Skip to Main Content

Philosophy Resources Online at at The New York Public Library: Introduction

Introduction

This guide concentrates predominantly on online resources forStatue of Someone Thinking philosophy, although print items are included. Much of what is listed in this guide comes from subscription databases and will not be found online. Some of these databases are available from home with a library card and are indicated as such with a house icon. In contrast, others are available only at the Library, indicated by a lion icon.      

One can access The New York Public Library's vast physical research collections in-person or remotely through Scan & Deliver, our electronic document delivery service. The Scan & Deliver service allows library cardholders to request specific pages or chapters from books -- or articles from journals -- directly from our catalog, and the selections will be scanned and emailed. But it's always a good idea to check whether the book or journal has been digitized before requesting and waiting for a scan.

When searching our catalog, it is important to know that the same book or journal can be held in various formats.

  • For example, the journal The Review of Metaphysics is available at the Library in print, on microfilm, and digitally, each with different years of coverage.

Nietzsche: A Selected Annotated Bibliography

Online Resources in WorldCat

If a book or a journal is unavailable digitally or in a database subscribed to by the Library, try searching WorldCat, the world's largest bibliographic database. Through WorldCat, you can discover if a book or journal has been digitized, which institutions have it, and a link to it, if there is one. Sometimes, the links are blocked, usually by the university that subscribes to the database and restricts access to all but their students. But a link can sometimes be found if you have the patience to check all of them, which can be as many as a dozen.

Accessibility for Print Disabilities

For researchers with print disabilities, the Library has resources and services available upon request. The following services are available:

Digitization of Select Research Materials

Researchers who are homebound or have a print disability or visual impairment can explore many of our research collections online and request digitization of specific items of interest. To request the digitization service, email accessibility@nypl.org. Please note that you must be a patron of the Andrew Heiskell Library. This digitization service only includes material belonging to the research collections and does not apply to branch/circulating collections. 

Screen Readers and Enlargers 

Every public PC at all New York Public Library locations is equipped with JAWS, ZoomText, and Fusion softwares. 

Andrew Heiskell Braille and Talking Book Library

The Andrew Heiskell Library offers popular reading materials in accessible audio and braille formats, as well as free membership to the Bookshare database of over one million accessible texts. It also offers individual coaching and a large variety of group workshops on topics related to accessible technology. Check the listings on our website, call 212-206-5400, or email talkingbooks@nypl.org for details. It also hosts many networking groups, resource fairs, writing workshops, accessible art workshops, book clubs, and other events. All are listed in the quarterly newsletter, available by email, website (text or audio), or over the phone.

For more information, see the Accessibility at NYPL page. 

Reference Librarians