Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Online Resources for Philosophy at the New York Public Library: Introduction

by Jack Sherefkin

Introduction

This guide concentrates predominantly on online resources for philosophy although print items are included. Much of what is listed in this guide comes from subscription databases and will not be found on the Internet. Some of these databases are available from home with a library card and are indicated as such with a house icon, while others are available only at the Library indicated by a lion icon.      

One can access The New York Public Library’s vast physical research collections in-person or remotely through Scan & Deliver, our electronic document delivery service.  The Scan & Delivery service allows library cardholders to request specific pages or chapters from books -- or articles from journals -- directly from our catalog and the selections will be scanned and emailed. But it's always a good idea to that check to see if the book or journal has already been digitized before requesting and waiting for a scan.

When searching our catalog it is important to know that the same book or journal can be held in a variety of formats.  For example, the journal The Review of Metaphysics is available at the Library in print, on microfilm, and digitally, each with different years of coverage.

Online Resources in WorldCat

If a book or a journal is not available digitally, or in a database subscribed to by the Library, then try searching WorldCat, the world's largest bibliographic database.  Through WorldCat you can discover if a book or journal has been digitized, which institutions have it, and a link to it, if there is one. Sometimes the links are blocked, usually by the university that subscribes to the database and restricts access to all but their students.  But a link can sometimes be found if you have the patience to check all of them which can be as much as a dozen. 

 

Reference Librarians

General Humanities Reference Librarians's picture
General Humanities Reference Librarians
Contact:
476 Fifth Avenue (42nd St and Fifth Ave)
Third Floor , Room 315
New York, NY 10018
Website