cultural history. . . . You've loved these magazines, and now you can get inside them and learn about the people who made and make them. You will not be able to put this book down."--Don Ranly, School of Journalism, University of Missouri This is a book of fundamental importance to all who are passionate about journalism, for those who choose to make it a profession or study and teach it, as well as for those who are simply interested in knowing something about the origin and evolution of the most influential and successful magazines in the world. Angeletti and Oliva examine and analyze in detail those international publications that have revolutionized the magazine marketplace in the 20th century, some because they created a niche for themselves and others because they created a new style, offered key innovations, or generated a phenomenon that continues to be relevant today in modern journalism. Over 2,000 specially selected color photographs illustrate the accounts of eight periodicals--Time, Der Spiegel, Life, Paris Match, National Geographic, Reader's Digest, #65533;Hola!, and People. The authors reveal the opportunities these innovators recognized and on which they capitalized, how each built and shaped a vision into a successful publication, the key personalities instrumental to their innovations and evolution, how they dealt with their competitors, and how each operates today--from editorial philosophy and story meetings to the way the cover is put together. The account of each periodical is lavishly illustrated with reproductions of stories and covers that, today, stand as outstanding examples of the art and craft of magazine journalism. From the March 3, 1923, inaugural issue of Time (with an entirely speculative printing of 9,000 copies) to the September 24, 2001, issue of People that sold over 4 million copies, this book opens up the medium that has done more than perhaps any other to shape our understanding of the events, stories, and personalities of the last hundred years. Norberto Angeletti is an executive editor at _Clarin_ newspaper. Alberto Oliva is currently editor-in-chief of Ser Padres You can learn more about the book at the author's web site, http://www.magazineshistory.com
Call Number: JFF 06-85Publication Date: 2004
The Modern Magazine by
The last ten years of magazine publishing have been a period of rapid innovation, providing a vital record of the era's diverse visual trends.The Modern Magazine features the best editorial design, looking in particular at how magazines have adapted to respond to digital media. Encompassing mainstream and independent publishing, and graphic and editorial design,The Modern Magazine explores the issues now facing the industry, examining changes to the basic discipline of combining text and image for the global, Internetsavvy consumer. The book looks at key developments in the field, interviewing a broad range of specialists to discover their understandings of the current state of the industry and how different areas of publishing influence each other. Incorporating great visuals and genuine insight into the process of their creation,The Modern Magazine chronicles these exciting changes, providing a resource for designers, with interviews with major figures, summaries of new developments and trends, links to blogs, and more.
Call Number: *R-RMRR Z286.P4 L47 2013Publication Date: 2013
Print Is Dead. Long Live Print by
This book is a dynamic and generously illustrated survey of independent publications that are breathing new life into old media. While magazines such as Spin and The Face have disappeared from newsstands and mailboxes, non-traditional periodicals with names like Boneshaker, Lucky Peach, Anorak, WRAP, and Kinfolk are taking their places on shelves and coffee tables everywhere. Print is Dead. Long Live Print is an eye-opening look into the explosion of independent, creatively led magazines that are currently shaping the future of print journalism. It showcases over 50 examples of innovative magazines from around the globe. The book divides the magazines into genres, including art and culture, travel, sports, and style. Each periodical is represented by selected spreads and newly commissioned photography, along with a brief introductory text. Interviews with editors, art directors, and founders from each magazine offer background information as well as insight into why they decided to start their publications and the challenges they face. A directory at the back lists dozens more magazines worth investigating. This paean to the printed word is filled with creativity and innovation as well as hope for the future of print media.
