Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

African American Women Writers of the 19th Century: Related Schomburg Collections

African American Women Writers of the 19th Century guide includes a digital collection of published works by 19th-century black women writers, biographies for each author, citations and much more

Related Collections at the Schomburg Center

This page includes books, paper collections, and other materials related to the African American Women Writers of the 19th century featured in this guide and housed at the Schomburg Center for Research in Black Culture. Also included are materials on other notable women of that time, who were authoring and contributing to African American history and the black experience, all found at the Schomburg Center. The featured divisions of this section are the Art and Artifacts DivisionJean Blackwell Hutson Research and Reference DivisionManuscripts, Archives and Rare Books Division, Moving Image and Recorded Sound Division and the Photographs and Prints Division. Select these divisions in the drop down menu.

Image of "Bethany Veney" The New York Public Library Digital Collections. 1889.

Schomburg Center for Research in Black Culture, Manuscripts, Archives and Rare Books Division, The New York Public Library. "Bethany Veney" The New York Public Library Digital Collections. 1889. https://digitalcollections.nypl.org/items/510d47da-74af-a3d9-e040-e00a18064a99

 

Image of "The narrative of Bethany Veney, a slave woman" The New York Public Library Digital Collections. 1889

Schomburg Center for Research in Black Culture, Manuscripts, Archives and Rare Books Division, The New York Public Library. "The narrative of Bethany Veney, a slave woman" The New York Public Library Digital Collections. 1889. https://digitalcollections.nypl.org/items/510d47df-95a1-a3d9-e040-e00a18064a99

Mary McLeod Bethune, Ida B. Wells, Nannie Burroughs, and other women at Baptist Women's gathering, Chicago

Mary McLeod Bethune, Ida B. Wells, Nannie Burroughs and other women at a Baptist Women's gathering, Chicago, 1930. Photographs and Prints Division, Schomburg Center for Research in Black Culture, The New York Public Library