Biographical Resources
Learn more about the African American Women Writers of the 19th Century from these biographies written by Tonya Bolden. Original content is from the African American Women Writers of the 19th Century website. Authors are listed in the drop-down menu alphabetically by last name.
Databases
Discover biographical information about the authors using these databases.
- African American Experience This link opens in a new window
Full-text digital resource exploring the history and culture of African Americans, as well as the greater Black Diaspora. Great resource for middle school, high school, and undergraduate users. Browse by type of content and by era. **Patrons should read the Privacy Policy of this resource before searching.**
- Biography in Context This link opens in a new window
Provides biographical information on 650,000+ people from throughout history, around the world, and across all disciplines. For more in-depth biographies of figures from American history, consult American National Biography. **Patrons should read the Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy of this resource before searching.**
- Dictionary of Literary Biography This link opens in a new window
Features information on literary figures from all time periods and all genres. This resource is also available in the Literature Resource Center. **Patrons should read the Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy of this resource before searching.**
Cover illustration of Louisa Picquet, the octoroon
Schomburg Center for Research in Black Culture, Manuscripts, Archives and Rare Books Division, The New York Public Library. "Cover illustration of Louisa Picquet, the octoroon" The New York Public Library Digital Collections. 1861. https://digitalcollections.nypl.org/items/81d7ec29-5ce2-c4dc-e040-e00a18061a95