Research Guides: Electronic Resources at The New York Public Library: Home

Introduction

The New York Public Library provides access to over 500 databases with new editions each year. This includes, but is not limited to historical and current newspapers and periodicals, many that are difficult to access elsewhere. Patrons can find primary source materials, scholarly e-books and journals, reference materials, business resources, statistics, maps, digitized rare books and more in multiple languages! This guide focuses on e-resources that were acquired to support the four Research Libraries.

Many of these e-resources are available from home with a valid New York Public Library Card and PIN number. Just look for the blue house.

If you are at a New York Public Library location and using an onsite only database, the majority of these databases are accessible on your own laptop computer, as long as you are at one of our NYPL locations.

Articles & Databases

Visit the Research Database A to Z Page

See all NYPL Databases for Branch and Research Libraries

News

New Databases!

American Amateur Newspapers This link opens in a new window
This collection provides an extensive collection of amateur publications that were written, edited, and published primarily by young people, aged 12-20, during the second half of the 19th century -- compelling insights into the ways teens and young adults viewed their hometowns, their country, and the world around them. **Patrons should read the Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy of this resource before searching.**
American Underworld: The Flash Press - Crime, Scandal, and Blackmail Papers of the Nineteenth Century This link opens in a new window
The Flash Press covered the seamier aspects of urban life in the mid-19th century. Covering topics such as, prostitution, gambling, urban gangs, illicit sporting activities, and sensational crimes. To many of their readers, the Flash Press also conveyed an implicit threat of blackmail, which often led to very ephemeral print runs.
This database provides access to a unique, rare, short-lived and often bawdy form of journalism. It covers many topical categories including but not limited to: satirical and often humorous articles on the illicit, low-life aspects of life in the city; urbane critiques of bordellos and their inhabitants; original poems and songs devoted to off-color episodes and characters; interviews with and articles about the most notorious “rakes” of the era; extensive coverage of police activities and sensational crimes and trials; detailed lists of ongoing criminal investigations, some of which are highly satirical; Reviews of the bawdiest theatrical performances; reports on both legal and illegal sporting events such as cock-fighting, bare-knuckle boxing, and horse racing; reporting on gambling and noteworthy gamblers; Rare and detailed coverage of the underground economy of urban America in the 19th century.
Access to this resource has been temporarily expanded to NYPL cardholders working from home, courtesy of Readex/Newsbank. **Patrons should read the Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy of this resource before searching.**
Newspapers.com This link opens in a new window
Newspapers.com is the largest online newspaper archive consisting of 300+ million pages of historical newspapers from 11,100+ newspapers from around the United States and beyond, with a special focus on full runs and portions of runs of well-known, regional and state titles in addition to small local newspapers. The collection includes a broad range of dates, mostly covering the 19th and 20th centuries. Access to this resource has been temporarily expanded to NYPL cardholders working from home, courtesy of ProQuest and its partner Newspapers.com. **Patrons should read the Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy of this resource before searching.**

New edition to America's Historical Newspapers: The New York Public Library has added to its subscription, Series 15, 1822-1879: Immigrant Communities. "Series 15 contains 160 immigrant papers, many of which are considered the most important 19th-century publications of this genre. Complementing these and providing valuable context are traditional, general-interest newspapers published contemporaneously in those same cities or regions." - Readex.