Manuscripts, Archives and Rare Books Division
The Manuscripts, Archives and Rare Books Division collects, preserves, and makes available for research purposes rare, unique, and primary materials that document the history and culture of people of African descent throughout the world, with a concentration on the Americas and the Caribbean. On this page researchers will find collections and rare books related to the African American Women Writers of the 19th century featured in this guide and on other notable women of that time, who were authoring and contributing to African American history and the black experience.
Gallery
Annie L. Burton
Schomburg Center for Research in Black Culture, Manuscripts, Archives and Rare Books Division, The New York Public Library. "Annie L. Burton." The New York Public Library Digital Collections. 1909. https://digitalcollections.nypl.org/items/510d47dd-f39e-a3d9-e040-e00a18064a99
Memories of childhood's slavery days, title page
Schomburg Center for Research in Black Culture, Manuscripts, Archives and Rare Books Division, The New York Public Library. "Memories of childhood's slavery days" The New York Public Library Digital Collections. 1909. https://digitalcollections.nypl.org/items/510d47df-e53e-a3d9-e040-e00a18064a99
Noted Negro women, title page
Schomburg Center for Research in Black Culture, Manuscripts, Archives and Rare Books Division, The New York Public Library. "Noted Negro women" The New York Public Library Digital Collections. 1893. https://digitalcollections.nypl.org/items/510d47df-7550-a3d9-e040-e00a18064a99
Phyllis (Phillis) Wheatley
Schomburg Center for Research in Black Culture, Manuscripts, Archives and Rare Books Division, The New York Public Library. "Phyllis Wheatley" The New York Public Library Digital Collections. 1834 - 1842. https://digitalcollections.nypl.org/items/7eb749fd-962d-11f1-e040-e00a1806548b
I sell the shadow to support the substance, Sojourner Truth. Additional title: Three-quarter length portrait of Sojourner Truth.
Schomburg Center for Research in Black Culture, Photographs and Prints Division, The New York Public Library. "I sell the shadow to support the substance, Sojourner Truth." The New York Public Library Digital Collections. 1864. https://digitalcollections.nypl.org/items/510d47e1-cde8-a3d9-e040-e00a18064a99
Ida B. Wells
Schomburg Center for Research in Black Culture, Manuscripts, Archives and Rare Books Division, The New York Public Library. "Ida B. Wells" The New York Public Library Digital Collections. 1893. https://digitalcollections.nypl.org/items/510d47da-732f-a3d9-e040-e00a18064a99
Poems
Schomburg Center for Research in Black Culture, Manuscripts, Archives and Rare Books Division, The New York Public Library. "Poems" The New York Public Library Digital Collections. 1900. https://digitalcollections.nypl.org/items/a7d0e925-f89d-eff6-e040-e00a18060357
MARB Collections
- Alvin Boretz plays, 1964-1968 byCollection consists of two unpublished play scripts. Titles are: "The eternal light: immortal journey, the story of Sojourner Truth," 1964; "Follow the North Star," 1968. NOTE: Forms part of: Play Script Collection. See overall collection record for more information.
- Bill Gunn papers, approximately 1950-1989Call Number: Sc MG 843The Writing series in his papers contains Gunn's annotated script for The American Parade, "Sojourner Truth" ca. 1975. Also included is revised script for CBS.
- Harriet Tubman research material 1939-1940 byCall Number: Sc MG 15Research notes for Hallie Q. Brown and Susie King Taylor included in this collection.
- Henry Gilfond plays, 1969 byCollection contains photocopies of ten short play scripts including "Sojourner Truth," written in 1969. Forms part of: Play Script Collection. See overall collection record for more information.
- John Edward Bruce papers: additions, 1888-1918 byCall Number: Sc MG 253 1Includes a letter of condolence to the relatives of author Frances E. W. Harper, including her obituary from the Theban Literary Circle (1911).
- Leigh Rollin Whipper papers 1861-1963 byCall Number: Sc MG 47Leigh Whipper, one of America's best known character actors, from Charleston, South Carolina, was son to author Frances Rollins Whipper.
