Naxos
Naxos Music Library includes streamed recordings of primarily classical music. Also includes world/folk music, Chinese orchestral, folk, and traditional music. Naxos Music Library offers the complete Naxos and Marco Polo catalogues, plus thousands of titles from other labels, including Chandos, BIS, Hungaroton, Hanssler, Bridge, First Edition, CPO, Coro, and Wergo.
Naxos is available from all branches of the NYPL AND from home and via mobile apps for both Android and iOS. Please check the NYPL website (linked above) for details.
Using the mobile application
NAXOS is available to use via an app on your mobile device - both iOS and Android (download the app at the appropriate online 'store')
However, to use it you will need to create a user account when you are signed in to NAXOS via the web interface through the NYPL site.
1- follow the link on the databases page for NAXOS https://www.nypl.org/node/
2- Log in with your Library barcode
3- Click on "Playlists" on the left hand column
4- Click Sign up for an account (ignore the fact that it says 'student account' - it's mostly geared toward academic institutions) which takes you to this page https://nypl.nml3.
5- Complete the form and click 'Register New Account'
6- verify the account from the email that will be sent
7- open the app and log in with your new credentials
The NAXOS FAQ on setting up accounts is here https://nypl.nml3.
Streaming Arts - Many Free
Philip Glass's Einstein on the Beach (tweeted out by Glass himself… so presumably a legal stream) https://youtu.be/RtA79lg2VuY
Metropolitan Opera
A nightly series of free web streams from the Met's archives that will bring opera to audiences while the house is dark, as well as some recitals for which you must buy a ticket. Each free offering is available for 24 hours from 7:30 Eastern. Details, and the weekly schedule of free streams, are available here https://www.metopera.org/user-information/nightly-met-opera-streams/
The Royal Opera House has a selection of streams to choose from at very reasonable rates
Vienna State Opera - Free streams of selected productions, most archival though a few newly recorded ones, are available. You must create an account, but the videos are free of charge. Details and schedule are here
Opera America has a calendar of available streams here https://www.operaamerica.org/calendar
Berlin Philharmonic Digital Concert Hall - This offers quite a lot of free content (with registration), and the option to buy 'tickets' to individual events
https://www.digitalconcerthall.com/en/home
New York Classical Players
NYCP is the region's only professional orchestra sharing exclusively free performance. Comprised of creative and virtuosic young musicians, NYCP's adventurous programming shares familiar masterpieces, bold new commissions, and unexpected musical treasures.
https://www.youtube.com/user/NYCPchannel
New York Philharmonic SoundCloud concert archive - The official Soundcloud page of the New York Philharmonic. Weekly concert broadcasts of The New York Philharmonic This Week are made available every Friday.
Philharmonie de Paris
https://live.philharmoniedeparis.fr/
International Contemporary Ensemble (ICE) - long time LPA collaborators
DigitICE is ICE's digital media library. Streaming performances of individual works from our live concerts, along with interviews and behind-the-scenes videos are available here for free. Most feature high definition video and high quality audio.
Roulette TV
Launched in 1999, Roulette TV has produced over 112 episodes – broadcast weekly on Manhattan and Brooklyn cable networks and distributed through Roulette’s website, and Vimeo channel. The Roulette TV archive includes many avant-garde luminaries from Roulette’s rich history, such as Pauline Oliveros, Jerome Cooper, Robert Ashley, Sun Ra, David Behrman. It also features many emerging artists as they grow their career and audience, including Ben Greenberg, Mary Halvorson, Darius Jones, Tyshawn Sorey, Cassie Tunick, Lesley Flanigan, and C. Spencer Yeh.
Tribeca New Music youtube channel
https://www.youtube.com/
Broadway HD - A streaming service aimed at theater lovers, it offers 300+ whole, high-quality, professionally filmed live theater performances from Broadway, London's West End and beyond.
TDF (the non-profit organization behind TKTS) has a running list of organizations that have content available https://www.tdf.org/stages/article/2358/watch-live-theatre-and-music-performances-from-your-home
Calmus Ensemble of Leipzig (Germany) streamse concerts periodically, especially on Sundays around major holidays. Details will be available via their Facebook page
Steinway & Sons has made the content of their record label available as part of their Music at Home offerings that also includes video of Steinway artists performing and a mixed collection of other performances.
Broadway World Living Room Concerts
https://www.broadwayworld.com/
Pitchfork youtube channel
https://www.youtube.com/
Red Bull youtube channel
https://www.youtube.com/user/
Soundcheck on WNYC:
Live performances and conversations in which artists talk about their work, their process, and themselves. Genre-blind but open-eared. Hosted by John Schaefer.
https://www.newsounds.org/
WBGO Livestream listings
-
BachTrack - Over 30,000 events listed each year including classical concerts, opera and dance. Also includes reviews & Interviews.
- Brooklyn Vegan
- Blog that posts announcements to new live-streamed concerts and other arts news
Advance Searching in Naxos
NOTE: Naxos, while primarily classical music, does include lots of other musical genres - for example there are hundreds of full cast albums of Broadway shows! At least 15 by Sondheim, 18 by Richard Rodgers, 12 or so by Leonard Bernstein... they can be difficult to identify, so here are some instructions.
You can type the title of an individual show in the Keyword search box at the top of the screen. If it is a unique enough title, you'll see right away if there is a cast recording of the entire show or you can use the advanced search function by clicking the button at the far right of the banner.
A unique enough title, such as Sunday in the Park with George will work well
But if you are looking to see what shows there are by a specific composer or a less unique title, such as Parade by Jason Brown, you'll want to use the advanced search screen.
Enter a composer's name in the box and choose the one that you're looking for if more than one pops up.
Fill in the other fields to limit your search
And here are your results