Call Number: JFF 15-367Publication Date: 2015
The Routledge Handbook of Magazine Research by
Scholarly engagement with the magazine form has, in the last two decades, produced a substantial amount of valuable research. Authored by leading academic authorities in the study of magazines, the chapters in The Routledge Handbook of Magazine Research not only create an architecture to organize and archive the developing field of magazine research, but also suggest new avenues of future investigation. Each of 33 chapters surveys the last 20 years of scholarship in its subject area, identifying the major research themes, theoretical developments and interpretive breakthroughs. Exploration of the digital challenges and opportunities which currently face the magazine world are woven throughout, offering readers a deeper understanding of the magazine form, as well as of the sociocultural realities it both mirrors and influences. The book includes six sections: -Methodologies and structures presents theories and models for magazine research in an evolving, global context. -Magazine publishing: the people and the work introduces the roles and practices of those involved in the editorial and business sides of magazine publishing. -Magazines as textual communication surveys the field of contemporary magazines across a range of theoretical perspectives, subjects, genre and format questions. -Magazines as visual communication explores cover design, photography, illustrations and interactivity. -Pedagogical and curricular perspectives offers insights on undergraduate and graduate teaching topics in magazine research. -The future of the magazine form speculates on the changing nature of magazine research via its environmental effects, audience, and transforming platforms.
Call Number: *R-RMRR PN4832 .R68 2015Publication Date: 2015
We Love Magazines by
We Love Magazines explores magazines and magazine culture with groundbreaking visuals and editorial contributions from around the world. The book features in-depth analysis of various aspects of magazine creation while, as the title reflects, celebrating with genuine pleasure a medium that continues to entertain, inform and surprise. We Love Magazines also contains the most comprehensive directory ever compiled of 1,100 international pop culture magazines and the shops in which to buy them. In addition, readers are introduced to ten pioneering, independent magazines that have created their own chapters for the book.
Call Number: JFE 16-323Publication Date: 2007
Coverjunkie magazine
Published in 2012… 96 pages jam-packed with the best covers and interviews with the most ace magazine designers like – Arem Duplessis (New York Times Mag) – Richard Turley (Bloomberg Businessweek) – Matt Willey (Port Magazine) – Rodrigo Sanchez (Metropoli) – Francesco Franchi (IL) – Robert Newman (Readers Digest) & magazine legend George Lois (Esquire) - From https://coverjunkie.com/magazine/
Call Number: JFN 12-5Publication Date: 2012
Inside Magazines: Independent Pop Culture Magazines by
Inside magazines is a visual record of the recently emerged publishing niche located in between the world of underground 'zines' and that of mass-market magazines, those publications that fall under the broad cultural canopy of art, music, fashion, design and youth culture. The book does not simply reproduce the individual ideas laid out in such magazines, but also sets in motion a dialogue between them, presenting a number of autonomous projects created specifically for inside magazines contributed by the creators of some of the publications featured in the book. It is therefore not simply a catalogue of magazines, but also a collection of historical essays, artist projects, mini-magazines and interviews.
Call Number: JFF 02-4919Publication Date: 2002
Pulp Art by
The first book to feature the original paintings created for American pulp magazine covers, this unique reference offers an authoritative text, historical surveys, vintage letters, 125 full-page images, and much more.
Call Number: 9-NAZ 99-9864Publication Date: 1997
روى جلدهاى مرتضى مميز : کتاب، نشريه (Morteza Momayez's Cover Design: Book, Magazine) by
Morteza Momayez (1936-2005) was an Iranian graphic designer based in Tehran, renowned for his contributions to posters, book covers, logos, and publications. This collection showcases the distinctive book and magazine covers, offering a glimpse into the creative legacy of this influential figure in Iranian graphic design.
Call Number: NC998.6.I7 M86 2012gPublication Date: 2012
Mag Men by
For more than fifty years, Walter Bernard and Milton Glaser have revolutionized the look of magazine journalism. In Mag Men, Bernard and Glaser recount their storied careers, offering insiders' perspective on some of the most iconic design work of the twentieth century. The authors look back on and analyze some of their most important and compelling projects, from the creation of New York magazine to redesigns of such publications as Time, Fortune, Paris Match, and The Nation, explaining how their designs complemented a story and shaped the visual identity of a magazine. Richly illustrated with the covers and interiors that defined their careers, Mag Men is bursting with vivid examples of Bernard and Glaser's work, designed to encapsulate their distinctive approach to visual storytelling and capture the major events and trends of the past half century. Highlighting the importance of collaboration in magazine journalism, Bernard and Glaser detail their relationships with a variety of writers, editors, and artists, including Nora Ephron, Tom Wolfe, Gail Sheehy, David Levine, Seymour Chwast, Katherine Graham, Clay Felker, and Katrina vanden Heuvel. The book features a foreword by Gloria Steinem, who reflects on her work in magazines and her collaborations with Bernard and Glaser. At a time when uncertainty continues to cloud the future of print journalism, Mag Men offers not only a personal history from two of its most innovative figures but also a reminder and celebration of the visual impact and sense of style that only magazines can offer.
