Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Language and Literature Resources in the General Research Division: E-Books and Digitized Materials

E-Books and Digitalized Materials

ACLS Humanities E-Book Project 

A digital library of over 5,000 titles in the humanities and social sciences. 

Cambridge Core 

Provides full-text access of over 500 books published by Cambridge University Press.

Digitalia

With more than 25,000 titles, Digitalia is a leading database for Spanish language e-books and e-journals.

E-Book Central

NYPL's digital collection of  e-Books, Audiobooks and Videos. 

EBSCO eClassics Collection

EBSCO eClassics provides e-books including the works of famous authors such as Dickens, London, Wells and Melville among others. 

Google Books

The Library, in partnership with Google, has digitized more than 400,000 public domain (prior 1925) books from its historic collection. 

HathiTrust

A collaborative repository of digital content from academic and research libraries. 

Literary Manuscripts

Literary Manuscripts is drawn from the nineteenth century Victorian holdings of the Henry W. and Albert A. Berg Collection of English and American Literature, recognized as one of the finest literary research collections in the world. 

Project Muse

A great database to find peer reviewed scholarly journals and digital humanities works. 

University Press Scholarship Online 

Offers access to thousand of scholarly works across the humanities, social sciences, and other disciplines. 

Walter de Gruyter University Press E-Book Collections

 A Library of e-Books providing readers with access to 14 prestigious University Presses: Amsterdam University Press, Columbia University Press, Cornell University Press, to name a few. 

CAIRN

With 10,000+ titles, CAIRN provides users with English translations of titles, and provides access to major French, Belgian and Swiss publishers. 

Torrossa

Hosts more than 285 publishers (mostly Italian and Spanish), and provides an array of scholarly context in the humanities and social sciences. 

Gallica

The digital Library of the Bibliothèque Nationale de France and its partners. Gallica contains over 2 million digitized items.