Skip to main content

Remote Research and Dance: Streaming Dance

This guide brings together the varied resources available to our patrons while conducting their research remotely.

Streaming Resources

The internet is always a great resource for streaming videos of dance. From historic recordings, documentaries, and original pieces from up and coming choreographers, there is a great deal to be found. Below are a selection of YouTube videos and channels, as well as performing arts focused streaming, that you can access now.

Isadora Duncan reclining in an armchair. 1908 (approximately)

Find a nice chair like Isadora Duncan and relax and enjoy some great streaming options!

Isadora Duncan reclining in an armchair.

Duncan, Isadora 58, Irma Duncan Collection, Jerome Robbins Dance Division. Courtesy of NYPL Digital Collections, Image ID: ISADORA_0058VB.

YouTube Videos

Performances

 

Nicholas Brothers, Chuck Green, Jimmy Slyde, Sandman Sims (Sammy Davis Jr. Tribute) - 1987 Honors

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Ldk9byC1zgU

 

Paul Taylor's Esplanade in 5 parts:

Part 1 -- https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qyGWsGl7Ezo

Part 2 -- https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PnYmdX8hpPE

Part 3 -- https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=H-B2J7YyiOk

Part 4 -- https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TqQ78i1xsbk

Part 5 -- https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YHkciz_yYYI

 

George Balanchine's Concerto Barocco 1966 Farrell, Morris, Ludlow (to the same music as Paul Taylor's Esplanade) --

 https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fwYwIOer3sc

 

NYC Ballet Presents: Justin Peck's THE TIMES ARE RACING with Music by Dan Deacon --

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nj0nltZOf50

 

Martha Graham & her Dancers in A Dancer's World (Martha Graham IN PERFORMANCE)-- 

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=30Qz_etlhtg

 

Yvonne Rainer, Live Performance: "The Concept of Dust, or How do you look when....?" | MoMA LIVE

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=AAp9S4D27V0

 

Mondays with Merce (Courtesy of the Merce Cunningham Trust)

https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PLUwHVm1ByQT8te1H-DnmoAwj3LIeYPOxH

 

Katherine Dunham Performing Ballet Creole (1952) | British Pathé

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=iSTuO5E9_1g

 

Documentaries

 

George Balanchine documentary entitled, Balanchine -- https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ppICC_6yMXo

 

Limon 8-minute documentary from Limon Dance Company

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GpyWNh3X8q8

 

Jig (Full Documentary) Irish Dancing competitions

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5G7nAjEVIwg

 

THE DANCE EDUCATION - a dance documentary

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7_Y2ILelYTg

 

'Dancing In The Street - Make It Funky' documentary [1995. VHS archive]

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DVyBc76EU-Q

Vimeo Channels

Alvin Ailey American Dance Theater

https://vimeo.com/alvinailey

 

The Chocolate Factory Theater

https://vimeo.com/chocolatefactory

 

Danspace Project

https://vimeo.com/danspaceproject

 

Joffrey Ballet School

https://vimeo.com/joffreyballetschool

 

New York City Ballet

https://vimeo.com/nycballet

 

New York Live Arts

https://vimeo.com/newyorklivearts

 

Martha Graham Dance Company

https://vimeo.com/marthagrahamdance

 

The Merce Cunningham Trust

https://vimeo.com/mercecunninghamtrust

 

Royal Academy of Dance

https://vimeo.com/radheadquarters

 

Trisha Brown Dance Company

https://vimeo.com/trishabrown

Streaming Sources

Alvin Ailey All-access

Alvin Ailey American Dance Theater will be streaming full length performances for free on their website. You can check the page linked above for updates and information on when to tune in.

 

Dance Channel TV

This site streams numerous videos for free, with some ads on the videos. There are full length performances, documentaries, video guides, and interviews with dancers and choreographers.

 

Folkstreams: Dance

Folkstreams is an eclectic source for independently made documentaries related to American Folklife. Included is a small collection of dance and music focused films that are available for free. 

 

Jacob’s Pillow Dance Interactive

This site hosts a multitude of videos from the history of the Jacob’s Pillow Dance Festival. Including early videos of Ted Shawn and His Men Dancers, to clips of the most recent festival. 

 

Marquee.TV

Marquee.tv offers a 14 day free trial when signing up, and has a great offering of Dance, Theatre, and Opera from the United Kingdom. They are also premiering new offerings of full length operas and ballets every Saturday for the forseeable future.

 

Metropolitan Opera

Every night during their closure the Metropolitan Opera is streaming an opera from their Live in HD series. These can be accessed through their website, or their Met Opera on demand app on Apple TV, Roku, Amazon streaming devices, and Samsung Smart TV.

 

New York City Ballet

Throughout the intended run of their Spring Season, New York City Ballet will be running a virtual season. Monday through Saturday until May 29th the company will release a different performance, dance class, podcast, or other interactive activity in lieu of their regular programming. Visiting the link above can connect you to the digital schedule so you can plan in advance. They also host videos on their website and Youtube channel that include short documentaries and interviews with dancers. 

 

Numeridanse 

Numeridanse is a multimedia dance platform. It offers free access to a unique video base: filmed performances, documentaries, interviews, fictions, dance videos. Every single genre, style and form is showcased here: butoh, classical ballet, neo-classical ballet, baroque, Indian, African, flamenco, contemporary, traditional dances, hip-hop, tango, jazz, circus arts, performance, etc.

On the Boards is currently offering free and unlimited 48 hour rentals from their catalog through April. The instructions on how to use this can be found in this press release.

 

PlayBAC 

The Baryshnikov Arts Center has a variety of archived videos available to view. There are clips as well as full performances available from now till an unspecified time.

 

Pointe Magazine

With many ballet companies creating online seasons, or sharing archive footage of past performances, Point Magazine has been maintaining a comprehensive list of what companies are posting, and where to find it.

 

Roulette

A comprehensive collection of nearly 4,000 concert listings with historic audio, video, posters, photos, press, and ephemera, of avant-garde music and interdisciplinary performance from New York’s “downtown” scene dating to 1978. Simply filter the collection by “dance” and “video” and you will find important and unique items available to you. Going to the "Roulette TV" is also a way to access a variety of performances and archived videos being livestreamed

 

Ubuweb Dance

While dance has long been a part of UbuWeb's film & video collection, it begs to have a section of its own. Like the rest of UbuWeb, there is a lot of crossover and perhaps moments of purposely curated eclecticism, hence our rather unorthodox mix of pure, art, and pop dance forms.

 

Upstreaming 

Each Wednesday UPSTREAMING will release new content, including digital commissions and beloved performances from our archives. These programs reflect the Fisher Center’s mission to engage artists and audiences in the development and examination of artistic ideas, offering perspectives from the past and present, as well as visions of the future. Works featured each week will highlight a different aspect of the breadth of programming the Fisher Center offers, including weekly performances from the SummerScape Opera and BMF archives. 

 

Vimeo

Vimeo has as wide a variety of videos as YouTube, and this includes performances from up and coming choreographers, as well as documentaries. There are many available for free, and more accessible behind their paywall. There are many great channels on Vimeo, and you can find a short list of some below.