Online Resources
Remote access to digital collections, archives, databases, books and more!
WorldCat Identities
WorldCat Identities "have a summary page for every name in WorldCat (currently some 30 million names) including named persons, organizations and fictitious characters." Search and discover books and other materials from all over the world on the African American Women Writers of the 19th Century featured in this guide.
A Bibliographical Checklist of American Negro Poetry compiled by Arthur A. Schomburg
NYPL Digital Collections
- Memories of childhood's slavery days
This link opens in a new window
Title page and image of Annie L. Burton. - Noted Negro women : their triumphs and activitiesOriginal format, Sc Rare 920-M (Majors, Monroe A. Noted Negro women)
- Sojourner Truth: God's faithful pilgrimSc B-Truth (Fauset, A. Sojourner Truth)
- Women of distinction : remarkable in works and invincible in character
- This link opens in a new window
This resource includes Images from L. A. Scruggs' rare book Women of Distinction (1893) via the New York Public Library's Digital Collections. Researchers will find some of the women featured in the guide.
Databases
Discover more information about the African American Women Writers of the 19th Century by using these databases. Access is available with a New York Public Library card.
- African American Experience This link opens in a new window
Full-text digital resource exploring the history and culture of African Americans, as well as the greater Black Diaspora. Great resource for middle school, high school, and undergraduate users. Browse by type of content and by era. **Patrons should read the Privacy Policy of this resource before searching.**
- Biography in Context This link opens in a new window
Provides biographical information on 650,000+ people from throughout history, around the world, and across all disciplines. For more in-depth biographies of figures from American history, consult American National Biography. **Patrons should read the Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy of this resource before searching.**
- Dictionary of Literary Biography This link opens in a new window
Features information on literary figures from all time periods and all genres. This resource is also available in the Literature Resource Center. **Patrons should read the Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy of this resource before searching.**
- JSTOR This link opens in a new window
A searchable, digitized archive -- from the first date of publication to the last three to five years -- of major scholarly journals in many academic fields. Access to this resource has been temporarily expanded to NYPL cardholders working from home, courtesy of JSTOR. **Patrons should read the Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy of this resource before searching.**
- Literature Online This link opens in a new window
A searchable library of works of English and American poetry, drama and prose, plus biographies, bibliographies, and key secondary sources. Bibliography of American Literature is built in as an index to existing Literature Online content. **Patrons should read the Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy of this resource before searching.**
- Project Muse This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text access to over 500 peer-reviewed scholarly journals and top quality book-length scholarship in the humanities and social sciences. **Patrons should read the Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy of this resource before searching.**
Other Notable African American Women Writers of the 19th Century
HathiTrust Digital Library
- A brand plucked from the fire : An autobiographical sketch / Mrs. Julia A. J. Foote.
This link opens in a new window
- Memories of childhood's slavery days by Annie L. Burton
- This link opens in a new window
- Sparkling gems of race knowledge worth reading : a compendium of valuable information and wise suggestions that will inspire noble effort at the hands of every race-loving man, woman, and child
- This link opens in a new window
Compiled and arranged by James T. Haley.
Internet Archive
- Biography of an American bondman written by his daughter
- This link opens in a new window
The biography of runaway slave and abolitionist, William Wells Brown (1814-1884), written by his daughter Josephine Brown in 1856. - Memories of Calvary : an Easter sketchby Olivia Ward Bush-Banks (1910)
- My Dear Friend
- This link opens in a new window
Letter to Mr. [William Lloyd] Garrison, dictated by Sojourner Truth and transcribed by C.E. Cochrane (1864) - [Letter to] Best and ever faithfull friend
- This link opens in a new window
Josephine Ruffin writes William Lloyd Garrison thanking him for his letter published in the paper, likening it to a "ray of light" cutting through the gloom of a week of "denunciation and defamation of the friends of the friendless" - Violets And Other Tales by Alice Dunbar NelsonLibriVox recording of Violets And Other Tales by Alice Dunbar Nelson.
Read in English by James K. White