Costume and Fashion History: A Guide to Resources: External Resources

This page highlights Artstor content related to fashion and costume, including images of historical fashion, costumes, designers, and fashion shows.

Biographies and analysis of the work of Fashion Photographers.

The Getty provides access to the Bibliography of the History of Art (BHA) and to the Répertoire international de la littérature de l'art (RILA) for no charge on its website. These citation databases, searchable together, cover material published between 1975 and 2007. For material published after 2007 see the International Bibliography of Art (IBA).

This collection contains ephemeral and archival collections from the Institute and its Irene Lewisohn Costume Institute Library, with subsets highlighting fashion plates, sketches, and exhibition binders.

The Getty Research Portal is an online platform providing global access to digitized art history texts. The Portal is comprised of catalog records that link to full, digitized texts hosted by the contributing institutions or their service providers.

The library’s foundation is based on a seed donation of 5,000+ pieces of contemporary printed matter dating from 1975 until the present. It includes books, magazines, lookbooks, show invitations, illustrations, ephemera, acquired from various private collectors. The collection will continue to grow via further donations from global fashion houses, publishers, and practitioners, animated by an extensive program of talks, digital annotations, and micro-curations.

This guide represents a selection of the many resources in the Library of Congress that may be useful for the study of the business aspects of fashion. It includes all aspects of fashion - clothes, shoes, bags, and accessories. It also includes suggested subject headings which interested researchers may select to link directly to our online catalog in order to search for additional materials on this topic.

Thousands of Art Deco-related images can be found in NYPL’s Digital Collections. The database provides access to over 700,000 images digitized from primary sources and printed rarities in the collections of The New York Public Library.

The “Fashion Timeline” showcases the Kent State University Museum’s world-class collection of historic fashions. Encompassing over two centuries of fashion history, this exhibition is designed to show the evolution of styles and silhouettes while contextualizing the pieces with relevant political, technological, and cultural developments.