Music Research from Home using NYPL resources: Music Specific Databases

The Index to Printed Music: Collections & Series is a tool for finding individual pieces of music printed in standard scholarly editions, as it indexes each individual piece in a collection. Music for specific performing forces is easily retrievable, thus offering detailed repertory for performers, conductors, and directors of ensembles.**Patrons should read the Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy of this resource before searching.**

Indexes over 350 and provides full text for nearly 100 international music periodicals from more than twenty countries, with over 50 of the publications indexed exclusively in IIMP. IIMP is both current and retrospective with over 30,000 records dating from 1996 to the present and other records dating as far back as 1874. **Patrons should read the Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy of this resource before searching.**

The Jazz Discography is the world's largest and most complete source of information about jazz records and jazz recording sessions. This is an online subscription service that allows subscribers to access the most up-to-date version of the Jazz Discography database. Dates of Coverage: 1896-present. **Patrons should read the Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy of this resource before searching.**

The electronic version of Musical America, a weekly newspaper of music and the music business. Includes a directory. **Patrons should read the Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy of this resource before searching.**

The Music Index Online edition features over 1.4 million records. The searchable database is updated quarterly with about 100,000 new records added annually. **Patrons should read the Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy of this resource before searching.**

A gateway offering users the ability to access and cross-search multiple music reference resources in one location. Contains the Grove Music Online, as well as The Oxford Dictionary of Music, and The Oxford Companion to Music. **Patrons should read the Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy of this resource before searching.**

The online version of the Repertoire International de Litterature Musicale, RILM Abstracts of Music Literature (1969-present) is a continuously updated bibliography of music literature providing broad international coverage including full text records in over 202 languages from 3,700 journals. **Patrons should read the Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy of this resource before searching.**

RILM Music Encyclopedias is a unique collection of 49 seminal encyclopedias in full text, comprising over 100,000 pages and including historical and current encyclopedias published between 1775 and 2018. It is international in scope, providing access to content written in the key languages of musicological research, among them English, German, French, Italian, Czech, Dutch, Greek, Portuguese, and Slovak. It is the first comprehensive collection of encyclopedia content spanning the most important disciplines, fields, and subject areas of historical musicology and ethnomusicology, with subject-specific focus on topics ranging from popular music, opera, instruments, blues and gospel, to recorded music and women composers. **Patrons should read the Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy of this resource before searching.**

Full text archive of specialized music journals, daily newspapers, articles in literary periodicals, theatrical journals and magazines, as well as engravings and lithographs in the illustrated press. **Patrons should read the Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy of this resource before searching.**

Documents the world's musical sources of manuscripts or printed music, works on music theory and libretti stored in libraries, archives, monasteries, schools and private collections. **Patrons should read the Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy of this resource before searching.**

Full text of entertainment industry trade magazines covering film, music, broadcasting, and theater. Titles include Variety (1905-2000), Billboard (1894-2000), Broadcasting (1931-2000), Melody Maker (1926-2000), and more.
**Patrons should read the Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy of this resource before searching.**

Previously known as the International Index for the Performing Arts Full Text (IIPA), the Performing Arts Periodicals Database covers the subjects of dance, film, television, drama, recorded sound, theater, stagecraft, musical theater, broadcast arts, circus performance, comedy, storytelling, opera, pantomime, puppetry, magic and more. Contains over 172,013 records providing current and retrospective coverage, with citations dating back to 1864. **Patrons should read the Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy of this resource before searching.**

Contains all of the content available in International Bibliography of Theatre & Dance as well as full text for 100 titles, including Canadian Theatre Review, Dance Chronicle, Dance Teacher, Modern Drama, PAJ: A Journal of Performance and Art, Research in Dance Education, Research in Drama Education, Studies in Theatre and Performance, TDR: The Drama Review, Theater, and more. **Patrons should read the Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy of this resource before searching.**