- William Stanley Braithwaite papers, 1898-1979 byCall Number: Sc MG 84Includes 'Bronze Muse' typescript by Frances Ellen Watkins.
Other Notable African American Women Writers of the 19th Century
- The poetical works of Elizabeth Margaret Chandler : with a memoir of her life and character. byCall Number: Sc Rare 811-C (Chandler, E. M. Poetical works)Publication Date: 1836With: Chandler, Elizabeth Margaret. Essays, philanthropic and moral. Philadelphia : Published by Lemuel Howell, 1836. Issued together. part of the original collection purchased from Arthur A. Schomburg in 1926.
- Rachel : a play in three acts byCall Number: Sc Rare 812-G (Grimke, A. Rachel)Publication Date: 1920
- Southern horrors : lynch law in all its phases byCall Number: Sc Rare 364.1-B (Barnett, I.B. Southern horrors)Publication Date: 1892Introductory letter by Frederick Douglass. Part of the original collection purchased from Arthur A. Schomburg in 1926.
Rare Books
- Bits and odds. A choice of selection of recitations for school, lyceum and parlor entertainments, rendered by Miss Hallie Q. Brown, with introduction and sketches by Faustin S. Delany byCall Number: Sc Rare 808.8-D (Delany, F. S. Bits and odds)Publication Date: 1884Also available in microfilm: Sc Micro 808.8-D
- Memories of childhood's slavery days byCall Number: Sc Rare B-Burton, A. (Burton, A. L. Memories of childhood's slavery days)Publication Date: 1909Part of the original collection purchased from Arthur A. Schomburg in 1926.
- Memories of Calvary, an Easter sketch byCall Number: Sc Rare 792.1-B (Bush, O. W. Memories of Calvary)Publication Date: n.d.
- The freedmen's book byCall Number: Sc Rare 973.77-C (Child, L. M. F. Freedmen's book)Publication Date: 1865"Entered according to Act of Congress in the year 1865, by L. Maria Child, in the Clerk's Office of the District Court of the District of Massachusetts." Authors Frances E.W. Harper, Harriet Jacobs, Harriet Beecher Stowe, and Phillis Wheatley listed. Part of the original collection purchased from Arthur A. Schomburg in 1926.
- The sparrow's fall : and other poems byCall Number: Sc Rare 811- H (Harper, F. E. W. Sparrow's fall)Publication Date: 18--?
- Moses; a story of the Nile, by Mrs. F. E. W. Harper byCall Number: Sc Rare 811-H (Harper, F. E. W. Moses. 1889)Publication Date: 1889
- Poems byCall Number: Sc Rare 811-H (Harper, F. Poems. 1900)Publication Date: 1900This copy is part of the original collection purchased from Arthur A. Schomburg in 1926
- Noted Negro women : their triumphs and activities byCall Number: Sc Rare 920-M (Majors, M. Noted Negro women)Publication Date: 1893This rare book from Arthur Schomburg's original collection highlights authors such as Hallie Q Brown and Octavia Albert, along with many other notable African American women writers of the 19th century.
- Life and works of Phillis Wheatley : containing her complete poetical works, numerous letters, and a complete biography of this famous poet of a century and a half ago by
This link opens in a new window
Call Number: Sc Rare 811-W (Wheatley, P. Life and works)Publication Date: 1916Part of the original collection purchased from Arthur A. Schomburg in 1926. - Six broadsides relating to Phillis Wheatley (Phillis Peters) : with portrait and facsimile of her handwriting byCall Number: Sc Rare+ 811-W (Wheatley, Six broasides relating to Phillis Wheatley)Publication Date: 1915Part of the original collection purchased from Arthur A. Schomburg in 1926.
- Poems and letters : first collected edition byCall Number: Sc Rare 811-W (Wheatley, P. Poems and letters)Publication Date: 1915Includes an appreciation by Arthur A. Schomburg, p. 7-19, signed at end: Arthur A. Schomburg, Secretary Negro Society for Historical Research, Yonkers, N.Y.