Call Number: JFF 20-1249Publication Date: 2019
MagCulture by
magCulture explores the very latest trends and creative design styles in contemporary magazines from around the world. Its scope ranges from mass marketed to experimental titles and includes 'Dazed & Confused' (UK), 'Eat' (Japan), 'Sony Style' (US) and 'Domus' (Italy). After Jeremy Leslie's introductory overview of the state of magazines, five illustrated essays follow all written by prominent figures in the field, focusing on consumer magazines, supplements, independent 'microzines' and webzines. The main section is made up of examples of over 100 innovative international magazines, starting with front covers, moving through contents pages and navigation to the features pages. Short interviews, essays and comment pieces focus on key themes such as logo design, Japanese magazines, French fashion magazines and branding.
Call Number: JQZ 13-866Publication Date: 2003
中文期刊版式全攻略 / 时空意匠工作室王阳, 萧兰编著 (Practical guide to design and layout of Chinese magazine) by Call Number: Z246 .W36 2006Publication Date: 2006
Historia del Periodismo Cultural en México by
A compilation of mainly illustrated periodicals in Mexico from the colonial period to the mid-20th century.
Call Number: ReCAP 08-20900Publication Date: 2007
A History of American Magazines by
The five volumes of A History of American Magazines constitute a unique cultural history of America, viewed through the pages and pictures of her periodicals from the publication of the first monthly magazine in 1741 through the golden age of magazines in the twentieth century.
Call Number: *R-RMRR PN4877 .M63 1938 (v. 1-5 & Index)Publication Date: 1938
Ladies' Pages: African American Women's Magazines and the Culture that Made Them by
Beginning in the late nineteenth century, mainstream magazines established ideal images of white female culture, while comparable African American periodicals were cast among the shadows. Noliwe M. Rooks's Ladies' Pages sheds light on the most influential African American women's magazines--Ringwood's Afro-American Journal of Fashion, Half-Century Magazine for the Colored Homemaker, Tan Confessions, Essence, and O, the Oprah Magazine--and their little-known success in shaping the lives of black women. Ladies' Pages demonstrates how these rare and thought-provoking publications contributed to the development of African American culture and the ways in which they in turn reflect important historical changes in black communities. What African American women wore, bought, consumed, read, cooked, and did at home with their families were all fair game, and each of the magazines offered copious amounts of advice about what such choices could and did mean. At the same time, these periodicals helped African American women to find work and to develop a strong communications network. Rooks reveals in detail how these publications contributed to the concepts of black sexual identity, rape, migration, urbanization, fashion, domesticity, consumerism, and education. Her book is essential reading for everyone interested in the history and culture of African Americans.
Publication Date: 2004
Magazines and the Making of America by
From the colonial era to the onset of the Civil War, Magazines and the Making of America looks at how magazines and the individuals, organizations, and circumstances they connected ushered America into the modern age. How did a magazine industry emerge in the United States, where there were once only amateur authors, clumsy technologies for production and distribution, and sparse reader demand? What legitimated magazines as they competed with other media, such as newspapers, books, and letters? And what role did magazines play in the integration or division of American society?From their first appearance in 1741, magazines brought together like-minded people, wherever they were located and whatever interests they shared. As America became socially differentiated, magazines engaged and empowered diverse communities of faith, purpose, and practice. Religious groups could distinguish themselves from others and demarcate their identities. Social-reform movements could energize activists across the country to push for change. People in specialized occupations could meet and learn from one another to improve their practices. Magazines built translocal communities-collections of people with common interests who were geographically dispersed and could not easily meet face-to-face. By supporting communities that crossed various axes of social structure, magazines also fostered pluralistic integration.Looking at the important role that magazines had in mediating and sustaining critical debates and diverse groups of people, Magazines and the Making of America considers how these print publications helped construct a distinctly American society.
