Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Costume and Fashion History: A Guide to Resources: Collection Highlights

Archival Collections

 

 

Diana Vreeland Papers 
The collection documents the professional, social and family life of Diana Vreeland (1903-1989), editor-in-chief of Vogue magazine and prominent celebrity in the fashion and publishing industry. Vreeland's career at Harper's Bazaar, Vogue, and the Costume Institute of the Metropolitan Museum of Art is documented. The collection also contains personal and family papers.

 

Fashion Group International Records
The Fashion Group International Inc., founded in 1931, is a global nonprofit organization of more than 6,000 members representing all the areas of the fashion, apparel and related industries. The records contain several hundred black and white photographic prints of American and European couture and ready-to-wear clothing, fashion designers, Fashion Group members, celebrated personalities, fashion events and behind-the-scenes shots of Fashion Group events.

 

Jon Haggins… Into Spring

 

Jon Haggins Fashion Archive
Jon Haggins was a fashion designer, singer, and travel writer. The Jon Haggins Fashion archive primarily contains professional papers from Haggins' career as a fashion designer.

 

 

 

Patrick Kelly Archive
The Patrick Kelly Archive consists of press books, sketches of his designs, clippings, scrapbooks, and some letters. The bulk of the press books and sketches document Kelly's Paris fashion shows from 1985 to 1989. There are numerous clippings about his designs and fashion shows, magazine covers and feature articles advertising his fashions in major American and French fashion magazines.

 

Digital Collections

Combination suit in skating silhouette.

André Fashion Illustrations
Collection of approximately 1,200 fashion drawings and sketches produced by André Fashion Studios between 1930 and 1941.

 

 

Dress and jacket ensemble with contrast belt and lining and buckle embellishments

Creators Studios Fashion Illustrations
Collection of over 8,000 fashion design drawings produced by Creators Studios, a New York City Seventh Avenue fashion business that marketed ready-to-wear designs to clothing manufacturers across the country. The plates date from the 1950s-1970s.

 

Carriage dress, March 1811.

Costume Of The Ladies Of England
Original watercolor illustrations created between 1810-1823.