Photographs and Prints Division
The Photographs and Prints Division contains both documentary and fine art photographs, which document the history and culture of people of African descent worldwide as well as the work of photographers of African descent. The collection of over 300,000 images ranges from mid-eighteenth-century graphics to contemporary documentary and art photography.
Collections
- Alice Ruth Dunbar-Nelson portrait collectionCall Number: Sc Photo Dunbar-Nelson, AliceViews of poet and schoolteacher Alice Ruth Dunbar. Full-length studio portrait; half-length portrait as part of invitation to lectures at Mrs. Dunbar's home.
- The American woman : portraits of courage television stills collectionCall Number: Sc Photo Television StillsPublication Date: 1976Publicity photograph for the television program "The American Woman: Portraits of Courage," featuring Claudia McNeil portraying Sojourner Truth.
- Frances Ellen Watkins Harper portrait collectionCall Number: Sc Photo Harper, Frances Ellen WatkinsPortraits of author, lecturer and reformer Frances Ellen Watkins Harper. A three-quarter length portrait of Harper can be found in Portraits- Oversize.
- Phillis Wheatley portrait collectionCall Number: Sc Photo Wheatley, PhillisHalf and quarter length portraits of poet Phillis Wheatley. Also a copy of the title page "Poems on various subjects, religious and moral."
- Sojourner television stills collectionCall Number: Sc Photo Television StillsPublication Date: 1975Television still from the television special "Sojourner," which was an episode of the television mini-series "The American Parade," featuring Vinnette Carroll as Sojourner Truth.
- Sojourner Truth portrait collectionCall Number: Sc Photo Truth, SojournerPublication Date: 1860?-1989?Views of abolitionist, author, orator and women's rights activist Sojourner Truth. The collection consists of a number of portraits of Truth sitting, knitting, speaking on a anti-slavery platform, standing and posed with Abraham Lincoln. Also the title page of the narrative of Sojourner Truth and copies of songs and newspaper articles about Truth, with and without photo. Half, quarter and full-length views available.
- Sojourner Truth theater stills collection byCall Number: Sc Photo TheaterPublication Date: 1948View of a scene from the American Negro Theatre production of "Sojourner Truth" by Katherine Garrison Chapin, featuring Muriel Smith and unidentified cast members.
- Susie King Taylor portrait collectionCall Number: Sc Photo Dunbar-Nelson, AliceFull-length portrait of Civil War nurse and teacher Susie King Taylor.
Other Notable African American Women Writers of the 19th Century
- Charlotte Forten portrait collectionCall Number: Sc Photo Forten, Charlotte (Grimke)Half-length portraits of teacher and poet Charlotte L. Forten Grimké.
- Ida B. Wells-Barnett portrait collectionCall Number: Sc Photo Wells-Barnett, Ida B.Quarter and half length portraits of civil rights activist and journalist Ida B. Wells-Barnett. One view is of Wells-Barnett with her husband Ferdinand and daughter. Also a copy of the title page of "Southern Horrors: lynch law in all its phases," and a newspaper article written by Wells-Barnett.
- Josephine St. Pierre Ruffin portrait collectionCall Number: Sc Photo Ruffin, Josephine St. PierreQuarter length portrait of civil rights leader and women's rights advocate Josephine St. Pierre Ruffin.
Schomburg Center for Research in Black Culture, Photographs and Prints Division, The New York Public Library. "Susie King Taylor" The New York Public Library Digital Collections. 1970 - 1989. https://digitalcollections.nypl.org/items/bc284939-ebcf-beb0-e040-e00a18065af6
Josephine St.
Schomburg Center for Research in Black Culture, Photographs and Prints Division, The New York Public Library. "Josephine St. Pierre Ruffin" The New York Public Library Digital Collections. 1900 - 1940. https://digitalcollections.nypl.org/items/bbeb8d5a-06a6-b5c2-e040-e00a18063036