Skip to main content

Music Research from Home using NYPL resources: About

A guide for doing research in music while the NYPL branches are closed.

Banner

Banner Naming the guide as Researching Music Remotely through the NYPL

Remote Researching During the NYPL Closure

Researching Music Remotely

As a precaution to help limit the spread of coronavirus (COVID-19), all NYPL locations will be closed starting 3/14 through at least 3/31. Please visit our website for more updates and to learn about digital resources available. http://nypl.org/coronavirus

The NYPL has over 800 databases available from this page https://www.nypl.org/collections/articles-databases

This guide is designed to help you do music research remotely using these NYPL resources. 

We've included

  • a tab for music & arts specific databases - some are available from outside the Library buildings at all times, some have been opened up to allow access during this unusual time.
  • a tab for non-music databases that you might not have considered would be helpful
  • a tab for e-book access - yes, we have a large collection of fiction, but we also have scholarly books through several academic publisher

Please note: during this period, we have arranged for remote access to a large number of our databases that are ordinarily only available within the Library's branches. Those that are available only within the Library are designated by an icon of the Library Lion, those that are available from home have a small blue house next to them. However -  Not all of those that are now available remotely have had their icon changed, so if there is a resource you'd like access to, it's worth trying.

If you need reference help, the Music & Recorded Sound Division staff are available via email for consultation. Contact us at music@nypl.org or recordedsound@nypl.org

Or if you have a more complicated question and would like to arrange a Research Consultation with one of our staff, you can fill out this form https://www.nypl.org/ask-nypl/make-appointment-lpa 

We also post regular links of interest and ways to use NYPL resources to our Twitter and Facebook pages. Follow us there!


If you live in NY State & don't have a NYPL library card - you can apply for one and use it immediately !

During our period of closure, New York state residents are welcome to apply for a library card through the SimplyE app—and gain access to an array of digital resources, including e-books, audiobooks, databases, and more. When we reopen, new applicants can visit their local library to obtain and validate their physical library card.

 

Managing Librarian for Music & Recorded Sound

Rebecca Littman's picture
Rebecca Littman
Contact:
New York Public Library for the Performing Arts
40 Lincoln Center
New York, NY 10023
212.870.1773
Website