Skip to main content

Remote Research and Dance: Open Resources

This guide brings together the varied resources available to our patrons while conducting their research remotely.

Open Academic Resources

ABT Ballet Dictionary 

This is an exceptional guide to ballet terms that includes definitions as well as audio clips to help with pronunciation.

 

DELRdi (NDEO) 

The Dance Education Literature and Research descriptive index (DELRdi) is an index of literature and research from 1926 to the present that informs teaching, learning, and future directions of research in the field of dance education. 

 

Digital Public Library of America 

DPLA connects people to the riches held within America’s libraries, archives, museums, and other cultural heritage institutions. This includes a number of resources of dance and the performing arts. 

 

EBSCO Open Dissertations 

OpenDissertations.org is a collaboration between EBSCO and BiblioLabs that brings an innovative approach to increasing traffic and discoverability of ETD research. This collection is kept up to date with dissertations from as recent as last year. 

 

Europeana Collections 

Europeana Collections provides access to over 50 million digitized items, including books, music, and artwork.

 

Library of Congress Digital Performing Arts Collections

The Library of Congress offers vast collections related to the performing arts in their digital collections. This includes musical recordings, interviews, photographs, and sheet music. Key dance related collections are Ballets Russes de Serge Diaghilev and the Bronislava Nijinska Collection.  

 

Paperity 

Paperity is a multidisciplinary aggregator of Open Access journals and papers. It gives readers access to thousands of journals from hundreds of disciplines, in one central location. Resources are as recent as last year, and cover multiple genres of dance, from social and ethnic dance, to ballet and modern. 

 

Pioneers of Chinese Dance

The Pioneers of Chinese Dance Digital Archive is a digital photograph collection designed to make the history of twentieth-century Chinese dance accessible to international researchers.

 

PQDT Open

PQDT Open provides the full text of open access dissertations and theses free of charge.You can quickly and easily locate dissertations and theses, and view the complete text in PDF format.

Other Online Resources

American Tap Dance Foundation

The American Tap Dance Foundation is a great resource for classes and connections to the tap dance community. While they are closed down during this time, instructional videos are being sent out to students and those who donate to the Foundation. You can follow the link above to find more information.

 

Arts Journal: Dance

ArtsJournal brings together articles from varied publications that pertain to the art world. Just part of that is a section devoted to dance, sourced from periodicals like Dance Magazine, Huffington Post, The New York Times, and The Guardian.

 

The Center for Ballet and the Arts

The Center for Ballet and the Arts at New York University (CBA) is an international research institute for scholars and artists of ballet and its related arts and sciences. It exists to inspire new ideas and new dances, expanding the way we think about the art form’s history, practice, and performance in the 21st century.

 

Critical Dance

Critical Dance is an international site in support of the dance community, dedicated to all types of performance dance, but especially ballet and modern. This site includes a moderated bulletin board, reviews, features, interviews, and links to select dance pages.

 

Dance Annual Directory

The Dance Annual Directory was once the annual guide to dance companies and services published by Dance Magazine. These resources are still offered, and now also operates as a helpful guide aimed towards dancers at varying stages of their career. This includes recent articles about dancing and dealing with the novel Coronavirus (Covid-19).

 

Dance Heritage Coalition & Dance/USA

The Dance Heritage Coalition brings together the resources of archives across the United States that have significant collections devoted to dance history. attached to this is the Archiving and Preservation side of Dance/USA which has integrated the resources from the Coalition into their program to help further the reach of this important work.

 

Dance Magazine & Pointe Magazine

Both of these publications have been working hard to help dancers in  need, but also spread the word about where to find media related to dance while we are unable to enjoy it live and in person. You can find articles on where companies are sharing their recordings, new podcasts, live classes to stay in shape, or how best to transition back to working in a studio space.

 

Dance/NYC

Dance/NYC's mission is to promote the knowledge, appreciation, practice, and performance of dance in the metropolitan New York City area. It operates as a great networking resource for those in the dance community. They are also currently running a Coronavirus Impact Survey aimed at gauging the effect this pandemic is having on the dance community. The link to this is below:

Coronavirus Impact Survey(Dance/NYC)

Coronavirus Dance Relief Fund

 

Dancing Around by Marina Harss

Dance writer and reviewer Marina Harss has compiled a very comprehensive list of streaming sources for Dance, Theatre, and Music. She is continually updating the page as new resources become available, and is a wonderful supplement to other materials found in this guide.