General Databases with Significant Music Related Content
- American Antiquarian Society Historical Periodicals Collection This link opens in a new window
The American Antiquarian Society Historical Periodicals Collection provides digital access to American periodicals published between 1684 and 1912. The fifty thematic subsets include digitized images of the pages of American magazines and journals not available from any other source and provide content detailing American history and culture from the mid-18th century through the late-19th century. These specialized collections cover advertising, health, women's issues, science, the history of slavery, industry and professions, religious issues, culture and the arts, and more. See "More info" for collections.
**Patrons should read the Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy of this resource before searching.** - Academic Search Premier
A multi-disciplinary database of more than 4,600 magazines and journals, including full text for nearly 3,900 peer-reviewed titles. In addition to the full-text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for 8,470 journals. **Patrons should read the Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy of this resource before searching.**
- American Periodicals (1740-1940)
This database contains over 1,800 magazines, journals, and newspapers published between 1740 and 1940, including special interest and general magazines, literary and professional journals, children's and women's magazines, and many other historically significant titles. Some of these titles are archived at the Center for Research Libraries (CRL).
This database can be searched simultaneously with the various ProQuest historical newspapers, including The New York Times, Chicago Tribune, Los Angeles Times and the Wall Street Journal. **Patrons should read the Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy of this resource before searching.** - Digital Public Library of America This link opens in a new window
The DPLA is a platform that brings together many collections of America’s libraries, archives, and museums, and makes them freely available to the world.
- Proquest Dissertations and Theses
Includes citations for dissertations from 1861 to those accepted as recently as last semester. Abstracts from 1980 - present. The database represents the work of authors from over 1,000 North American graduate schools and European universities, from a diverse array of academic subjects including literature, languages, art history, music history, philosophy, history, mathematics, psychology, and science. A subset of these documents is publicly available using the website PQDT Open. **Patrons should read the Terms & Condition sand Privacy Policy of this resource before searching.**
- ProQuest Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Searchable full-text and page images of all ProQuest Historical Newspaper databases, which include titles related to New York, Chicago, Atlanta, Baltimore, Los Angeles, Washington, D.C., the American Jewish Newspaper Series, and the United Kingdom. **Patrons should read the Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy of this resource before searching.**
Databases Available without a Library card
British History Online - a digital collection of key printed primary and secondary sources for the history of Britain and Ireland, with a special focus on the period 1300-1800. From 30 March, all transcribed content on BHO will be freely available to individual users, and will remain so until 31 July 2020. This link is to the blogpost that describes it in detail. The link to the database is within it.
M&RS
