Skip to main content

Electronic Resources at The New York Public Library: Writing: Dictionaries, Style Manuals, and Writing Skills

Databases, searchable newspapers, writing aids, and other resources at NYPL. Guide by Rhonda Evans.

E-Writing Help Tools

The New York Public Library provides access to electronic dictionaries, style manuals and other tools to help with all other areas of writing, from grammar to writing a research paper.

Style Guides

AMA Manual of Style

AMA Manual of Style: A Guide for Authors and Editors is the style guide of the American Medical Association. It is written by the editors of JAMA(Journal of the American Medical Association) and the Archives journals, and is most recently published by Oxford University Press.It specifies the writing and citation styles for use in the journals published by the American Medical Association.**Patrons should read the Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy of this resource before searching.**

Chicago Manual of Style

The online version of The Chicago Manual of Style reflects the 15th and 16th editions of the print title, along with frequently asked style and writing questions, and tools for submitting manuscripts for publication.**Patrons should read the Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy of this resource before searching.**

Dictionaries

Oxford English Dictionary

The online version of the Oxford English Dictionary contains all work to date of the third edition, reflecting daily updates and revisions. Also includes the full-text of the second edition, and a historical thesaurus.**Patrons should read the Oxford Classical Dictionary's Privacy Policy before searching.**

Oxford Dictionaries Online

Oxford Dictionaries Online provides access to dozens of Oxford University Press dictionaries in English, French, Spanish, German, Italian, Portuguese, Arabic, and Russian. Also included:New Oxford Dictionary for Writers and Editors,Garner's Dictionary of Legal Usage,Pocket Fowler's Modern English Usage,and New Hart's Rules: a handbook of style for writers and editors.Grammar and punctuation guides are also included.**Patrons should read the Oxford Classical Dictionary's Privacy Policy before searching.**

Oxford Classical Dictionary

Digital edition of the Oxford Classical Dictionary, continuously updated with articles and multimedia content on the ancient Greek,Roman, and Near Eastern world. Dates of Coverage: antiquity-present. **Patrons should read the Oxford Classical Dictionary's Privacy Policy before searching.**

Dictionary of American Regional English (DARE)

The Dictionary of American English is a regional dictionary, documenting words and phrases that vary from one place to another. Users can browse by geographic region or search for particular words or etymology. The print set of DARE is available in the Rose Main Reading Room reference collection.**Patrons should read the Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy of this resource before searching.**

Credo Reference

Provides full-text online access to hundreds of multidisciplinary reference book collections, including art, history, law, medicine, psychology, technology, bilingual dictionaries and encyclopedias.**Patrons should read the Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy of this resource before searching.**

Writing Skills

The LearningExpress database provides tutorials and practice sets to help improve writing skills at every level, from elementary school to adults. The Lynda.com database provides online tutorials to help you with writing projects of any kind, from writing an essay to writing your first research paper.

Writing Skills

LearningExpress Library

Test preparation materials and interactive practice exams that will help people improve their scores on academic, civil service, military, and professional licensing and certification exams, including the PSAT, SAT,GED replacement, TASC, test, and other exams.**Patrons should read the Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy of this resource before searching.**

lynda.com

Lynda.com, a LinkedIn Company is an online educational site that includes over 5,700 courses (and over 180,000 videos) in popular fields like web design, web development, IT, education/instruction, media production, and business. Experts create and deliver all courses as well as provide supplemental materials like exercise files and relevant work samples. Users will need to create accounts in order to track course progress, create playlists of potential coursework, and keep course notes. Patrons should refer to lynda's Privacy Policy and Website Use Policy before starting.