Call Number: JFE 15-6349Publication Date: 2015
Women's Magazines, 1940-1960 by
During and following World War II, women's magazines served as advice manuals, fashion guides, marriage counselors, and catalogs. This thematically arranged collection of selections from "Ladies' Home Journal," "Woman's Home Companion," "McCall's," "Redbook," and others provides a resource for understanding how the popular press perceived and attempted to influence women's values, goals, and behavior in the postwar era.
Call Number: JFE 98-9387Publication Date: 1998
한국 근대 잡지 창간호 연구 (Research on the first issue of a modern Korean magazine) by Call Number: PN5412.K56 2022Publication Date: 2022
The Popular Magazine in Britain and the United States, 1880-1960 by
David Reed analyses the rise of the popular magazine in the context of social, cultural, technological and economic changes of the late nineteenth to mid-twentieth centuries. Lavishly illustrated throughout, his discussion focuses both on the design and content of magazines, and on their marketing and distribution, paying particular attention to developments in print technology, and analysing the impact of both social and commercial trends in publishing.
Call Number: *R-RMRR PN5124.P4 .R44 1997Publication Date: 1997
Here at the New Yorker by
For over sixty years Brendan Gill has been a contented inmate of the singular institution known as the New Yorker. This affectionate account of the magazine, long known as a home for congenital unemployables, is a celebration of its wards and attendants--William Shawn, Harold Ross's gentle and courtly successor as editor; the incorrigible mischief-maker James Thurber; the two Whites, Katherine and E. B.; John O'Hara, "master of the fancied slight"; and, among a hundred others, Peter Arno, Saul Steinberg, Edmund Wilson, and Lewis Mumford. Brendan Gill has known them all, and by virtue of his virtually total recall, keen eye, and impeccable prose, his diverting portraits of these eccentrics in rage and repose are amply supplied with both dimples and warts. Here at the New Yorker--now updated with a new introduction detailing the reigns of Robert Gottlieb and Tina Brown--is a delightful tour of New York's most glorious madhouse.
Call Number: JFE 80-1196Publication Date: 1975
New York Days by
In New York Days, the long-awaited sequel to the prize-winning North Toward Home, Willie Morris recalls his triumphant, exciting, and ultimately devastating years as the youngest ever editor-in-chief of Harper's, America's oldest magazine, when he was at the center of the nation's stunning cosmos of writing, publishing, politics, and the arts.
Call Number: JFE 93-11277Publication Date: 1993
It Wasn't Pretty, Folks, but Didn't We Have Fun? by
Possibly the best book ever written about an American magazine editor, this biography offers a 3-D view of the assassinations, the student riots, the counterculture, the politicians, the pop icons and the war that made the 60s America's unforgettable decade. Under the aegis of former Marine Harold Hayes, Esquire helped turn journalists, editors and photographers like Tom Wolfe, Gay Talese, Raymond Carver, Michael Herr, John Berendt and Diane Arbus into celebrities in their own right. Polsgrove's brilliant book, often resembling an Esquire cover story, offers a warts and all portrait of Hayes.
Call Number: JFE 95-13279Publication Date: 1995
The Man from Essence by
Essence magazine is the most popular, well respected, and largest circulated black women's magazine in history. Largely unknown is the remarkable story of what it took to earn that distinction. The Man from Essence depicts with candor and insight how Edward Lewis, CEO and publisher of Essence, started a magazine with three black men who would transform the lives of millions of black American women and alter the American marketplace. Throughout Essence's colorful and storied history, Ed Lewis remained the cool and constant presence, a quiet-talking corporate captain and business strategist who prevailed against the odds and the naysayers. He would emerge to become the last man standing--the only partner to survive the battles that raged before the magazine was sold to Time, Inc. in the largest buyout of a black-owned publication by the world's largest publishing company. By the time Lewis did the deal with Time, a little magazine that limped from the starting gate in 1970 with a national circulation of 50,000 had grown into a powerhouse with a circulation of more than a million and a pass along readership of eight million. The story of Essence is ultimately the story of American business, black style. From constant battles with a racist advertising community to hostile takeover attempts, warring partners packing heat, mass firings, and mass defections--all of which revealed inherent challenges in running a black business--the saga is as riveting as any thriller steeped in high drama, hijinks, and juicy dishing. In this engaging business memoir, Ed Lewis tells the inspiring story of how his own rise from humble South Bronx beginnings to media titan was shaped by the black women and men in his life. This in turn helped shape a magazine that has changed the face of American media.
