Databases
Full List of Databases:
https://www.nypl.org/collections/articles-databases
Databases Available from Home:
The New York Public Library offers access to dozens of databases. Included in this are a number that can be accessed outside of the library. Upon navigating to each database's website, you will be asked to enter your New York Public Library card barcode and PIN. From there you will have limited, if not full, access to all their resources. Below are a selection of databases that should prove helpful.
Newspapers
Digitized Newspapers can be a great asset in lieu of the clippings files that you would normally access at the Library for the Performing Arts. The New York Times 1980-Present is one database that is always accessible remotely. Currently we have expanded home access to the following databases; The New York Times 1851-2013, The Wall Street Journal 1889-Present, Newspapers.com, and America’s Historical Newspapers through the Readex Databases. Through all of these you will be able to find reviews, dance news, obituaries, and any number of helpful articles.
- New York Times (1980-present) This link opens in a new window
Full-text articles from The New York Times. (New York Book Review, 1997 to the present. New York Magazine, 1997 to the present.) **Patrons should read the Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy of this resource before searching.**
- New York Times (1851-2020) w/ Index This link opens in a new window
Searchable full-text and page images from The New York Times archive with the option to search by subject headings (index covers 1851-1993). **Patrons should read the Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy of this resource before searching.**
- Wall Street Journal (1889-2012)
Searchable full-text and page images from the Wall Street Journal archive. The digital backfile of the Wall Street Journal provides historical coverage of business news and worldwide financial markets. Part of ProQuest Historical Newspapers, this database delivers cover-to-cover full-images in PDF and searchable ASCII text. **Patrons should read the Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy of this resource before searching.**
- Newspapers.com This link opens in a new window
Newspapers.com is the largest online newspaper archive consisting of 300+ million pages of historical newspapers from 11,100+ newspapers from around the United States and beyond, with a special focus on full runs and portions of runs of well-known, regional and state titles in addition to small local newspapers. The collection includes a broad range of dates, mostly covering the 19th and 20th centuries. Access to this resource has been temporarily expanded to NYPL cardholders working from home, courtesy of ProQuest and its partner Newspapers.com. **Patrons should read the Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy of this resource before searching.**
- America's Historical Newspapers
Searchable full-text and page images of newspapers from across the country including early newspapers, 1690-1922, African American Newspapers, 1827-1998; America's Urban Centers Newspaper Collection, 1807-1880; Ethnic American Newspapers from the Balch Collection, 1799-1971; Caribbean Newspapers, 1718-1876;and Hispanic American Newspapers, 1808-1980; Early American Newspapers, Series 15, 1822-1879: Immigrant Communities. Access to this resource has been temporarily expanded to NYPL cardholders working from home, courtesy of Readex/Newsbank. **Patrons should read the Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy of this resource before searching.**
Performing Arts Databases
- Oxford Music Online
A gateway offering users the ability to access and cross-search multiple music reference resources in one location. Contains the Grove Music Online, as well as The Oxford Dictionary of Music, and The Oxford Companion to Music. **Patrons should read the Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy of this resource before searching.**
Reference Resources
Oxford Reference Online and Credo Reference both contain great quick reference guides to the dance world and can hopefully point you towards more specific resources.
- Oxford Reference Online
Oxford Reference Online brings together language and subject reference works from one of the world's biggest reference publishers into a single cross-searchable resource. Titles cover a wide range of humanities, social science, performing arts, and general reference subjects. Dance publications include the International Encyclopedia of Dance and the Oxford Dictionary of Dance. Theatre publications include The Oxford Encyclopedia of Theatre and Performance and The Concise Oxford Companion to the Theatre. **Patrons should read the Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy of this resource before searching.**
- Credo Reference
Provides full-text online access to hundreds of multidisciplinary reference book collections, including art, history, law, medicine, psychology, technology, bilingual dictionaries and encyclopedias. **Patrons should read the Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy of this resource before searching.**
General Databases
If you are looking for Academic Articles related to dance, we have a variety of databases that are accessible from home. Academic Search Premier, ProQuest Research Library, and the Gale Virtual Reference Library are always accessible remotely. Currently we have expanded access to JSTOR during the period of our temporary closure as well. All four databases cover a variety of disciplines, with the performing arts and dance forming just part of their collections.
- Academic Search Premier
A multi-disciplinary database of more than 4,600 magazines and journals, including full text for nearly 3,900 peer-reviewed titles. In addition to the full-text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for 8,470 journals. **Patrons should read the Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy of this resource before searching.**
- Gale eBooks
Gale eBooks (formerly Gale Virtual Reference Library) is an online library of reference titles for multi-disciplinary research, including texts related to American and world history, biography, health, arts, business, travel, religion, and multicultural studies. **Patrons should read the Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy of this resource before searching.**
- ProQuest Research Library
Provides articles from periodicals covering arts, business, children, education, health, humanities, law, multicultural studies, sciences, social sciences, and general interest. Full text is available for nearly two-thirds of its titles. **Patrons should read the Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy of this resource before searching.**
- JSTOR This link opens in a new window
A searchable, digitized archive -- from the first date of publication to the last three to five years -- of major scholarly journals in many academic fields. Access to this resource has been temporarily expanded to NYPL cardholders working from home, courtesy of JSTOR. **Patrons should read the Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy of this resource before searching.**
- Project Muse This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text access to over 500 peer-reviewed scholarly journals and top quality book-length scholarship in the humanities and social sciences. **Patrons should read the Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy of this resource before searching.**
- Cambridge Core
Access to the full text of over 500 books published by Cambridge University Press and covering the humanities, social and natural sciences, medicine, and English language teaching. Please note: NYPL has access to content published beginning in 2015. All other titles provide access to tables of contents and indices only. Formerly known as Cambridge Books Online (CBO). **Patrons should read the Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy of this resource before searching.**