Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Language and Literature Resources in the General Research Division: Bibliographies and Book Reviews

Databases for Bibliographies and Book Reviews

Annual Bibliography of English Language & Literature

Highly regarded for it's bibliographical sources, ABELL contains more than 960,000 records listing of monographs, periodical articles, critical editions of literary works, book reviews, collections of essays, and doctoral dissertations published around the world. 

Bibliography of American Literature

Encompassing more than 37,000 works, this bibliography covers the works of American writers from the time of the American Revolution to 1930. 

Book Review Index Online

Allows users to research across numerous disciplines, this database provides an index to almost 500 periodicals and newspapers published as well as book reviews from 1965 to the present. 

British National Bibliography

 Since the 1950s the British National Bibliography has documented books and serials published and forthcoming in the United Kingdom and Ireland. 

International Bibliography of Book Reviews (On-Site Access Only) 

An interdisciplinary and international bibliography with more than 1.81 million literary review citations makes IBR an essential scholarly resource. 

MLA International Bibliography (On-Site Access Only) 

A leading resource in modern languages and literature, MLA International Bibliography indexes studies in world literature, including folklore, poetry, drama, fiction, film, and linguistics. Students, researchers and scholars rely on this bibliography for journals, books and website entries -sources. 

New York Review of Books (NYRB) (On-Site Access Only) 

Only onsite access but a great archive of book reviews and articles covering literature, culture and current affairs. 

Russian National Bibliography

Includes citations of books, book reviews, journals, newspapers, etc.

World Shakespeare Bibliography

A comprehensive record of Shakespeare-related scholarship and theatrical productions published or produced worldwide between 1960 to the present.