Call Number: Z473.L545 A3 2014Publication Date: 2014
American Dreamers: The Wallaces and Reader's Digest: an Insider's Story by
"The fascinating, behind-the-scenes story of Reader's Digest and its founders, and how this beloved American institution lost its innocence when corporate lawyers and Wall Street wrested control from the men the founders chose to preserve their business "in the Wallace mode."" "Today a multibillion-dollar publishing colossus, Reader's Digest began life in 1922 in a tiny basement storeroom in New York's Greenwich Village. The magazine's founders, DeWitt and Lila Wallace, believed deeply in the American dream and saw their magazine as a way of spreading this belief to millions of their fellow citizens." "But this is not a happily-ever-after fairy tale. In the early eighties, when the seemingly immortal Wallaces suddenly faltered, a shadow fell over Pleasantville as ambitious men began to scheme and maneuver for power. Much has been reported about what happened next, but always from the outside, through a veil of rumor and obfuscation. Now, in American Dreamers, Digest insider and longtime managing editor Peter Canning reveals for the first time the appalling dimensions of the struggle that consumed Camelot."--BOOK JACKET.Title Summary field provided by Blackwell North America, Inc. All Rights Reserved
Call Number: JFE 99-8837Publication Date: 1996
Literary Experiments in Magazine Publishing by
As the nineteenth century came to an end, a number of voices within the British and American magazine industries pushed back against serialisation as the dominant publication mode, experimenting instead with less conventional magazine formats. This book explores these formats, focusing (in particular) on the ways in which the periodical press first published The Adventures of Huckleberry Finn, The Picture of Dorian Gray, and The Return of Sherlock Holmes. What led magazines to publish excerpts from a forthcoming book, or an entire novel in a single issue, or a discontinuous short-story series? How did these experimental modes affect the act of reading? Drawing on a range of archival and other primary sources, Literary Experiments in Magazine Publishing: Beyond Serialization addresses these and other questions.
Call Number: JFE 20-1047Publication Date: 2019
Magazine Production by
Magazine Production presents a guide to the practical processes of taking a magazine from initial idea to final product. This second edition provides important revisions on these production processes by examining the technological and business advancements which have reshaped the magazine industry in the last decade. Brand new chapters document the rise of digital media and identify its impact on magazine creation. They also include new guidance on designing online, tablet and mobile editions, as well as for print. Magazine Production explains the business of magazines in the UK, Europe and North America, and the roles of marketing, publishing and advertising in establishing a successful title. This edition also addresses the move by publishers towards e-commerce, multimedia content and events to promote their brands and sell products. With information on professional bodies such as the Professional Publishers Association, an expert overview of magazine markets and a breakdown of roles within editorial and design departments, this book offers readers practical steps to achieving success in magazine publishing today. Magazine Production includes: * an introduction to the history, markets and audiences of magazines * explanations of the roles of publishers and advertising teams as part of the business of magazines * a comparison between print and new systems of digital circulation, with particular focus on mobile platforms; * guidance on setting up editorial teams, and best practice for producing feature, news and review copy * information on designing and laying out a title for print or digital distribution * legal and ethical issues affecting magazine editors and publishers * a consideration of the future of magazines.
