Research Guides: Advertising Research And Planning for Your Business: MORE HELPFUL RESOURCES

SOCIAL MEDIA PLANNING

Baker, Kristen. “Social Media Marketing: The Ultimate Guide.” HubSpot Blog, blog.hubspot.com/marketing/social-media-marketing.

TRADITIONAL MEDIA PLANNING

O netvworld.org -- Gives a list of TV advertising rates

Interactive Advertising Bureau -- The website's subject matter experts work across the digital media and marketing media ecosystem to develop best practices and solutions that improve business outcomes for the interactive advertising industry.

Television Bureau of Advertising -- TVB is the not-for-profit trade association representing America’s local broadcast television industry. Its members include the U.S. television stations, television broadcast groups, advertising sales reps, syndicators, international broadcasters and associate members. TVB actively promotes local media marketing solutions to the advertising community and works to develop advertising dollars for the medium’s multiple platforms, including on-air, online and mobile. TVB provides a diverse variety of tools and resources, including its website, to support its members and to help advertisers make the best use of local ad dollars.

MPA, The Association of Magazine Media -- As the primary national trade association for the consumer magazine media industry, MPA represents over 500 magazine media brands that span a vast range of genres across online, mobile, video and print media. Members represent the interests of all types of magazine media companies, from the largest global empire to the smallest independent journal. MPA educates policymakers and advocates for the magazine media industry’s efforts to provide professionally researched and edited content across multiple channels.

Radio Advertising Bureau -- The Radio Advertising Bureau serves more than 6,000 member Radio stations in the U.S. and over 1,000 member networks, representative firms, broadcast vendors, and international organizations. RAB leads and participates in educational, research, sales, and advocacy programs that promote and advance Radio as a primary advertising medium.

Nielsen --Nielsen provides the media industry with unbiased, reliable data about what people watch and listen to. To discover what’s true, we measure across all channels and platforms⁠—from podcasts to streaming TV to social media. And when companies and advertisers are armed with the truth, they have a deeper understanding of their audiences and can accelerate growth.

News Media Alliance -- This association focuses on the key challenges and opportunities of today’s news environment: Freedom of the press, public policy and legal matters, advertising growth, new revenue streams and audience development across all platforms. The News Media Alliance is dedicated to working with our members, as well as other partner organizations, to advance the industry through advocacy, critical research and resources and events that connect and inspire.

DIGITAL ADVERTISING

Digital Advertising by Shelly Rodgers (Editor); Esther Thorson (Editor)
ISBN: 1138654450
Publication Date: 2017-02-27
Digital Advertising offers a detailed and current overview of the field that draws on current research and practice by introducing key concepts, models, theories, evaluation practices, conflicts, and issues. With a balance of theory and practice, this book helps provide the tools to evaluate and understand the effects of digital advertising and promotions campaigns. New to this edition is discussion of big data analysis, privacy issues, and social media, as well as thought pieces by leading industry practitioners. This book is ideal for graduate and upper-level undergraduate students, as well as academics and practitioners.
The Invisible Brand: Marketing in the Age of Automation, Big Data, and Machine Learning by William Ammerman
ISBN: 1260441253
Publication Date: 2019-06-13
The world of marketing is undergoing major change. The Invisible Brand provides an in-depth exploration of the risks and rewards of this epochal shift--while delivering the information and insight you need to stay ahead of the game. You'll learn how data and AI will forge a new level of persuasiveness and influence for reshaping consumers' buying decisions.

WEBSITE DESIGN

Website Design Made Easy by Richard N. Williams

ISBN: 1786647915

Publication Date: 2018-06-01

This is an indispensable and highly accessible updated guide to the creation, management and understanding of everything to do with making web pages. Featuring step-by-step guides on a variety of topics, including how to set up an online store, how to make a company website and creating personal web pages, it is ideal for anyone keen to increase their web presence - from a family who want to share their news and photos, to small new companies who need to stay ahead of the game in this competitive world. Encompassing both PCs and Macs, testing, and the best use of images and text, it also covers all the key software, along with hot tips and advice for all skill levels.

HTML, CSS and JavaScript in Easy Steps by Mike McGrath

ISBN: 9781840788785

Publication Date: 2020-07-28

HTML, CSS & JavaScript in easy steps instructs the reader on each of the three coding languages that are used to create modern web pages: HyperText Markup Language (HTML) tags are used to control the structure of web page content; Cascading Style Sheets (CSS) rules are used to determine how web page content appears; and JavaScript functions are used to provide web page interactivity

SAMPLE ADVERTISEMENTS

Winmo -- this library database shows sample creative work entered by various advertising agencies.

Ads of the World is an advertising archive and community that showcases creative adverts from around the world.

Clio Awards. Founded in 1959 to honor excellence in advertising, the Clio Awards today celebrates bold work that propels the advertising industry forward, inspires a competitive marketplace of ideas and fosters meaningful connections within the creative community.

FURTHER RESEARCH

EBSCOHost
This database has almost everything you would need to learn about advertising: magazine articles, e-books, journals, statistical reports about markets and industries and many more. Simply type the topic of your choice and limit your source to as desired: e-books, magazine articles, academic studies, and many more.
LinkedIn Learning (formerly lynda.com)
This database contains a great number of tutorials to help you build your skills in any endeavor: how to write copy, how to design a website, how to become a digital marketing specialist, and many more.
Please note that you can only access course content through the NYPL's LinkedIn Learning login page, and not by directly visiting the LinkedIn Learning homepage. Also note that NYPL's LinkedIn Learning accounts are now accessible through mobile devices and applications. For Mobile users: 1. Download the LinkedIn Learning app from Google Play / App Store. 2. Open the app. 3. Select - "Sign In." 4. Select "Sign in with your library card." 5. You'll be prompted to "Enter your Library ID." Tap on the box and enter "nypl" (all lowercase, no quote marks). 6. Use your NYPL library card number or username and PIN and click on "Continue." First time users will be prompted to select topics of interest.

BUSINESS LIBRARY GUIDES

Marketing Research and Planning For Your Business -- a comprehensive guide on how to do research when planning the marketing mix.
Digital Marketing Research and Planning For Your Business -- This guide presents the concept and application of digital marketing and provides resources to help plan and execute effectively.
Problem Solving in Business -- This guide is designed to help you approach your business problem solving process in a systematic way through information sources that can help you understand your situation more clearly and provide a distinct direction towards the appropriate solution.

INVESTORS

PrivCo -- perfect for the business entrepreneur looking for investment. Information includes investor, investment stage, industry focus, and more. It is also a premier resource for financial data on 900,000 private companies, non-publicly traded corporations,family-owned, private equity-owned, venture-backed & international unlisted companies.

Restricted: This database is accessible at certain NYPL locations only. Please see description for details. Galante's Venture Capital & Private Equity Directory -- Search venture capital firms alphabetically or by investment criteria. Investment criteria include company location, type of firm, activity level, investment size, geographic preference or industry preference.

BUSINESS CLASSES AND ADVISORS

FASTTRAC

FastTrac is a series of multiple-session entrepreneurship bootcamps offered by the NYC Department of Small Business Services (SBS) for aspiring and established entrepreneurs throughout New York City.

Please check out the FasTrac website for more information and schedules.

SCORE

SCORE NYC is a volunteer team of experienced business mentors and advisors providing insights and knowledge to small business owners and entrepreneurs wishing to start a business. 65+ mentors represent multitude industries/business expertise.

They provide education on a variety of business topics including marketing, finance and accounting, management, and others. Get instruction from a local expert and connect with other business owners. Also take the online workshops and webinars at your leisure.