Digital Collections
One of the most useful resources for accessing archival materials is the New York Public Library Digital Collections Portal. This website serves digitized materials from all NYPL Research Divisions. There is a general keyword search for the Portal, but patrons may also search by collection or division. The Jerome Robbins Dance Division page can be found here. This gives you access to thousands of photographs, manuscript, video, and audio materials that cover a wide array of dance forms, individuals, and companies. We are continually adding new items to Digital Collections in order to preserve these items, and to increase access to our patrons.
It should be noted that many of our video and audio recordings are only accessible while onsite at the Library for the Performing Arts. Recordings which are restricted to onsite access show up in search results with a lock icon in the bottom left corner. Some of the recordings that are accessible from home include films in the public domain, such as excerpts from the Dumb Girl of Portici or Three Curiosities. There are also items produced by the Jerome Robbins Dance Division, such as interviews from the Speaking of Dance Oral History Project, African Dance Video Archive, recordings from The Bhutan Dance Project, and a few from the Jerome Robbins Archive of the Recorded Moving Image Original Documentation.
General Digital Collections Page:
https://digitalcollections.nypl.org/
Jerome Robbins Dance Division Page:
https://digitalcollections.nypl.org/divisions/jerome-robbins-dance-division
Copies and Reproductions
High Resolution Digital Reproductions
During this time the Library can still deliver high resolution digital files of previously digitized collection material, many of which can be found on our Digital Collections website. Please contact Permissions at permissions@nypl.org for any further questions.
Copies Requests
The Library for the Performing Arts is now supplying copies paper materials for research purposes. If there is anything that you require copies of for your research, you can submit them through this form. If you have any questions, please email dance@nypl.org.
George Balanchine with Lincoln Kirstein, returning to New York City after performing in England.
Credit: Frederick Melton. Jerome Robbins Dance Division, NYPL Digital Collections, Image ID: 58107804.