Call Number: Z286.P4 W48 2017Publication Date: 2016
Publishing as Curating: Design and Imagery in Contemporary Fashion Magazines by Call Number: JQE 21-59Publication Date: 2020
So You Want to Publish a Magazine? by
So you want to publish a magazine? This is your guide. It will show you how to take your concept from idea to proper publication, step-by-step. It covers all the nuts and bolts of magazine publishing, from budgeting and distribution to design and print. It also acts as an inspirational resource, with case studies from magazines across the sector - from the most niche indie titles, through the main players of the independent scene, to the most innovative and successful larger scale publications. How many people do you need? Do you want to take advertising? Should you hire a distributor or focus on subscriptions? Interviews with industry insiders - editors, art directors, printers, distributors, retailers and more - are filled with expert tips and examples so you can make the right plan for every aspect of your publishing project. Both print and digital magazines are represented, with a focus on navigating the pitfalls associated with transitioning a print title to digital platforms (and vice versa), mastering social media and creating content specifically for digital readers.
Call Number: JFE 16-11813Publication Date: 2016
Covering The '60s: The Esquire Era by
George Lois was the genius graphic designer responsible for the legendary series of covers of Esquire magazine that were an icon-shattering and icon-defining commentary on the '60s. This collection of the best of those covers includes short anecdotes by Lois, but the chief interest is in the pictures he created. His covers were generally poster-like and free of excess words, and yet these pictures say plenty. The list of subjects is stellar: Marilyn Monroe, Norman Mailer, Muhammad Ali, Andy Warhol, Germaine Greer, and Richard Nixon. Sometimes the picture is a tease for the story within, sometimes it subverts it (as in the cover of a hangdog Roy Cohn with a ridiculous halo that accompanied a self-justifying piece written by Cohn). Only one of the covers reproduced here, a nude shot of Jack Nicholson, was cut before press time.
Call Number: 3-MDWS+ (Lois) 96-13770Publication Date: 1996
Dazed and Confused by
Celebrating twenty years of an agenda-setting powerhouse of contemporary style, design, and popular culture. Celebrated for discovering and promoting new artists, musicians, designers, and filmmakers, Dazed & Confused magazine has been a barometer of popular style and culture since its founding in London in 1991 by Jefferson Hack and the photographer Rankin. Quickly renowned for its controversial attitude, Dazed represented a new wave in the British style press, bringing together figures from different creative fields and eras to produce extraordinary interviews and develop artwork for the magazine. From David Bowie to Bjork, Harmony Korine to David Lynch, Kate Moss to Stockhausen, and Rankin to Thom Yorke, the roster of the magazine's subjects and contributing artists alone is a record of the evolution of contemporary pop culture. Edited by its founders, this daringly illustrated book immortalizes the magazine's most enduring features, from legendary photo shoots and iconic covers to controversial interviews, and supplements them with outtakes, ephemera from the editors' offices, original artwork, and contributions from the photographers, designers, and artists behind it all.
Call Number: JFF 12-11Publication Date: 2011
Fashioning Teenagers: A Cultural History of Seventeen Magazine by
Founded in 1944 by Helen Valentine, Seventeen magazine was the first modern "teen magazine." An immediate success, it became iconic in establishing the tastes and behaviors of successive generation of teen girls covering the last half of the 20th century. Kelley Massoni has written the first cultural history of the origins of Seventeen and its role in shaping the modern teen girl ideal. Using content analysis, interviews, letters, oral histories, and promotional materials, Massoni is able to show how Seventeen helped create the modern concept of "teenager." The early Seventeen provided a generation of thinking young women with information on citizenship and clothing, politics and popularity, adult occupations and adolescent preoccupations, until economic and social forces converged to reshape the magazine toward teen consumerism. A chapter on the 21st century Seventeen brings the story to the present. Fashioning Teenagers will be of interest to students of popular culture, sociology, gender studies, mass media, journalism, business, and American studies.
Call Number: HQ799.2.M35 M372 2010Publication Date: 2010
Feminist Acts: Branching Out Magazine and the Making of Canadian Feminism by
The history of Branching Out, Canada's first national second-wave feminist magazine, is the story of an upstart publication from the prairies that was read from coast to coast. It is also a story of political activism and community building. When it ceased publication in 1980, Branching Out had reached more readers than any similar periodical. Feminist Acts is an in-depth examination of feminist publishing, written to bring more Canadian voices into conversations about women's cultural production. A vital text of recuperation, the book draws on first-hand accounts from women who were there. It is a must-read for anyone interested in feminist activism, gender studies, Canadian cultural history, or publishing history.
Call Number: JFE 20-4108Publication Date: 2019
In Vogue: la storia illustrata della rivista di moda più famosa del mondo by Call Number: JQG 12-1148Publication Date: 2012
Literary Journalism on Trial: Masson v. New Yorker and the First Amendment by
In November 1984, Jeffrey Masson filed a libel suit against writer Janet Malcolm and the New Yorker, claiming that Malcolm had intentionally misquoted him in a profile she wrote for the magazine about his former career as a Freud scholar and administrator of the Freud archives. Over the next twelve years the case moved up and down the federal judicial ladder, at one point reaching the U.S. Supreme Court, as lawyers and judges wrestled with questions about the representation of "truth" in journalism and, by extension, the limits of First Amendment protections of free speech. Had a successful Freudian scholar actually called himself an "intellectual gigolo" and "the greatest analyst who ever lived"? Or had a respected writer for the New Yorker knowingly placed false, self-damning words in her subject's mouth? In Literary Journalism on Trial, Kathy Roberts Forde explores the implications of Masson v. New Yorker in the context of the history of American journalism. She shows how the case represents a watershed moment in a long debate between the advocates of traditional and literary journalism and explains how it reflects a significant intellectual project of the period: the postmodern critique of objectivity, with its insistence on the instability of language and rejection of unitary truth in human affairs. The case, Forde argues, helped widen the perceived divide between ideas of literary and traditional journalism and forced the resolution of these conflicting conceptions of truth in the constitutional arena of libel law. By embracing traditional journalism's emphasis on fact and objectivity and rejecting a broader understanding of truth, the Supreme Court turned away from the First Amendment theory articulated in previous rulings, opting to value less the free, uninhibited interchange of ideas necessary to democracy and more the "trustworthiness" of public expression. The Court's decision in this case thus had implications that reached beyond the legal realm to the values and norms expressed in the triangular relationship between American democracy, First Amendment principles, and the press.
Call Number: JFE 08-6581Publication Date: 2008
Magazines for the Millions: Gender and Commerce in the Ladies' Home Journal and the Saturday Evening Post, 1880-1910 by
Argues that the two popular women's magazines were pivotal in the combining of gender and commercialism at the turn of the century, and that publishers and advertisers conspired to create both a gendered commercial discourse and a commercial gender discourse for both men and women. Annotation copyright Book News, Inc. Portland, Or.
Call Number: JFE 94-15781Publication Date: 1994
McClure's Magazine and the Muckrakers by
McClure's was the leading muckraking journal among the many which flourished at the turn of the century. Both a literary and political magazine, It introduced exciting new writers to the American scene (Rudyard Kipling, Robert Louis Stevenson, A. Conan Doyle) and fearlessly championed the important causes of the day (from betterment of conditions in the coal mines to antitrust measures). This is the story of McClure's lifespan, beginning in Ohio when Samuel McClure gathered around himself a talented group of editors and writers (among them Willa Cather. Frank Norris. Stephen Crane, O. Henry. Hamlin Garland) and continuing to the magazine's last days in New York City. The growing concern of the staff about American urban and commercial life led to such exposes as Ida Tarbell's History of Standard Oil and Lincoln Steffens' Shame of the Cities. McClure's was a channel for those determined to combat the ills of society, and one of the first voices of the emerging Progressive Party. Originally published in 1970. The Princeton Legacy Library uses the latest print-on-demand technology to again make available previously out-of-print books from the distinguished backlist of Princeton University Press. These editions preserve the original texts of these important books while presenting them in durable paperback and hardcover editions. The goal of the Princeton Legacy Library is to vastly increase access to the rich scholarly heritage found in the thousands of books published by Princeton University Press since its founding in 1905.
Call Number: D-20 3828Publication Date: 1970
